Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: TUTORIAL: How to hook up an external power button to your monitor  (Read 1450 times)

bigbuffs

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:April 01, 2020, 03:59:27 pm
OK since I wanted to hook up an external power button to my monitor I decided I would write up a tutorial to help others who want to do something similar so here goes.

First of all I am not an expert on electronics but I have done enough tinkering to know more than the average person so I may not have everything down to a T here but I will do my best to explain everything that needs to be done. Note that not all TV power buttons are wired or function the same but I would say that a large majority of buttons will be something like the one shown here.

STEP 1: Take the back off of your monitor and locate where the power button is. It will most likely be on a small circuit board with the rest of the buttons. You can see in the 1st pic the button pcb is that thin tanish colored line running down the side of the monitor. You may have to remove a few other items and some screws to get to this.

STEP 2: After you have this out you need to figure out which button is you power button. Usually on top or bottom, for me the power button is the last one on the bottom of the PCB the one labeled SW7.