Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: GroovyArcade questions and build  (Read 2654 times)

C4N3

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:April 18, 2012, 09:25:10 am
GroovyArcade questions and build
« on: February 13, 2012, 01:19:51 pm »
Hey Guys,
I'm new to linux but would really like to give the GroovyArcade liveCD a shot. Ideally I'd like to use this to run my cab. WindowsXP is just such a POS that i'd prefer linux and feel its more resource efficient. I have a Windows XP build right now, but I needed to use powerstrip, Soft15khz, Hyperspin and MAME and it still isn't perfect. I'm hoping since GroovyArcade is prebuilt I won't even be able to mess it up.

So, here at long last are my questions:
I have a JPAC and an IPAC. I need these because I have a 4p Konami based system. I'm trying to use the original controls and I've also integrated a 6 JAMMA board switcher so that I can play the system's original board (X-Men) and a Simpsons game I added as well as use my computer for all the other games/systems. Will GroovyArcade work with IPAC/JPAC? I realize its all USB but I will need to do custom mappings most likely. Any thoughts would be helpful.

Currently I am using a 5 year old HP Laptop with an AMD Turion processor and ATI Radeon Mobility xpress 200. Is this driver compatible?