Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Help with selecting CRT for Groovymame (Calling big guns)  (Read 1263 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

epicfatigue

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 360
  • Last login:May 15, 2016, 08:16:08 pm
    • http://www.retromods.com.au
Help with selecting CRT for Groovymame (Calling big guns)
« on: November 19, 2013, 01:11:31 am »
Hey there everyone.

I have been building a arcade machine for sometime now, and i have always had a WG K7000 in it which i love to death, the problem is the tube does not have long left,
and i am unable to buy a replacement.

I do have however a 22inch Diamond Pro DP2070SB

Horizontal Frequency    30 - 140 kHz, auto scanning
Vertical Frequency            50 - 160 Hz, auto scanning
Synchronisation           Separate or Composite TTL level
Video Bandwidth            390 MHz
Maximum Resolution     2048 x 1536 pixels @ 86 Hz refresh rate


Now i  know Groovymame can double the resolution to create a picture that looks very close to a real arcade monitor.

How close could this monitor get my games looking the WG K7000  20% 50% 90% ?????

I only ask as i am getting ready to finish this monster of a machine and would like to know, as if i am not going to be missing much i might go with the monitor with no Burn in.
Also where can i find a good tutorial of creating a monitor preset so i can test this monitor (the formula) out side by side my arcade and decide what i like more. (We should have a sticky)

Thanks everyone!!!

epicfatigue

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 360
  • Last login:May 15, 2016, 08:16:08 pm
    • http://www.retromods.com.au
Re: Help with selecting CRT for Groovymame (Calling big guns)
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2013, 07:39:26 am »
so i have been playing with this, and so far i am not liking the results.....

i am getting these yucky black lines am i doing something wrong?

vmmaker

monitor_specs0 15600-15800, 49.50-65.00, 0.940, 3.770, 1.890, 0.349, 0.064, 1.017, 0, 0, 240, 384
monitor_specs1 31400-31500, 49.50-65.00, 0.940, 3.770, 1.890, 0.349, 0.064, 1.017, 0, 0, 480, 768


groovy
crt_range0 30000-70000, 100.00-160.00, 2.201, 0.275, 4.678, 0.063, 0.032, 0.633, 0, 0, 192, 320, 0, 0
crt_range1 30000-70000, 50.00-80.00, 2.201, 0.275, 4.678, 0.063, 0.032, 0.633, 0, 0, 400, 1024, 0, 0

syncrefrsh 1


Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6890
  • Last login:Today at 08:19:00 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: Help with selecting CRT for Groovymame (Calling big guns)
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2013, 07:55:24 am »
Hi epicfatigue,

Hardware scanlines on a PC CRT monitor achieved by frequency doubling are not very different (if any) of software scanlines. It's only that they psycologically feel better because they are hardware scanlines, and in theory there's lower input lag too due to frequency doubling. But you might achieve an smoother effect by using the old -effect option with a .png for scanlines without frequency doubling. On such a big CRT capable of very high resolutions the dot pitch must be tiny, leading to very narrow scanlines (thick black lines).
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

cools

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 618
  • Last login:Today at 02:47:12 am
  • Arcade Otaku Sysadmin
    • Arcade Otaku
Re: Help with selecting CRT for Groovymame (Calling big guns)
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2013, 12:08:29 pm »
What Calamity said. Software scanlines are far gentler than hardware on large screens.

epicfatigue

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 360
  • Last login:May 15, 2016, 08:16:08 pm
    • http://www.retromods.com.au
Re: Help with selecting CRT for Groovymame (Calling big guns)
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2013, 03:30:46 pm »
ah, so should a change my  resolution settings or just enable the scan-lines effect?

or i was thinking to tweak the focus on the fly back to try and cover it up, has anyone tried this?