Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: In dash TFT screens?  (Read 421 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

RandomCitizenX

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
  • Last login:May 05, 2014, 03:26:34 pm
In dash TFT screens?
« on: May 03, 2010, 10:50:52 am »
I am considering trying to get my hands on a pair of tft screens that are normally used for cars to use as secondary screens with buttons layout cards or jukebox functions. Does anyone know what sort of video connections these use?

2600

  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1630
  • Last login:June 05, 2017, 10:20:56 am
  • I want my own arcade controls!
Re: In dash TFT screens?
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2010, 10:54:14 am »
Depends on the screen, but most accept composite.  Some take svideo or a CGA signal as well.

RandomCitizenX

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
  • Last login:May 05, 2014, 03:26:34 pm
Re: In dash TFT screens?
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2010, 11:11:20 am »

HaRuMaN

  • Supreme Solder King
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+45)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10271
  • Last login:Today at 11:43:15 am
  • boom
    • Arcade Madness
Re: In dash TFT screens?
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2010, 11:29:56 am »
Did you try emailing the seller?

Veeb0rg

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
  • Last login:May 31, 2017, 07:34:27 pm
Re: In dash TFT screens?
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2010, 04:21:33 am »
Well this was one of the ones I was looking at, but I cannot for the life of me figure out what sort of connection it has


http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=160421271641&rvr_id=&crlp=1_263602_263622&UA=WXS%3F&GUID=c4313d201230a0b58fa47eb4ffe13377&itemid=160421271641&ff4=263602_263622#ht_3801wt_939


That looks to be just a bare screen, no interface/controller board. you would need to find an lcd controller board to use that screen.

Turnarcades

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1973
  • Last login:May 13, 2017, 08:14:29 am
  • Craig @ Turnarcades
    • Turnarcades
Re: In dash TFT screens?
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2010, 08:49:06 am »
Agreed. If you are looking to buy a de-cased replacement screen alone (to offer most flexibility in mounting space) then you are going to have to work out how to power and interface the screen correctly. You may do better to find one that is designed to stand alone (or at least is a self-contained unit with it's own casing and bezel) as at least it will likely have a familiar composite or s-video connection for the display itself. With most you will likely have to hard-wire the power to a 12v DC source (it may be too much for the main PC to run, but another PC power supply will simply do it) but that's smple enough.

RandomCitizenX

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
  • Last login:May 05, 2014, 03:26:34 pm
Re: In dash TFT screens?
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2010, 09:11:55 am »
I think I have found some suitable alternatives. I am looking for as easy a solution as possible, and since this will be going into my first build I was hoping for something a little easier than this screen seems to be.