Main Woodworking Reviews Software Monitor/Video Maximus Arcade
Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Project Announcements Artwork Consoles Buy/Sell/Trade Meet Up
Arcade Miscellaneous Everything Else Politics n Religion Forum Discussion Wiki Discussion GroovyMAME
DOS/WinCab Merit/JVL Touchscreen Automated Projects Driving & Racing Project Arcade Old Boards
Linux Restorations Pinball MaLa Frontend controls.dat Old Archives

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Arcade | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS


  

Author Topic: AtomicFE's HypersKin running on a old celeron with 256mega (video)  (Read 1546 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

youki

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1612
  • Atomic Front End Creator
    • Atomic Front End
Hi All,

Crapahute has posted on youtube a set of videos that shows AtomicFE's Hyperskin layouts running on his machine :a old Celeron with 256Mega of ram with a old VGA card

Some of you, will  surely start to state that Hyperspin FE looks better, does better  etc..etc..  that is true.
but these guys would forget simply that you can't even dream to make work HyperspinFE on that kind of computer.

If you want see how it runs. it is here :

VinceCab Atomic Mame a - MAME Arcade Cabinet with Atomic FE

VinceCab Atomic Mame b - MAME Arcade Cabinet with Atomic FE

VinceCab Atomic Mame c - MAME Arcade Cabinet with Atomic FE

VinceCab Atomic Mame d- MAME Arcade Cabinet with Atomic FE

VinceCab Atomic Mame ef - MAME Arcade Cabinet with Atomic FE

VinceCab Atomic Mame g - MAME Arcade Cabinet with Atomic FE

VinceCab Atomic Mame hij - MAME Arcade Cabinet with Atomic FE

VinceCab Atomic Mame kl - MAME Arcade Cabinet with Atomic FE

VinceCab Atomic Mame m - MAME Arcade Cabinet with Atomic FE

VinceCab Atomic Mame nopq

VinceCab Atomic Mame r - MAME Arcade Cabinet with Atomic FE

VinceCab Atomic Mame s - MAME Arcade Cabinet with Atomic FE

VinceCab Atomic Mame t - MAME Arcade Cabinet with Atomic FE (Embedding disabled, limit reached)
VinceCab Atomic Mame uz - MAME Arcade Cabinet with Atomic FE (Embedding disabled, limit reached)
 

Cakemeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 943
  • I'm a llama!
    • Cakemeister's Projects
Re: AtomicFE's HypersKin running on a old celeron with 256mega (video)
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2009, 12:51:44 pm »
Atomic has always been very good at running on old hardware. Better in fact than the other recommended frontends.
Please read the wiki!

abispac

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 736
Re: AtomicFE's HypersKin running on a old celeron with 256mega (video)
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2009, 05:43:24 pm »
why not making your own ---steaming pile of meadow muffin---, if your so proud of your f.e. to run on old computers. just my personal opinion  :cheers:

youki

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1612
  • Atomic Front End Creator
    • Atomic Front End
Re: AtomicFE's HypersKin running on a old celeron with 256mega (video)
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2009, 06:10:35 pm »
I don't understand your statement ?  ???  ???

Ummon

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5244
Re: AtomicFE's HypersKin running on a old celeron with 256mega (video)
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2009, 08:37:44 pm »
The speed of all the images coalescing seems a trifle slow. Is that supposed to be that way?
Yo. Chocolate.


"Theoretical physics has been the most successful and cost-effective in all of science."

Stephen Hawking


People often confuse expressed observations with complaint, ridicule, or - even worse - self-pity.

SophT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
Re: AtomicFE's HypersKin running on a old celeron with 256mega (video)
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2009, 09:34:58 pm »
I'd be interested to know what exactly an 'old' celeron and an 'old' vga card are in terms of exact proc. speed and card model number please :)

Crapahute

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
    • MameData
Re: AtomicFE's HypersKin running on a old celeron with 256mega (video)
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2009, 06:51:56 am »
Quote
The speed of all the images coalescing seems a trifle slow. Is that supposed to be that way?

Actually, it is not filmed. It has been recordeed (snapshoted) with CamStudio that is why it seems slow and choppy. Moreover, I scrolled down the list slowly in order to see the whole animations. On my screen it is really smooth and I can scroll quickly if I want.

My CPU is a Celeron 1.6Ghz with 256Mo of RAM. The video card is an old ATI (Rage or radeon 7000 I don't remember, and I'm not at home to check)
« Last Edit: November 14, 2009, 06:53:35 am by Crapahute »

youki

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1612
  • Atomic Front End Creator
    • Atomic Front End
Re: AtomicFE's HypersKin running on a old celeron with 256mega (video)
« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2009, 08:08:43 am »
In fact the speed you see on video , it is more or less the speed  i had when i tested on a old Celeron 533Mhz . (except the rendiering is still smoother on the PC , because Atomic never skip a Frame  )




Cakemeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 943
  • I'm a llama!
    • Cakemeister's Projects
Re: AtomicFE's HypersKin running on a old celeron with 256mega (video)
« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2009, 09:33:44 am »
why not making your own ---steaming pile of meadow muffin---, if your so proud of your f.e. to run on old computers. just my personal opinion  :cheers:

I think this comment is out of line, but the grammar is so bad I'm not sure.
Please read the wiki!

Crapahute

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
    • MameData
Re: AtomicFE's HypersKin running on a old celeron with 256mega (video)
« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2009, 11:16:00 am »
Example menu :

VinceCab Main Menus - Atomic FE (Embedding disabled, limit reached)

garwil

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 99
Re: AtomicFE's HypersKin running on a old celeron with 256mega (video)
« Reply #10 on: November 17, 2009, 05:45:21 am »
why not making your own ---steaming pile of meadow muffin---, if your so proud of your f.e. to run on old computers. just my personal opinion  :cheers:

I think this comment is out of line, but the grammar is so bad I'm not sure.

I think he was talking about all the stolen artwork.

youki

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1612
  • Atomic Front End Creator
    • Atomic Front End
Re: AtomicFE's HypersKin running on a old celeron with 256mega (video)
« Reply #11 on: November 17, 2009, 08:06:32 am »
The copyrighted Artwork that Hyperspin-Fe layouters have stolen from flyers, marquees and vector lib?

So we have stolen the thiefs...  to give hyperskin layout for free to poor people that does not have money to buy a high powered machine and pay something to have a golden access to hyperspin-fe web site.

humm... sounds like we are the Robin Hood of front ends!    :laugh2:

We had already a discussion about that in the "Favorites Front end" thread. so look at here.

Anyway , although a huge bunche of artwork have been reused from hyperspin-fe ,  another big bunch of layouts have been done directly from Flyer ,marquee and other source , and you know what ? The result looks like exactly like Hyperspin layouts too that is normal as we use the same inspiration at start (flyer etc..) you got almost the same result.




Ummon

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5244
Re: AtomicFE's HypersKin running on a old celeron with 256mega (video)
« Reply #12 on: November 17, 2009, 10:39:53 pm »
why not making your own ---steaming pile of meadow muffin---, if your so proud of your f.e. to run on old computers. just my personal opinion  :cheers:

I think this comment is out of line, but the grammar is so bad I'm not sure.

I think he was talking about all the stolen artwork.

I'm sure he was.


Groovy on the speed thing.
Yo. Chocolate.


"Theoretical physics has been the most successful and cost-effective in all of science."

Stephen Hawking


People often confuse expressed observations with complaint, ridicule, or - even worse - self-pity.

SophT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
Re: AtomicFE's HypersKin running on a old celeron with 256mega (video)
« Reply #13 on: May 08, 2010, 05:54:13 am »
The copyrighted Artwork that Hyperspin-Fe layouters have stolen from flyers, marquees and vector lib?

So we have stolen the thiefs...  to give hyperskin layout for free to poor people that does not have money to buy a high powered machine and pay something to have a golden access to hyperspin-fe web site.

humm... sounds like we are the Robin Hood of front ends!    :laugh2:

We had already a discussion about that in the "Favorites Front end" thread. so look at here.

Oh, come on Youki.  Let's not start that again.  I was actually just cruising by to ask how well mame games play on a setup that old.  I mean, kudos if the machine can handle the FE, but if it can't handle the games, well then there's no point really...

WhereEaglesDare

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1537
  • Shut Off All The Compactors on the Detention Level
    • My HomePage
Re: AtomicFE's HypersKin running on a old celeron with 256mega (video)
« Reply #14 on: May 08, 2010, 11:05:30 am »
i was wondering the same thing, i remember reading that most games only require 64 MB RAM...

gonzo90017

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1011
  • I'm a llama!
Re: AtomicFE's HypersKin running on a old celeron with 256mega (video)
« Reply #15 on: May 08, 2010, 01:10:28 pm »
Quote
Oh, come on Youki.  Let's not start that again.  I was actually just cruising by to ask how well mame games play on a setup that old.  I mean, kudos if the machine can handle the FE, but if it can't handle the games, well then there's no point really...
You do realize you're resurrecting an almost 6 month old thread right?

To answer your question i'm able to run NeoGeo games full speed on a 233mhz machine with 128mb Ram. So that machine shouldn't have any problems.

Edit: Looks like it has 160mb Ram.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2010, 10:46:03 am by gonzo90017 »

WhereEaglesDare

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1537
  • Shut Off All The Compactors on the Detention Level
    • My HomePage
Re: AtomicFE's HypersKin running on a old celeron with 256mega (video)
« Reply #16 on: May 09, 2010, 09:34:49 am »
You have a 233 that still works?  What is that Pentium 2?  What do you run?   :applaud: :applaud: :applaud:

gonzo90017

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1011
  • I'm a llama!
Re: AtomicFE's HypersKin running on a old celeron with 256mega (video)
« Reply #17 on: May 09, 2010, 10:45:18 am »
It is a Pentium 2. The computer is a Fujisti Lifebook.

I'm actually able to run a lot of systems full speed. A while ago I was working on an emulator package
that ran Mamewah. It was basically plug and play. I got bored with it so I never released. Although it was almost complete. The only thing that was missing were some notes. (I think) And additional testing on hardware that wasn't mine to stomp out the bugs .


Code: [Select]
TEST SYSTEM
-----------
Pentium II 233mhz 160mb Ram Windows 98SE DirectX 8.1

Results
==========

     SYSTEM        | SPEED
------------------------------
Gameboy       | 100%
NES                | 100%
Super Nintendo     | 100%*
Game Gear    | 100%
Sega Master System | 100%
Sega Genesis       | 43-60fps 100% with Auto Frameskip
Atari Lynx    | 100%
Atari 2600    | 100%
Atari 5200    | 100%
Atari 7800    | 100%
MSX 1, 2    |
Turbo Grafx 16     | 100%
ARCADE
 NEO GEO           | 100%
 CAPCOM    | 100%
 Sega System 16    | 100%
 Irem              | 100% (- Image Fight 30fps)
 Resto de Arcade   | Depende del Juego

*There are some SNES games that run at 100% like Mario Kart, Start Fox 2, Super Mario RPG.

IG-88

  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1984
  • Posts: 48,764
Re: AtomicFE's HypersKin running on a old celeron with 256mega (video)
« Reply #18 on: May 10, 2010, 12:55:55 pm »
I can vouch for Gonzo's claim. In fact I beta tested his software on P166's and alot of the games worked. It's a great little package.

Gonzo: we should pick this back up again and finish it.  ;D  It's almost done!
"I know what a HAL 9000 is... I was wondering if HAL 7600 was his retarded cousin or something..."
-HarumaN

Excelsior Rocketry:
Custom kit-bash sets and waterslide decals for model rocketeers!

www.excelsiorrocketry.com

gonzo90017

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1011
  • I'm a llama!
Re: AtomicFE's HypersKin running on a old celeron with 256mega (video)
« Reply #19 on: May 11, 2010, 12:25:34 pm »
I agree! I'm hopefully done with my Media Center so I should have some free time. Let me know whenever you're ready.

IG-88

  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1984
  • Posts: 48,764
Re: AtomicFE's HypersKin running on a old celeron with 256mega (video)
« Reply #20 on: May 11, 2010, 04:06:03 pm »
I can basically start whenever. I won't be any less busy until winter and I don't want to wait that long. Let me know what you want me to start on.
"I know what a HAL 9000 is... I was wondering if HAL 7600 was his retarded cousin or something..."
-HarumaN

Excelsior Rocketry:
Custom kit-bash sets and waterslide decals for model rocketeers!

www.excelsiorrocketry.com

WhereEaglesDare

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1537
  • Shut Off All The Compactors on the Detention Level
    • My HomePage
Re: AtomicFE's HypersKin running on a old celeron with 256mega (video)
« Reply #21 on: May 11, 2010, 07:43:31 pm »
Sounds great, I always thought you didnt need a 500 dollar pc to run a good arcade cab.

go by teh junk yard, load up DOS, load up your packages, and away we go!!!

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28