Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Cabinet power questions.  (Read 1627 times)

2slk

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:February 27, 2004, 11:38:09 pm
  • Fascinating, Captain.
Cabinet power questions.
« on: February 23, 2003, 12:33:07 am »
Folks,

Trying to figure out the best way to power my cab while taking into consideration that I'm not really good with, and pretty much terrified of electricity. I already found this page - http://home.bendcable.com/werstlein Looks like it's a little more than I want to go through.

Eightbit, I found a thread where you mentioned "I use a power strip that has a remote switch, the switch is mounted on top the cabinet. The Marquee and monitor is plugged into the switched side of the strip. I then wired a arcade button to the power button on the PC to turn it on. Its plugged into the always on side of the power strip. This way I can turn the monitor and marquee off but leave the PC on in case I want to send updates to it over the network.'

How is this working out? Have you found a better solution recently and where did you find a power strip with a remote switch? Got any pics?

I also contacted the guy who made the strip you mentioned in the same thread (While looking for an example of the power strip that I have I located this on ebay- http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2071762526