Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: GroovyArcade - How do I change my video card without reinstalling?  (Read 391 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jimmyj1979

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
  • Last login:May 06, 2019, 01:12:35 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hey guys

I have a working ATI 4550 GroovyArcade setup, recently got an an ATI 6450 with VGA and I want to replace the 4550. When i plugged in the 6xxx card GM booted up into 1920x1080.

Do i need to update some files to get GM to use the new card?

GM does detect the card when i boot from the live CD and does boot into 15khz with the live cd, its just when i boot my old install it goes into 1920.

Thanks!
Jim

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6651
  • Last login:Today at 06:00:15 am
Re: GroovyArcade - How do I change my video card without reinstalling?
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2019, 04:29:00 am »
You have to redo the video setup from the menu.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

jimmyj1979

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
  • Last login:May 06, 2019, 01:12:35 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyArcade - How do I change my video card without reinstalling?
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2019, 04:42:29 am »
will try, thanks Calamity.

Do you mean the GA initial setup when you install or quit to the GA menu and go to video setup etc on the existing install?

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6651
  • Last login:Today at 06:00:15 am
Re: GroovyArcade - How do I change my video card without reinstalling?
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2019, 04:46:12 am »
I mean the text menu you see when you first install GM and later when you exit the frontend, there's an option there named "video setup" IIRC, there you have several options, go through them, so the scripts will poll your new video hardware and redo their things.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

jimmyj1979

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
  • Last login:May 06, 2019, 01:12:35 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyArcade - How do I change my video card without reinstalling?
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2019, 04:53:47 am »
great, thanks :)