Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Sega naomi restoration  (Read 3696 times)

seba

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:May 06, 2013, 05:56:45 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Sega naomi restoration
« on: November 16, 2012, 12:39:39 pm »
Hello,

I'm really new to arcade systems. I'm only 23, so I missed most of their glory days. There is a lot I still need to find out about these things, but slowly I'm getting more educated.
Anyway, I got a sega naomi virtual striker 3 cabinet from a friend who picked it up at a local café that wanted to throw it away.
I see this as the beginning of my 'man-cave' :p.

It was in really bad shape (lots of rust and cigarette stains) and after 1 day of playing the console gave up. That was a good reason to strip it apart completely and give it a repaint. I'm still figuring out whether I will install a computer with jvs-pac (as the sega jvs io is still in good shape and the monitor is tri-sync) or what else I will put in it.

Here are the pictures of the transformation process:

The cigarette stains before, got these completely away with sandpaper & plastic putty

Overview stripped

Painting

Currently: assembling

Hopefully, I can find some time to finish this soon (but first I need to find out some more stuff about the electronics inside the cabinet).