Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Basic Donkey Kong Restoration  (Read 3433 times)

wmba

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:July 14, 2019, 11:43:09 am
Basic Donkey Kong Restoration
« on: January 11, 2008, 01:48:59 pm »
Hi all.  I am somewhat new around here.  Been messing with arcade cabinets for the last year.. so I am still very new to the hobby and have lots to learn.

I have just recently started a new project of restoring a Donkey Kong cabinet.  I picked it up for a reasonable price, as it had been converted to Excitebike and wasn't in the best shape. 

Was not working when I got it.. but just jiggling the harness around got it to fire up.   The screen had some burn in, and also one of those "lines" where it seemed that the entire upper portion of the screen was folded into itself.

The cabinet itself was in decent shape... but was very dirty. There was no control panel overlay (just black paper and cheap plexi that looked terrible, a blank bezel, and an Excitebike Marquee. There was alot of "gum" or sticky residue on the side of the cabinet where the old DK artwork would have been...  but overall a very restorable cabinet.

The original plate with the DK serial number is still on the back of the cabinet, and the back door instruction paper is still there.

I will post pictures of my progress as I work on the cabinet.

Bill