Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: ipac, jpac, trackball and confusion  (Read 3878 times)

gedman

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:November 26, 2021, 01:25:30 pm
  • My first cab is almost done. Loving the challenge.
ipac, jpac, trackball and confusion
« on: May 07, 2017, 09:49:31 pm »
I'm a newbie, and a bit confused on i-pac vs. j-pac for my particular situation.

I have an arcade with a 25" arcade monitor and a JAMMA harness - so I figured that I was all set for an easy MAME install using a j-pac.  My goal is to have 2 joysticks, 6 buttons per joystick, and a single trackball.

But then I discovered two things: 1) j-pac doesn't handle trackball, and 2) my JAMMA connector has no wires for several positions (because the game that was originally in the cabinet doesn't use joysticks, so the harness has no wires in those positions on the JAMMA connector).

I think these are my two options:

1) If I proceed with j-pac, then I have to figure out how to add wires to an existing JAMMA connector (is that even possible?) and I'll need to figure out how to connect the trackball via a separate interface (is that the opti-pac?). j-pac would easily feed my PC video to the arcade monitor, which is good.

2) If I proceed with i-pac, then I'll have to figure out how to feed the video signal from my PC to my arcade monitor.

Advice is appreciated!

Gedman

baritonomarchetto

• Offline Offline