Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Do I have room for a 4-way?  (Read 406 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Capthowdy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
  • Last login:April 13, 2015, 03:33:18 pm
Do I have room for a 4-way?
« on: April 29, 2006, 04:49:11 am »
...and please don't tell me to get a king size bed!   :P

Here's how i'm planning on laying it out.

Also...with the Happ Super joysticks that I have... Do I need to rout out the bottom so the stick will come up a little higher through the 3/4 mdf?  If so how far in should I go?  thanks

Kremmit

  • - AHOTW -
  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3164
  • Last login:June 22, 2019, 01:19:05 pm
  • Who the heck is that?
Re: Do I have room for a 4-way?
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2006, 10:35:08 am »
Depends on how big your CP will be.  Is that cardboard cut to size?  As it sits, I'd put one above the player 1 stick or buttons.  As for routing, stick height is a personal preference.  If you're not sure, I'd start out with no recess, and see how you like it.  You can always rout a recess later, but it's harder to un-route one, ya know?

Capthowdy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
  • Last login:April 13, 2015, 03:33:18 pm
Re: Do I have room for a 4-way?
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2006, 01:27:36 pm »
oh jeez...sorry...the control panel will be roughly 23" wide by 15" deep.

I tested the joystick through a 3/4 inch piece and it felt a little low.  So I'm thinking I may rout it a bit but I don't want to make it weak.

Kevin Mullins

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4504
  • Last login:May 31, 2019, 10:20:48 am
    • Me on Myspace
Re: Do I have room for a 4-way?
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2006, 02:21:30 pm »

Most joysticks have different (two) spacers to make them usable/adjustable for either 3/4 mdf or the thinner metal control panels. (height wise)
Two places on the shaft for the bottom clip.
I have never routed out for a joystick.

Is this true with the Happ Super Sticks?
Not a technician . . . . just a DIY'er.

Kremmit

  • - AHOTW -
  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3164
  • Last login:June 22, 2019, 01:19:05 pm
  • Who the heck is that?
Re: Do I have room for a 4-way?
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2006, 10:36:10 pm »
Nope, Supers are not height adjustable.  P360s and old Wico Pear-tops are the only ones I know of that are.