Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Logitech wheel parallel connection to PC and PS3  (Read 514 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Vicinus

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:April 01, 2020, 04:13:27 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Logitech wheel parallel connection to PC and PS3
« on: February 27, 2020, 05:54:02 am »
Hi.

for my next project i choose to build a racing cab. Is it possible to connect a wheel to PC and PS3 simultaneously and to switch automatically?
With a HDMI Splitter i don't see an issue to connect ps3 and PC to a display.
But would a usb switch work with a Logitech wheel if I connect it to said PC and PS3?

Drnick

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1532
  • Last login:Yesterday at 02:27:02 pm
  • Plodding Through Life
Re: Logitech wheel parallel connection to PC and PS3
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2020, 07:38:35 am »
I used to have an Aten Tech USB Switch and to change between devices it was Press Ctrl and another key to change device. This could probably be done via Autohotkey (At least for PC to PS3)  Personally I would just use a manual switcher to do this as less likely to be an issue.

Vicinus

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:April 01, 2020, 04:13:27 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18176
  • Last login:April 07, 2020, 10:13:20 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Logitech wheel parallel connection to PC and PS3
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2020, 03:13:44 pm »
IF it shows up as a usb hub then probably so, otherwise probably not.  It's a lot simpler to just unplug the wheel and plug it into the ps3 or vice versa. 

Zebra

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 615
  • Last login:March 12, 2020, 07:10:43 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Logitech wheel parallel connection to PC and PS3
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2020, 03:06:16 pm »
Maybe you use dip switches (or equivalent) and fit an extra USB cable to the end.

There aren't many wires used in a USB plug. You could make something for $5 and an old USB cable.

I've been shopping for multi wire switches lately to switch my controls between a UHID and an Arduino. So far, dip switches like these have been the cheapest solution I could find:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/5-Pcs-8-Position-DIP-Switch-for-arduino-projects/391722753153?epid=605177529&hash=item5b347edc81:g:OV8AAOSwbkVboyHg

MotownC

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:53:24 pm
  • Reliving my youth, one lap at a time
Re: Logitech wheel parallel connection to PC and PS3
« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2020, 07:53:13 pm »
I use this and it works very well. Simple button to switch between PC and PS3. I am using a Logitech Driving Force GT wheel.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07TS5JNT3/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o05_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Vicinus

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:April 01, 2020, 04:13:27 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Logitech wheel parallel connection to PC and PS3
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2020, 08:30:42 am »
Thank you all for your replies!   :)

MotownC: That was the device i was initially looking for. Great! But...

...when reading Zebra's reply i thought io myself why don't I just crimp(wording?) the cable myself. Since i only play PC or PS3 it doesn't really matter that only one is "live".
So what i did was simply buying usb plugs with open cable endings and connect them. Still don't know why such a cable isn't being sold anywhere. However....

Here is the result and it works perfectly with either PC and PS3 (Not both connected simultanously yet, but i guess that doesn't matter):

« Last Edit: March 16, 2020, 08:34:43 am by Vicinus »

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18176
  • Last login:April 07, 2020, 10:13:20 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Logitech wheel parallel connection to PC and PS3
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2020, 02:51:15 pm »
Be careful.  I don't think the ps3 turns off, rather it goes into sleep mode by default.  It shouldn't hurt anything but you never know. 

Vicinus

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:April 01, 2020, 04:13:27 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Logitech wheel parallel connection to PC and PS3
« Reply #8 on: April 01, 2020, 04:13:28 pm »
Be careful.  I don't think the ps3 turns off, rather it goes into sleep mode by default.  It shouldn't hurt anything but you never know.
 
 
While the PS3 is on stand by the wheel seems to only register the PC. And i don't think any current is live. So there hopefully won't be any issue, but your concern was understandable.

johnm

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 130
  • Last login:April 05, 2020, 07:25:47 am
Re: Logitech wheel parallel connection to PC and PS3
« Reply #9 on: April 02, 2020, 06:25:53 am »


If there are problems you could always just fit a switching relay with the closed circuit going to your main gaming device and either controlled by a latching button or by the USB ports power on the other one so when you switch it on the relay activates and switches over