Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Cheapest and best way to use MODEL 2 PANEL with a PC  (Read 647 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

bandicoot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
Cheapest and best way to use MODEL 2 PANEL with a PC
« on: August 25, 2018, 07:28:33 am »
Hello
First I want to THANKS 3 people :
AGANYTE for his board to connect a PCB wheel to the MODEL 2 SEGA PANEL
ETIENNE for his FFB DIRECT DRIVE WHEEL based on arduino
And the last one Boomslang for his beautiful FFB plugin

Now here's the beauty:
You need An AGANYTE BOARD PWM2M2 ( Contact AGANYTE at GAMOOVER forum  )
Next you need a LEONARDO ARDUINO BOARD and a ARDUINO NANO to emulate the rotary encoder
and that's all


TUTORIAL can be found here
https://www.gamoover.net/Forums/index.php?topic=38553.0
Before i use L2M2 with a logitech hack , now it's better no oscillation wheel really good
« Last Edit: August 25, 2018, 02:25:35 pm by bandicoot »

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13116
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: Cheapest and best way to use MODEL 2 PANEL with a PC
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2018, 02:21:36 pm »
I'd order one if there was a link to order one, you're just linked to his profile. Looks like the boards are blank too, you have to order all the parts and build them out
No matter one's station in life, the Dance of Death unites us all.

bandicoot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
Re: Cheapest and best way to use MODEL 2 PANEL with a PC
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2018, 02:27:18 pm »
excuse i remove the link to his profil i don't ask him if his OK  ::)
But just register to GAMOOVER forum and ask him for buying him a board he will assemble it for you i think

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13116
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: Cheapest and best way to use MODEL 2 PANEL with a PC
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2018, 02:34:36 pm »
Je ne parle pas franšais du tout. Cela rend difficile l'inscription. Je serais une nouvelle personne demandant un PWM2M2
No matter one's station in life, the Dance of Death unites us all.

baritonomarchetto

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 457
Re: Cheapest and best way to use MODEL 2 PANEL with a PC
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2018, 04:20:05 am »
Why they used the arduino nano? Looking at the wiring only the wheel potentiometer is connected to it, but the leo has still plenty of free analoga inputs: it could handle all three potentiometers...
Again, if the wheel is optical, you have enought free digital inputs to handle it.
« Last Edit: August 26, 2018, 04:22:08 am by baritonomarchetto »

bandicoot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
Re: Cheapest and best way to use MODEL 2 PANEL with a PC
« Reply #5 on: August 26, 2018, 08:00:23 am »
we use an arduinon nano to emulate a rotary encoder cause the code of etienne use this for wheel axis and doesn't work with a potentiometer

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13116
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: Cheapest and best way to use MODEL 2 PANEL with a PC
« Reply #6 on: August 26, 2018, 08:26:28 am »
we use an arduinon nano to emulate a rotary encoder cause the code of etienne use this for wheel axis and doesn't work with a potentiometer

Bandicoot , can you be the middle man and see if I can order 2 boards? I'll paypal in advance and everything, prefer the boards populated/complete  LMK. Thanks!
If you are wondering "why 2?" see here : http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,155515.0.html
No matter one's station in life, the Dance of Death unites us all.

segaturbo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Cheapest and best way to use MODEL 2 PANEL with a PC
« Reply #7 on: August 26, 2018, 09:05:00 am »
Malenko if these are like l2m2 they will need model 2 dash rally daytona or virtua racing model 1 not touring car
I see you have a model 2 and 3 dash the 2 will work if rally or Daytona but the Daytona dash model 3 wont as I understand it
you don't want to order if they are not going to work with your dash as will lead to more cost  ;)

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13116
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: Cheapest and best way to use MODEL 2 PANEL with a PC
« Reply #8 on: August 26, 2018, 09:12:05 am »
Malenko if these are like l2m2 they will need model 2 dash rally daytona or virtua racing model 1 not touring car
I see you have a model 2 and 3 dash the 2 will work if rally or Daytona but the Daytona dash model 3 wont as I understand it
you don't want to order if they are not going to work with your dash as will lead to more cost  ;)

I have 2 model 3s , 2 model 2s, and 1 HAPP wheel :(  Maybe I'll just stick with the 360 hack for 1 and the PC wheel for the other.  :dunno
No matter one's station in life, the Dance of Death unites us all.

bandicoot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
Re: Cheapest and best way to use MODEL 2 PANEL with a PC
« Reply #9 on: August 26, 2018, 11:36:58 am »
i contact him

baritonomarchetto

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 457
Re: Cheapest and best way to use MODEL 2 PANEL with a PC
« Reply #10 on: August 26, 2018, 01:05:43 pm »
Arduino leonardo can handle a rotary encoder without problems. The board is overengineered with 2 boards instead of one. There's no need for the nano ;)

bandicoot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
Re: Cheapest and best way to use MODEL 2 PANEL with a PC
« Reply #11 on: August 26, 2018, 01:19:52 pm »
yes but we don't have the source code to bypass the encoder ,
But you can replace the orignal sega pot with an encoder

baritonomarchetto

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 457
Re: Cheapest and best way to use MODEL 2 PANEL with a PC
« Reply #12 on: August 26, 2018, 02:16:09 pm »
Are you saying that the arduino's code that should be uploaded is not shared? Or the problem is that you are not able to merge the two codes in one?
There's something I am not getting here...

bandicoot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
Re: Cheapest and best way to use MODEL 2 PANEL with a PC
« Reply #13 on: August 26, 2018, 02:27:21 pm »
the code of each isn't open source
we got .hex for leonardo but that'all

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13116
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: Cheapest and best way to use MODEL 2 PANEL with a PC
« Reply #14 on: August 26, 2018, 04:26:30 pm »
yeah not cost effective for me right now. I do appreciate you checking for me, it was very kind of you!
No matter one's station in life, the Dance of Death unites us all.

baritonomarchetto

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 457
Re: Cheapest and best way to use MODEL 2 PANEL with a PC
« Reply #15 on: August 27, 2018, 12:32:47 am »
the code of each isn't open source
we got .hex for leonardo but that'all
This is a good reason I would leave a project die in hell. I would bet that code relys on open libraries people put efforts in having nothing back.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16651
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Cheapest and best way to use MODEL 2 PANEL with a PC
« Reply #16 on: August 27, 2018, 01:18:57 am »
the code of each isn't open source
we got .hex for leonardo but that'all
This is a good reason I would leave a project die in hell. I would bet that code relys on open libraries people put efforts in having nothing back.

Eh Let's not overreact.... we all know that's my job.  ;) 

The way I see it, if somebody wants to make a buck off of their software/hardware that's cool, but it better work and be user friendly.  Having to install a separate avr just to emulate an encoder wheel is broken imho. 


 

bandicoot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
Re: Cheapest and best way to use MODEL 2 PANEL with a PC
« Reply #17 on: August 27, 2018, 11:31:05 am »
i agree to use another AVR isn't friendly use but for people who's test the L2M2 the difference is big , the only big problem for USA people is the price for shipping  :banghead: :banghead: perhaps if some USA people want board we can make one ship with more board of PWM2M2 , after USA people redistrub them , a PWM2M2 ( without leonardo and nano ) cost 40 euros but shipping cost 30 euros :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31