Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: updating groovy mame  (Read 770 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

puntja

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
updating groovy mame
« on: May 24, 2018, 06:27:17 pm »
hey guys

this might be a stupid question, but i am new to the mame scene

when I first set up groovymame i had to download regular mame first

i wanna update groovymame 0.195 to 0.197

do I have to do all these steps again or can I just copy groovymame 0.197 over my existing folder?

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 654
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: updating groovy mame
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2018, 07:47:34 pm »
I'm feel certain calamity was hosting entire builds on his site...but either way, GM and MAME need to be the same version.

nierlaika

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: updating groovy mame
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2018, 08:20:20 pm »
I'm feel certain calamity was hosting entire builds on his site...but either way, GM and MAME need to be the same version.

Oh, cool, do you have a link? I'm kind of new to posting here.

I've been trying to get that pop up off for a couple of days now :s lol

Thanks

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 654
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: updating groovy mame
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2018, 01:52:20 am »
There's a sticky up the top for downloading GM. If you can't find a whole build, download the same rev of MAME and just replace mame64.exe with the GM one.

puntja

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: updating groovy mame
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2018, 03:54:15 am »
so if I understandly correctly, I'll have to do everything from scratch again?  :censored: it, I'll just stick to 0.195 and never update again.. never change a running system

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6049
Re: updating groovy mame
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2018, 04:43:37 am »
You usually can simply replace the binary in the same folder. But there's no guarantee that some options may change from version to version. "What's new" is your friend.

Sometimes MAMEdev change files in the shaders folders and other stuff that is required, that's why I started providing the whole package instead of the single binary.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

nierlaika

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: updating groovy mame
« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2018, 05:00:23 am »
You usually can simply replace the binary in the same folder. But there's no guarantee that some options may change from version to version. "What's new" is your friend.

Sometimes MAMEdev change files in the shaders folders and other stuff that is required, that's why I started providing the whole package instead of the single binary.

So if just download the latest file from the sticky that warning shouldn't pop up? I'm sorry, this stuff goes a little over my head

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6049
Re: updating groovy mame
« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2018, 05:06:40 am »
So if just download the latest file from the sticky that warning shouldn't pop up? I'm sorry, this stuff goes a little over my head

GM support is getting lysergic.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 654
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: updating groovy mame
« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2018, 07:32:41 pm »
GM support is getting lysergic.

That's an interesting way of phrasing it.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31