Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: 90 to 1 , 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power?  (Read 1634 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
90 to 1 , 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power?
« on: December 30, 2014, 10:44:59 pm »
which power supplies are good to use that saves your electric bill when having multiple arcade games running at a business?

Also does the 90 to 1 logic boards or 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power compared to the old 80's arcade games?

When not playing the arcade game is there any type of energy saver or sleep mode? so the arcade game isn't drawing all the current from the outlet wall 24/7

chopperthedog

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 995
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:01:42 pm
Re: 90 to 1 , 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power?
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2014, 10:48:25 pm »
* chopperthedog is speechless.


good day.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18810
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:31:47 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: 90 to 1 , 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power?
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2014, 10:58:11 pm »
which power supplies are good to use that saves your electric bill when having multiple arcade games running at a business?

Dunno. Don't operate a business.

Quote
Also does the 90 to 1 logic boards or 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power compared to the old 80's arcade games?

I would suppose this is true by the very fact that it's using newer components.

Quote
When not playing the arcade game is there any type of energy saver or sleep mode? so the arcade game isn't drawing all the current from the outlet wall 24/7

A game in sleep mode would probably look broken and no earn any quarters.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: 90 to 1 , 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power?
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2014, 11:03:13 pm »
how do i save power and current draw when having multiple arcade games turned on?

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • Last login:March 31, 2018, 03:44:39 pm
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: 90 to 1 , 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power?
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2014, 11:08:08 pm »
err define this please
>how do i save power and current draw when having multiple arcade games turned on?<
reason i ask is where do u get "multi" from ?,1 single board ? or multi game cab's?

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: 90 to 1 , 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power?
« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2014, 12:43:20 am »
if i had 10 different arcade games turned on at the same time at a business pizza place, how can I save power and electricity?

What kind of power supplies can I use for the arcade games? to save power and electricity?


yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18810
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:31:47 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: 90 to 1 , 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power?
« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2014, 12:45:41 am »
Best way to save money? Only turn on 5 at a time.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • Last login:March 31, 2018, 03:44:39 pm
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: 90 to 1 , 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power?
« Reply #7 on: December 31, 2014, 12:59:51 am »
to start with u can not
they will always draw power
either in stand by and or running,short of un-plugging them from the grid
u are talking pennies here...
but as pointed out to u
if the game appear's dead
ie no display ppl will walk right by it
so guess what. best to leave it on
again pennies

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: 90 to 1 , 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power?
« Reply #8 on: December 31, 2014, 01:03:45 am »
does a switching power supply with high current fold back , sames you more money?

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • Last login:March 31, 2018, 03:44:39 pm
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: 90 to 1 , 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power?
« Reply #9 on: December 31, 2014, 01:19:36 pm »
simple answer NO

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6271
  • Last login:Yesterday at 12:33:02 am
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: 90 to 1 , 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power?
« Reply #10 on: December 31, 2014, 02:28:54 pm »
in the grand scheme of things, you want to save power, look elsewhere. a few milliamps here or there won't change things.

getting rid of the CRT and going LCD (or LED lit LCD) will save 200 or so watts.

changing a fluorescent light with an LED strip will save you 20 more.

swapping a linear power supply with a switchmode supply will save you a bunch more due to SMPS efficiency.

also, quit nitpicking.

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: 90 to 1 , 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power?
« Reply #11 on: December 31, 2014, 07:23:55 pm »
Quote
swapping a linear power supply with a switchmode supply will save you a bunch more due to SMPS efficiency.

Why does a switching mode supply have power and current draw?

Quote
getting rid of the CRT and going LCD (or LED lit LCD) will save 200 or so watts.

What adapter do I need to get to convert an any Arcade games CRT monitor into using a Flat Screen LCD or LED display TV monitor?


lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6271
  • Last login:Yesterday at 12:33:02 am
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: 90 to 1 , 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power?
« Reply #12 on: January 01, 2015, 11:06:50 am »
Why does a switching mode supply have power and current draw?

seriously? it consumes energy to produce power. what's not to get? Power doesn't get made for free.


What adapter do I need to get to convert an any Arcade games CRT monitor into using a Flat Screen LCD or LED display TV monitor?


JFGI. there are lots of products to convert the arcade signal to something a LCD monitor or TV can display. google is your friend. plopping "arcade to TV convertor" into google yields no less than 867,000 results.

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: 90 to 1 , 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power?
« Reply #13 on: January 01, 2015, 05:36:26 pm »
I mean why does a switching power supply "DRAW" less current and power compared to a Linear power supply?

Besides using a switching power supply, which other kind of power supply consumers or draws less current and power?

Cause All arcade games draw at least 11 amps of current or more

The logic boards Video outputs are mostly RGB and Vertical and Horizontal Sync

You disconnect the monitor deflection board

Plus you don't need to use an isolation transformer when using an LCD or LED display right?


SavannahLion

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5986
  • Last login:December 19, 2015, 02:28:15 am
Re: 90 to 1 , 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power?
« Reply #14 on: January 01, 2015, 07:04:13 pm »
There isn't very many people here who give a ---fudgesicle--- about saving power when it comes to their cabs. If power consumption is an issue for me, I add a power switch, done.

You have been told many times to Google your questions before asking, especially the more asinine ones you seem so fond of.


lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6271
  • Last login:Yesterday at 12:33:02 am
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: 90 to 1 , 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power?
« Reply #15 on: January 02, 2015, 11:24:01 am »
the reason SMPS is so popular now and has pushed out linear power supplies is:

1: cheap. big transformers are expensive to produce.

2: more efficient. a linear is about 20% efficient at converting the line AC to useable DC. an SMPS can be over 80%.

vanwatson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Last login:January 02, 2015, 09:21:39 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: 90 to 1 , 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power?
« Reply #16 on: January 02, 2015, 08:40:32 pm »
Quote
a linear is about 20% efficient at converting the line AC to useable DC. an SMPS can be over 80%.

What do you mean how a linear power supply converts AC to DC it's only 20%? and a SMPS converting AC to DC is 80%, what do you mean

A linear power supply converts AC to DC the same as an SMPS

ed12

  • Trade Count: (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3972
  • Last login:March 31, 2018, 03:44:39 pm
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: 90 to 1 , 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power?
« Reply #17 on: January 02, 2015, 09:40:24 pm »
no they do not at all,period end enough...stop and listen
the @ explained to u the dif.,re-read the reply to u..and listen from now on..
alot of @'s have u on there inquore list,because u refuse to accept the know
of the mass...
linear power supply's use a power-transformer
smps do not,
the term smps switch mode power supply..look it up
goggle is a friend of your's
will have a ac switched side,then a small output transformer,to drop the voltage
to the value's u require or just above there as of...
i refuse to go into the full theroy behind switch mode's and linear
look them up

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

Slippyblade

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3156
  • Last login:April 26, 2019, 02:25:09 pm
  • And to the death god we say, "Not today!"
Re: 90 to 1 , 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power?
« Reply #18 on: January 02, 2015, 10:45:13 pm »
Oh my god, are you 12?  Never mind that, I have a 12 yr old and she has her head on straighter than this.  Dude, quit your yammering!  I'm shocked anybody even wastes time typing out legit answers anymore.  Every single time I see your name pop up on the new thread list I feel a little dumber.  You asked a question, you were given a legit answer, and then you argue with the answer given.  If you think you know enough to argue the answer given why the hell did you ask the question to begin with?!

DaOld Man

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4849
  • Last login:April 06, 2019, 11:07:14 pm
  • Wheres my coffee?
    • Skenny's Outpost
Re: 90 to 1 , 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power?
« Reply #19 on: January 12, 2015, 09:50:57 am »
And someday the mask of vanwatsons will be removed and someone like PBJ will be lurking underneath.
(No offense PBJ)

SavannahLion

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5986
  • Last login:December 19, 2015, 02:28:15 am
Re: 90 to 1 , 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power?
« Reply #20 on: January 12, 2015, 11:31:55 am »
And someday the mask of vanwatsons will be removed and someone like PBJ will be lurking underneath.
(No offense PBJ)

Apparently it's a fat SIMS character.  :dunno

matsadona

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 754
  • Last login:March 19, 2019, 06:13:38 am
Re: 90 to 1 , 60 to 1 logic boards draw less current power?
« Reply #21 on: January 21, 2015, 09:12:05 am »
Yes, the old game boards will probably be more power consuming (with all the circuits on multiple PCB's) than a small and "modern" 60-in-1.
I have never compared, but there should be a significant difference.

The 1xxx-in-1 boards, that are more or less a standard PC, however might not be that different.

So, an example (hypothetical):

Old board: 5V * 10A = 50W
60-in1 board: 5V * 2A = 10W

Old CRT monitor: 200W
New LCD monitor: 30W*

So replacing the CRT's would probably do the best power saving, but will probably reduce the income as well (sine many people still willing to put money in an arcade machine are "old school").

* http://na.suzohapp.com/images/pdf/49-2604-30L_VisionProManual.pdf

Building, collecting and playing arcade machines :)