Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: New to Retro Mod. Light up marquee with PC  (Read 1977 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

modernfx

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:December 02, 2023, 01:02:51 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
New to Retro Mod. Light up marquee with PC
« on: January 24, 2023, 12:40:07 pm »
Hello everyone.

I am somewhat new to the retro scene and also to modding arcade 1up cabinets.
I have the street fighter vs Capcom cabinet which I guess I have now repurposed.

I have done the 20" Dell Monitor upgrade, Control deck upgrade (usb), and have a pc running retrobat.

Anyway, I have everything powering up properly but I need to figure out if there is a way that I can have the marquee light up
once the computer turns on.

Is there a power to usb adapter of some sort? How have others solved this issue when using the stock arcade 1up marquee and a PC?

Thank you in advance to those that take the time to answer.

Best.


modernfx

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:December 02, 2023, 01:02:51 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: New to Retro Mod. Light up marquee with PC
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2023, 07:21:56 pm »
I figured it out. I removed the LED lights that it had and replaced them with ones that are USB driven.

LTC

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 201
  • Last login:July 10, 2024, 03:31:12 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: New to Retro Mod. Light up marquee with PC
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2023, 08:15:13 pm »
You Dell 20" should have a 12vdc out plug on it.
« Last Edit: February 27, 2023, 10:37:30 pm by LTC »

SNAAKE

  • Trade Count: (+29)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3546
  • Last login:June 27, 2024, 04:02:55 pm
  • my joystick is bigger than your joystick !
Re: New to Retro Mod. Light up marquee with PC
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2023, 03:50:12 pm »
You Dell 20" should have a 12vdc out plug on it.

just plug this in to the dell monitor port and good to go?
https://www.diyretroarcade.com/products/led-strip-for-arcade1up-marquee-kit?