Main Woodworking Reviews Software Monitor/Video Maximus Arcade
Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Project Announcements Artwork Consoles Buy/Sell/Trade Meet Up
Arcade Miscellaneous Everything Else Politics n Religion Forum Discussion Wiki Discussion GroovyMAME
DOS/WinCab Merit/JVL Touchscreen Automated Projects Driving & Racing Project Arcade Old Boards
Linux Restorations Pinball MaLa Frontend controls.dat Old Archives
    Retail Vendors    

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Arcade | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS


  

Author Topic: nLited XP installs for a cab  (Read 121435 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

DrewKaree

  • - AHOTW - Pompous revolving door windbag *YOINKER*
  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9822
  • HAH! Nice one!
    • A lifelong project
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #160 on: February 06, 2008, 05:55:24 pm »
IIRC, SP2 was required for dual trackball support (or spinner, or mouse hack.....crap, SOMETHING required it! ;D )

I dunno about SP3.

Craig, give this a looksee too, I think you might find it useful:

http://www.softsea.com/review/WinServices.html
Youíre always in control of your behavior. Sometimes you just control yourself
in ways that you later wish you hadnít

spystyle

  • Thanks alot, now I have to build a time machine and warn myself yesterday!
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1414
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #161 on: April 24, 2008, 12:51:12 pm »
Hey Nlite fans,

I finally made my vision of "MAME-XP"

Here are the specs:

Made from Windows XP professional corporate SP3

In my finished configuration, in which MAME32 ver 36 ran perfectly, and DirectX 9.0c installed,  I had these services running :

1. Plug and play
2. Remote procedure call (RPC)
3. Windows Audio

This much RAM was used  : 46.61 MB of RAM out of 256.

Minlogon was integrated for fast startup and shutdown

Driverpacks were integrated so no hunting for drivers

Here are pics:









Attached is lastsession.ini

How low are you guys able to get your RAM usage?

Cheers,
Craig

-----
edit
-----

The above was all done in VirtualPC, that's how I test all my goodies without making dozens of coasters. I was so impressed with the above that I burned my MAME-XP to a CD and installed it on an old P3 700MHZ with 192 MB RAM and 30 GB HDD, these days that type of computer could be found for free or cheap.

Boot up was lightning fast due to minlogon.

It uses only 40.62 MB of RAM out of 192 :)



Mala also works :)



Cheers,
Craig

-----
edit
-----

Oh, hard lesson : apparently if you don't choose "ComputerType = Standard PC" in the unattended section of Nlite your power button won't shut down your computer. I mistakenly left it as "default"...

« Last Edit: April 25, 2008, 07:54:18 am by spystyle »

gonzo90017

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1014
  • I'm a llama!
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #162 on: April 25, 2008, 01:24:05 am »
Without having to reinstall xp:

If the computer is not ACPI-compliant, you may be able to work around this issue by installing the NT APM/Legacy Device. Before you install the NT APM/Legacy device, you must first disable the Microsoft ACPI Device if it is installed.

To disable the Microsoft ACPI Device: 1.   Open Control Panel, and then double-click System.
2.   Click the Hardware tab, and then click Device Manager.
3.   On the View menu, click Show Hidden Devices.
4.   Expand Non-Plug and Play Drivers.
5.   Do either of the following:    •   If Microsoft ACPI Driver is not listed:

In the NT APM/Legacy Support branch of the device tree, you will see the item NT Apm/Legacy Interface Node. It will show a red X to indicate that it is disabled.

Right-click NT Apm/Legacy Interface Node, and then click Enable.

After you follow these steps, Windows will shut down correctly.
•   If Microsoft ACPI Driver is listed, follow these steps:    a.    Double-click Microsoft ACPI Driver.
b.    Click the Driver tab, and then in the Type box, click Disabled.
c.    Click OK, and then restart the computer.
d.    When Windows restarts, repeat these steps to open the Microsoft ACPI Driver Properties dialog box, and then click the Driver tab.

Verify the following:    •   Disabled appears in the Type box.
•   Stopped appears in the Status section.

After you verify that the Microsoft ACPI Device is disabled, continue with the following steps to install the NT APM/Legacy device:
e.    Open Control Panel, and then double-click Add Hardware.
f.    When the Hardware Wizard stops searching for new hardware, click Yes, I have already connected the hardware, and then click Next.
g.    Scroll to the bottom of the Installed Hardware list, click Add a new hardware device, and then click Next.
h.    Click Install the hardware that I manually select from a list (Advanced), and then click Next.
i.    Under Common Hardware Types, click NT Apm/Legacy Support, and then click Next.
j.    Click NT Apm/Legacy Interface Node, and then click Next.
k.    Click Next again, and then click Finish.

The computer will now correctly shut down.

tikbalang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
    • MAME BootCD's for DOS
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #163 on: April 25, 2008, 04:37:37 am »
1. does xp embedded require a full reinstall?
2. can minlogon.exe replace winlogon.exe on an existing winxp pro sp2 with multiple users? what functionalities will be lost?
3. if memuse.exe is a free tool, where can i get it?

spystyle

  • Thanks alot, now I have to build a time machine and warn myself yesterday!
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1414
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #164 on: April 25, 2008, 07:49:28 am »
Without having to reinstall xp.....

Thanks :) However I don't have the mentioned items, see this pic:



Either I removed too much (I removed all services, IIR) or the "standard PC" thing will work, I will test it.

UPDATE : The "standard PC" thing fixed it :)

1. does xp embedded require a full reinstall?

This whole thread is about Nlite modified versions of retail XP. Embedded XP is a different OS :

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=79218.0

As far as I know no one is using embedded XP on their cabs.

2. can minlogon.exe replace winlogon.exe on an existing winxp pro sp2 with multiple users?

Yes, but...

what functionalities will be lost?

...minlogon will make it one user only.

3. if memuse.exe is a free tool, where can i get it?

http://www.gena01.com/memuse/

Attached is minlogon for Nlite, Minlogon for exisiting installations, and memuse.exe.

Cheers,
Craig

p.s. You should install service pack 3, it's faster than SP2.

http://www.soft32.com/download_123572.html
« Last Edit: April 25, 2008, 11:01:41 am by spystyle »

spystyle

  • Thanks alot, now I have to build a time machine and warn myself yesterday!
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1414
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #165 on: April 25, 2008, 11:00:37 am »
OK, changing the Nlite "unattended" setting to "computer type = Standard PC" fixed the problem, now the computer's power button works in windows.

This is evidence that you can remove every single "service" in Nlite and the OS will still work.

In my experience you only need :

Windows audio
Remote call procedure (RPC)
Plug and play

So what are you guys getting for "RAM usage" on your Nlite'd XPs ?

Cheers,
Craig

tikbalang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
    • MAME BootCD's for DOS
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #166 on: April 25, 2008, 04:06:45 pm »
i found a newer version of minlogon.

spystyle

  • Thanks alot, now I have to build a time machine and warn myself yesterday!
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1414
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #167 on: April 25, 2008, 04:18:31 pm »
Groovy, I'll have to take a look at that.

IG-88

  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1998
  • Posts: 48,764
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #168 on: April 25, 2008, 07:53:44 pm »
Craig. Have you thought about adding this whole nlite thing to your tutorial collection on your website?
"I know what a HAL 9000 is... I was wondering if HAL 7600 was his retarded cousin or something..."
-HarumaN

Excelsior Rocketry:
Custom kit-bash sets and waterslide decals for model rocketeers!

www.excelsiorrocketry.com

spystyle

  • Thanks alot, now I have to build a time machine and warn myself yesterday!
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1414
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #169 on: April 25, 2008, 09:50:30 pm »
Craig. Have you thought about adding this whole nlite thing to your tutorial collection on your website?

Coincidentally, after I was able to transform a lowly Pentium 3 rig into a fantastical arcade computer I decided I will do a write up. Along with Mala, also a super simple and cheap bartop design for new builders with no cash and no tool-confidence.

Now if I only had time to do all that...

Cheers,
Craig
« Last Edit: April 25, 2008, 10:05:57 pm by spystyle »

RXII

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 86
    • Aussie Lowboy Buildup
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #170 on: April 30, 2008, 11:10:30 am »
Craig. Have you thought about adding this whole nlite thing to your tutorial collection on your website?

As well as an .iso of your latest version of XP??

Simon.
Operation Aussie Lowboy http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=68962.0
Soon I may actually be able to play it!

spystyle

  • Thanks alot, now I have to build a time machine and warn myself yesterday!
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1414
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #171 on: April 30, 2008, 11:55:56 am »
Craig. Have you thought about adding this whole nlite thing to your tutorial collection on your website?

As well as an .iso of your latest version of XP??

Simon.

The ISO with driverpacks is nearly 700 MB, that's pretty big to be uploading and downloading. Also M$ could sue me dead (as far as I know) for sharing XP. But I can tell you how to make it from your own XP CD. I will send you a PM.

Cheers,
Craig

gonzo90017

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1014
  • I'm a llama!
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #172 on: April 30, 2008, 01:51:58 pm »
Quote
super simple and cheap bartop design for new builders
I'm looking forward to this.

spystyle

  • Thanks alot, now I have to build a time machine and warn myself yesterday!
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1414
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #173 on: April 30, 2008, 02:01:40 pm »
Quote
super simple and cheap bartop design for new builders
I'm looking forward to this.

That too is not yet done, but PM me and I can send you my incomplete stuff so far, it would give you an idea of where this project is going.

I'm actually working right now... I need more free time!!!

 :dizzy:

Cheers,
Craig

TeutonicDarkness

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 189
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #174 on: April 30, 2008, 09:58:57 pm »
OK, changing the Nlite "unattended" setting to "computer type = Standard PC" fixed the problem, now the computer's power button works in windows.

This is evidence that you can remove every single "service" in Nlite and the OS will still work.

In my experience you only need :

Windows audio
Remote call procedure (RPC)
Plug and play

So what are you guys getting for "RAM usage" on your Nlite'd XPs ?

Cheers,
Craig



 A tutorial or a little more info would be much appreciated!
You actually removed services or just Disable them all?
At what section using Nlite did you try this?

 Also How do you apply the Minilogin?
I tried it a couple months back now just tried downloading
and applying your minilogin hotfix.
It was a "NO GO" Gave some error I cant remember
asked If I wanted to continue.....

I clicked yes completed everything else saved the iso
burnt tested ... no change still using winlogin.

Do you have to have a certain build of Nlite or do something
else to the "minilogin hotfix" before applying?


Appreciate any info.


Thanks,


*** Teutonic Darkness ***



 

IG-88

  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1998
  • Posts: 48,764
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #175 on: May 01, 2008, 08:02:39 am »
He's got a tutorial either finished or real close to it. I've seen the pics. Patience.  ;)
"I know what a HAL 9000 is... I was wondering if HAL 7600 was his retarded cousin or something..."
-HarumaN

Excelsior Rocketry:
Custom kit-bash sets and waterslide decals for model rocketeers!

www.excelsiorrocketry.com

spystyle

  • Thanks alot, now I have to build a time machine and warn myself yesterday!
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1414
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #176 on: May 01, 2008, 08:40:00 am »
It's true, I will have that written up soon, in the meantime I have sent you a PM.

Cheers,
Craig

TeutonicDarkness

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 189
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #177 on: May 01, 2008, 09:15:22 pm »
It's true, I will have that written up soon, in the meantime I have sent you a PM.

Cheers,
Craig


 Got your PM... thanks!

TeutonicDarkness

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 189
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #178 on: May 04, 2008, 04:27:54 pm »
Quote
OK, changing the Nlite "unattended" setting to "computer type = Standard PC" fixed the problem,


 In my last few days messing with Nlite in conjunction with minilogin
Standard PC did not work for me but uniprocessor did.
Got that worked out.

Still having problems with a few installs such as bootskin free
(their install was apparently made with install wise wizard)
most other installs work fine.

checked and windows installer is intact....
can't help but wonder if this has something  to do with
using Minilogin.


anyways that's another subject I'll hopefully work out  :)

fisk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #179 on: May 06, 2008, 08:51:11 am »
I tried using Beast XP on my cab a couple of months ago and removed it because I couldn't VNC into the machine.
I would like to get it working however being able to VNC into the machine is essential.  Has anyone been able to do this?

Also, with Beast installed, has anyone set up there machine to boot straight into Mala?

Thanks

spystyle

  • Thanks alot, now I have to build a time machine and warn myself yesterday!
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1414
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #180 on: May 06, 2008, 10:27:32 am »
VNC stands for "Virtual Network Computing"

If you want XP with all of it's networking abilities, you should probably just use XP SP3 "full" and disable the services you don't need, manually.

Alternately, I just recently acquired an Nlite'd XP made tiny specifically for the Asus EEE internet laptop. I haven't tested it but it was, allegedly, a smaller XP with networking support. Attached is the lastsession.ini.

I, personally, would add driverpacks, service pack 3, and minlogon to it. Then test the ISO in virtualPC.

Cheers,
Craig
« Last Edit: May 06, 2008, 10:33:09 am by spystyle »

spystyle

  • Thanks alot, now I have to build a time machine and warn myself yesterday!
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1414
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #181 on: May 06, 2008, 10:31:40 am »
...
Also, with Beast installed, has anyone set up there machine to boot straight into Mala?

Mala has an option to "start with Windows". If that doesn't work see below.

--------------------------------------------------------------

You can get any program to start with Windows:

Create a shortcut to the executable (ie: Mame32.exe)

Right click the shortcut and tell it to run "maximized" (as opposed to "normal window")

Locate the start menu's "startup" folder

(ie: C:\documents and settings\administrator\start menu\programs\startup)

Place the shortcut in that folder

Now every time you start Windows the program will start, maximized.

Cheers,
Craig
« Last Edit: May 06, 2008, 10:34:26 am by spystyle »

fisk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #182 on: May 06, 2008, 12:29:13 pm »
Thanks spystyle...that's pretty much what I was thinking.

You mentioned driverpacks.  Can you elaborate on them and where they can be found.

Thanks

spystyle

  • Thanks alot, now I have to build a time machine and warn myself yesterday!
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1414
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #183 on: May 06, 2008, 01:04:58 pm »
http://driverpacks.net/DriverPacks/

For more than 10 years, every time I built a computer I had to see the "device manager" and install every driver that was missing from it. I had to scour the internet looking for obscure drivers if Windows didn't have said driver built in. It suXed.

Then they created "driverpacks" - you can download all the drivers and integrate them into your Windows disk, so Windows automatically has all drivers. It is so sweet :)

Then there is "Nlite", another essential tool for creating your Windows disk. You can remove the useless components, or leave everything. You can make the install "automated" by integrating the CD-key, integrate a service pack*, and set windows up the way you like**.

Life is sweeter these days due to these two utilities :)

*In my testing SP3 was much faster than SP2, integrate it.

**Why does the desktop have a trash can on it? Do you want to see a trash can every time you look at your computer? Remove it from the desktop and put it in "my computer" folder instead.

Also, why does "networking neighborhood" need to be on the desktop? Most computers are not part of a network, and those that are aren't accessing the other computers so often to warrant a desktop icon. Remove it from the desktop and put it in "my computer" folder instead.

These are just examples. Almost every windows option can be pre-set with Nlite, it rocks!!!

And if that wasn't enough - you don't have to study all day to see what can and what can not be removed from Windows - just use some smart guy's "last session.ini" and all of his selections will be in your Nlite - you don't have have to study a thing!

Cheers,
Craig
« Last Edit: June 04, 2008, 08:28:29 am by spystyle »

fisk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #184 on: May 06, 2008, 10:14:32 pm »
Spystyle...Thanks for the detailed explanation!!

So let me see if I got this correct, nLite takes an existing Windows XP CD and creates an ISO file with any driverpacks, SP3, minlogon and lastsession.ini applied.  At which point the ISO can be tested via Virtual PC.  Once it is determined that the ISO works properly a bootable xp cd can be created.

Tom

spystyle

  • Thanks alot, now I have to build a time machine and warn myself yesterday!
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1414
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #185 on: May 06, 2008, 10:29:41 pm »
Correct, only I forgot to mention : Nlite first, then driverpacks.

Cheers,
Craig

IG-88

  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1998
  • Posts: 48,764
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #186 on: May 06, 2008, 11:00:17 pm »
And if I may add. I used a version of this on an old machine that I hunted the ENTIRE (it seemed) net for drivers because of its onboard audio and video. I didn't want a full blown install of XP cause of limited hardware resources. And the freakin' thing worked like a champ. I was up and playin with it in 20 minutes. I'm never using anything else from now on. Sucker boots super quick too  :applaud:
"I know what a HAL 9000 is... I was wondering if HAL 7600 was his retarded cousin or something..."
-HarumaN

Excelsior Rocketry:
Custom kit-bash sets and waterslide decals for model rocketeers!

www.excelsiorrocketry.com

IG-88

  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1998
  • Posts: 48,764
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #187 on: May 15, 2008, 05:16:22 pm »
I told Craig this already but earlier this week, for heck of it, I tried an Nlited version of XP on an old Pent 1, 200mhz, 64mb ram laptop that was lying around collecting dust. I initially was going to go with DOS O/S & DOS Mame but coming up with drivers and setting it up was a daunting task. So I tried the Nlited XP with Mame32 v36 and it worked perfectly. I was playing Beastie Feastie in about 30 minutes from start too finish. Now, I will say it's a little slow navigating around windows, but for a small little classics bartop or something it will work great.   :cheers:
"I know what a HAL 9000 is... I was wondering if HAL 7600 was his retarded cousin or something..."
-HarumaN

Excelsior Rocketry:
Custom kit-bash sets and waterslide decals for model rocketeers!

www.excelsiorrocketry.com

amadama

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 201
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #188 on: May 15, 2008, 10:14:14 pm »
Thanks Craig! You are the man!
I was fiddling around with nLite on my own before I even noticed this thread!
Thanks for your lastsession.ini, I will give it a shot!
Me and my Pac-man cab thank you in advance
Alex

iano

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #189 on: May 16, 2008, 10:37:26 am »
Hi Craig. Nice work. What the theme for Mala ? Looks like RetroGUI by Nexus6 but the background seems to be black instead of brown.

Cheers,
ian.

 :)

spystyle

  • Thanks alot, now I have to build a time machine and warn myself yesterday!
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1414
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #190 on: May 16, 2008, 11:01:40 am »
Hi Craig. Nice work. What the theme for Mala ? Looks like RetroGUI by Nexus6 but the background seems to be black instead of brown.

Cheers,
ian.

 :)

For MALA they are called "layouts"

http://mala.arcadezentrum.com/layouts.html

And yes, that one is RetroGUI. I modified it's INI file to make the fonts bigger. As for the background, I don't recall.

Cheers,
Craig

Ninja-chicken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 62
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #191 on: May 28, 2008, 10:02:09 am »
I installed TinyXP Beast edition for my cab. Working brilliantly. Definatly recommend this for cabinets.

spystyle

  • Thanks alot, now I have to build a time machine and warn myself yesterday!
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1414
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #192 on: May 28, 2008, 11:50:27 am »
You can get much lower resource usage than "TinyXP Beast" by "rolling your own", however, if you aren't inclined "Beast" is not bad.

Ninja-chicken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 62
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #193 on: May 29, 2008, 09:45:33 am »
You can get much lower resource usage than "TinyXP Beast" by "rolling your own", however, if you aren't inclined "Beast" is not bad.


I'm so sick and tired of this old machine and it's craziness that I'm sticking with what I've got for now. When I get a better machine that doesn't randomly choose what is does and doesn't boot to I may just give it a go :)

spystyle

  • Thanks alot, now I have to build a time machine and warn myself yesterday!
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1414
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #194 on: June 03, 2008, 09:19:39 am »
OK, I finally wrote the tutorial detailing how I made "MAME-XP" :

http://tinyurl.com/2befhpn

(please don't spread the link)

It should be handy for those confused by nLite and DriverPacks.

Cheers,
Craig

« Last Edit: December 08, 2010, 10:27:24 am by spystyle »

spystyle

  • Thanks alot, now I have to build a time machine and warn myself yesterday!
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1414
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #195 on: June 03, 2008, 04:53:55 pm »
Hey, I also tried the same "lastsession.ini" from MAME-XP on Windows 2000 SP4, it works. Only minlogon is not 2K compatible. Other than that all is compatible, nLite, DriverPacks, ect.

Not surprising, 2K uses a little less RAM and only needs to have 2 services running (as opposed to 3)

It uses only 33 MB RAM out of 196.

MAME32 runs, with sound.

It has a couple of problems though... at boot I have to click "OK" for the username logon, even if there is no password. But I'm sure they is a way to fix this. Also, windows explorer acts funny - I have to type "C:" in the address bar to get to the hard drive... Not really a big problem though.

Anyway, I am sticking with MAME-XP, it was just an experiment.

Here are some screen shots from MAME-2K







Attached is the last session.ini if anyone cares.

Cheers,
Craig



Ummon

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5244
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #196 on: June 04, 2008, 12:57:25 am »
**Why does the desktop have a trash can on it? Do you want to see a trash can every time you look at your computer? Remove it from the desktop and put it in "my computer" folder instead.

Also, why does "networking neighborhood" need to be on the desktop? Most computers are not part of a network, and those that are aren't accessing the other computers so often to warrant a desktop icon. Remove it from the desktop and put it in "my computer" folder instead.

I've never really been into desktop icons, anyways. I've looked into and not warmed to nlite, and right now all my machines are already set, but I'll keep it in mind for the future.
Yo. Chocolate.


"Theoretical physics has been the most successful and cost-effective in all of science."

Stephen Hawking


People often confuse expressed observations with complaint, ridicule, or - even worse - self-pity.

spystyle

  • Thanks alot, now I have to build a time machine and warn myself yesterday!
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1414
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #197 on: June 04, 2008, 08:26:48 am »
Those were just examples, I'm just explaining the level of detail that nLite's customization goes into. From as a large as integrating a service pack to as small as removing an icon from the desktop.

Dig it?
Craig

thep1mp

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #198 on: July 13, 2008, 05:45:46 pm »
 :applaud:
thanks spystyle! I used your guide and created my own build, it only uses 44 MB of memory. Great work  :cheers:
edit: oh yeah,  installed and tested (very shortly ) maximus arcade. Seems to work just fine , fyi.
« Last Edit: July 13, 2008, 08:31:24 pm by thep1mp »

spystyle

  • Thanks alot, now I have to build a time machine and warn myself yesterday!
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1414
Re: nLited XP installs for a cab
« Reply #199 on: July 13, 2008, 09:55:08 pm »
I'm glad it worked out for ya :)

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29