Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: JVL Echo  (Read 878 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

actman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 62
  • Last login:Yesterday at 12:17:27 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
JVL Echo
« on: November 20, 2023, 03:32:16 pm »
Have a JVL Echo and it boots to "sysem upgrade" message and does not go any further. Would anyone know what is wrong with the machine?
I am hoping maybe the software is corupt

Megatouchmike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 122
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:47:24 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: JVL Echo
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2023, 06:16:22 am »
Post screenshot

lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7398
  • Last login:Today at 10:37:01 am
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: JVL Echo
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2023, 10:13:36 am »
a screenshot of what it actually displays would be most helpful.

you can try and do a factory reload/rest by holding down the service button while you power it on and wait for the option screen to come on. (1 to 3 mins)

it may work, it may not. could bork the whole thing if it's corrupted enough, requiring a fresh reload with factory cd or drive image.

Megatouchmike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 122
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:47:24 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: JVL Echo
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2023, 10:45:19 pm »
I don't think he's coming back but the solution was to reinstall the software

lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7398
  • Last login:Today at 10:37:01 am
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: JVL Echo
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2023, 02:50:23 pm »
I don't think he's coming back

it happens.

the number of times i've posted a question somewhere....and forgotten where it was so i could check back later is.... a lot... only to randomly stumble across it searching for a place to ask again months or years down the road after id decided to tackle the project again.

actman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 62
  • Last login:Yesterday at 12:17:27 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: JVL Echo
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2023, 11:19:57 am »
update I was able to get it to boot. When i picked up the machine from the seller and I got it home it actually went to a different error message every time. It would stop on ALSA for ALSA.
That I feel is related to a sound driver but others tell me it is a known motherboard issue on boot. If I reboot it will work maybe 1 out of 3 boots. Once it boots past that part it fine to play. Someone said to check comos battery and set date and time. The cmos battery was completely dead. After replacing battery and setting proper date/time it has booted up every singel time!!!

Phlav

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:April 15, 2024, 10:34:45 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: JVL Echo Not Booting Up
« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2024, 02:56:53 pm »
Hey guys I was wondering if anyone knows if there is actual support/service for the JVL echo touchscreen from the company or any authorized service centers. All I see are owners requesting help on fixing the units themselves and no information on service centers. The company's website only offers email support which they do not answer at all. Very disappointing and unacceptable for a company that sells expensive products. Only the fan comes on my unit and the screen briefly flashes a no sign message that disappears after a few seconds. Hardly use the unit as I bought it for my man cave, so I am disappointed its malfunctioning under light use. There is a counter inside the back of the unit that reads 30 so I am guessing that's the total number of hours it has been used. Any help/suggestions will be much appreciated. Thank you.

lilshawn

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7398
  • Last login:Today at 10:37:01 am
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: JVL Echo
« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2024, 11:54:12 am »
not really. the machines where made by a company (JVL) who has since shifted their focus from "arcade" to "gaming" IE casino gambling type stuff. i'm not sure you would receive any support from them for their old products, since they are considered "end of life".

luckily the touch hardware is standard off the shelf parts right from 3M and other used cabinet parts are available on sites like ebay.

That said, your machine screen flashing up for a second then going away after a few seconds sounds like the backlight inverter for the LCD has gone bad.

you can confirm this by shining a very bright light into the front of the screen and see if you can see any image back there... (see pic)

if this is indeed the case, you can retrofit a universal backlight inverter that is available on places like ebay and amazon for about 20 bucks. you can quick and dirty wire them up to 12 volts and ground and plug in the lamps and let 'er buck. (it's quick and dirty, but you have no backlight brightness adjustment) if you want a more plug and play solution, check out LCDpart.com they have taken it upon themselves to recreate CCFL inverters for all kinds of products like unsupported POS systems and whatnot... they are making products using superior parts and improved cooling to last much longer than the original parts. you can even send them a pic of your inverter and/or a part number and they can get you one that will just plug right in to the original wire harnesses. they are more expensive, (about 50 on the low side, up to 100+ bucks) but you are paying for that easy peasy plug and play experience and the longevity of the product. I'm not a moniserve or lcdpart shill, I have just used them to replace really REALLY specific monitor parts.

alternatively, convert it to LED... not for the faint of heart, as you risk permanent damage of your panel.

if your machine's LCD screen is staying "on", it's going black with no text/graphics...  it's just not booting up properly. you'd be best served creating a new thread with your issue and details.