Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: CRT Emudriver - Non emulated compatible games  (Read 78616 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

CRTFTW

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:57:30 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CRT Emudriver - Non emulated compatible games
« Reply #240 on: April 27, 2024, 12:07:22 pm »
So Mega Man 9 and 10 essentially have "native" PC ports via Mega Man Legacy Collection 2. But something really weird is going on with their resolution, even beyond the forced 16:9 aspect ratio with borders.

I was able to get it down to 224 pixels tall, and you could tell that the vertical scaling "locked" to 1:1, but there was absolutely nothing I could do to get horizontal scaling to lock to 1:1.

The horizontal resolution should be 256. But even with me trying to adjust the horizontal resolution to allow the extra 16:9 space (then essentially cropping out with short timings in ArcadeOSD), it seems there was nothing I could do to get 1:1 on the horizontal axis.

It's been a while since I experimented with this, I just now remembered to post about it. But my best guess from that experience: it needs to be hacked to actually get it to display correctly at 256x224. Hack in what I way? I don't know. There seems to be some kind of intermediate frame buffer being used that does not line up with the game's native 256x224 resolution

I ended up just playing the games in Dolphin, where you can get a 1:1 lock on 256x240 (letterboxed 224p). Only problem being there was likely a small input lag penalty for emulation, which you could probably eliminate by playing the PC versions instead
« Last Edit: April 27, 2024, 12:12:14 pm by CRTFTW »

Rion

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 77
  • Last login:Today at 11:59:00 am
  • 240p, 480i
Re: CRT Emudriver - Non emulated compatible games
« Reply #241 on: May 03, 2024, 05:14:57 pm »
First Cut: Samurai Duel

GOG
First Cut: Samurai Duel

320x180 1X Native resolution
320x200@60 Then Integer Scale down to 320x180
I used GameScope in Linux but should work just the same using integer-scaler









superbike81

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • Last login:May 16, 2024, 01:56:32 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CRT Emudriver - Non emulated compatible games
« Reply #242 on: May 08, 2024, 12:09:02 am »
So I'm messing with this for the first time. I've used CRTEmudriver for a while but never used it to run modern PC games. So I'm just trying out a few games and was recommended this thread.

Instead of adding a modeline for every resolution, I saw a comment from 2020 that said to download a standalone version of Switchres. Is that still the recommended way to do this in 2024?

psakhis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 463
  • Last login:July 17, 2024, 11:26:40 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CRT Emudriver - Non emulated compatible games
« Reply #243 on: May 08, 2024, 01:52:11 pm »
So I'm messing with this for the first time. I've used CRTEmudriver for a while but never used it to run modern PC games. So I'm just trying out a few games and was recommended this thread.

Instead of adding a modeline for every resolution, I saw a comment from 2020 that said to download a standalone version of Switchres. Is that still the recommended way to do this in 2024?
Yes, standalone switchres works perfect.

superbike81

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • Last login:May 16, 2024, 01:56:32 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CRT Emudriver - Non emulated compatible games
« Reply #244 on: May 16, 2024, 01:56:32 am »
Okay so the game launches, I use the Switchres command to get 360x200@60hz, but then the Switchres shows it's running my normal desktop resolution.The game starts up fine and there are no error messages. I installed a modeline for 400x240 for my widescreen desktop, and it keeps settings it to that. Any ideas?

psakhis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 463
  • Last login:July 17, 2024, 11:26:40 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CRT Emudriver - Non emulated compatible games
« Reply #245 on: May 20, 2024, 09:04:43 am »
Lords of Exile

Steam
Lords of Exile
704x448 Native resolution
384x240@60 Downscaled

Here works better with 352x224@60

Rion

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 77
  • Last login:Today at 11:59:00 am
  • 240p, 480i
Re: CRT Emudriver - Non emulated compatible games
« Reply #246 on: June 02, 2024, 12:00:59 pm »
Overbowed

Steam
Overbowed

Native resolution is 160x144 GameBoy
Set display resolution to 320x240
Game Scale to 1x
Perfect integer scaling just like GameBoy Player





Rion

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 77
  • Last login:Today at 11:59:00 am
  • 240p, 480i
Re: CRT Emudriver - Non emulated compatible games
« Reply #247 on: June 06, 2024, 10:28:42 am »
Penny’s Big Breakaway

Steam
Penny’s Big Breakaway

Try any of the following modes that Suit Your display best.
854x480 (16:9 -> 4:3)
864x486
960x480





Rion

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 77
  • Last login:Today at 11:59:00 am
  • 240p, 480i
Re: CRT Emudriver - Non emulated compatible games
« Reply #248 on: June 08, 2024, 06:41:54 pm »
ASTROLANCER

Steam
ASTROLANCER


480x270






phasermaniac

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 327
  • Last login:Today at 07:58:30 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CRT Emudriver - Non emulated compatible games
« Reply #249 on: June 12, 2024, 03:31:20 pm »
Shadow of the ninja demo:
https://store.steampowered.com/app/2543760/Shadow_of_the_Ninja__Reborn/
480x270?
Amazing grahics. The best retro art I've seen

Rion

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 77
  • Last login:Today at 11:59:00 am
  • 240p, 480i
Re: CRT Emudriver - Non emulated compatible games
« Reply #250 on: June 16, 2024, 03:48:13 am »
Shadow of the ninja demo:
https://store.steampowered.com/app/2543760/Shadow_of_the_Ninja__Reborn/
480x270?
Amazing grahics. The best retro art I've seen

Is that a question or did you try with the demo?

phasermaniac

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 327
  • Last login:Today at 07:58:30 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CRT Emudriver - Non emulated compatible games
« Reply #251 on: June 17, 2024, 04:15:29 am »
It was a question because I tested the demo in another pc and did not remember.
But just cheked and yes, its 480x270

Rion

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 77
  • Last login:Today at 11:59:00 am
  • 240p, 480i
Re: CRT Emudriver - Non emulated compatible games
« Reply #252 on: June 29, 2024, 04:27:59 pm »
Angry Video Game Nerd I & II Deluxe

Steam
Angry Video Game Nerd I & II Deluxe

GOG
Angry Video Game Nerd I & II Deluxe

320x224





CRTFTW

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:57:30 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CRT Emudriver - Non emulated compatible games
« Reply #253 on: July 05, 2024, 05:34:24 am »
Update for Huntdown:

This one is complex. If you run it in a x1 window on a normal monitor, it will say 480x270

But I think it will crop itself to any resolution you throw at it, and it seems to scroll with the character to accommodate (sort of like Sonic Mania with the pixWidth setting)

So that means that the resolution listed in the first post isn't necessarily incorrect, it's just one of many resolutions this game can theoretically do.

I played it in 4:3 at 320x240.

Main menu text looked correct, and the game itself looked perfectly scaled. I did noticed the stage end screen had badly scaled text. So I'm not sure if there are any other things in the game that might get scaled, I'll be looking out for that.

I'm also experimenting with Special K for Latent Sync and Delay Bias to get near instant input latency. The game already has good latency but I thought why not improve it further. My best combo seems to be to disable flip-model (use legacy exclusive full screen) then use a 50% delay bias. I was getting a bit of tearing/stutter otherwise. This was just after 15 mins testing so YMMV
« Last Edit: July 05, 2024, 05:39:23 am by CRTFTW »

grendelrt

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 19
  • Last login:Today at 12:06:16 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CRT Emudriver - Non emulated compatible games
« Reply #254 on: July 11, 2024, 10:58:41 am »
Looking for some help, I have switchres running using a bat file and everything seems to work correct, except it doesnt keep the resolution open long enough for the game to launch. I run the bat, switchres calculates the correct resolution, switches the resolution, but before the game can launch the resolution goes back to desktop then the game launches right after. My current bat looks like this after taking some examples out of this thread,

set fullpath=%~dp0
echo fullpath
C:\Users\Arcade\Desktop\Switchres\switchres.exe -s 400 224 60 -l C:\Users\Arcade\Desktop\Switchres\BattleAxe.lnk

Command prompt output attached.

Rion

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 77
  • Last login:Today at 11:59:00 am
  • 240p, 480i
Re: CRT Emudriver - Non emulated compatible games
« Reply #255 on: July 13, 2024, 04:02:46 am »
Looking for some help, I have switchres running using a bat file and everything seems to work correct, except it doesnt keep the resolution open long enough for the game to launch. I run the bat, switchres calculates the correct resolution, switches the resolution, but before the game can launch the resolution goes back to desktop then the game launches right after. My current bat looks like this after taking some examples out of this thread,

set fullpath=%~dp0
echo fullpath
C:\Users\Arcade\Desktop\Switchres\switchres.exe -s 400 224 60 -l C:\Users\Arcade\Desktop\Switchres\BattleAxe.lnk

Command prompt output attached.


All you need to do is add -k (keep resolution) it will be flushed out on the memory once you reboot or shutdown.

Example
C:\Users\Arcade\Desktop\Switchres\switchres.exe -s -k 400 224 60 -l

You could also probably make th batch file that monitors when the game closes and then edit the bat file. But I have no idea how to do so since I hardly ever use Windows.

grendelrt

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 19
  • Last login:Today at 12:06:16 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: CRT Emudriver - Non emulated compatible games
« Reply #256 on: July 13, 2024, 06:18:12 pm »


Looking for some help, I have switchres running using a bat file and everything seems to work correct, except it doesnt keep the resolution open long enough for the game to launch. I run the bat, switchres calculates the correct resolution, switches the resolution, but before the game can launch the resolution goes back to desktop then the game launches right after. My current bat looks like this after taking some examples out of this thread,

set fullpath=%~dp0
echo fullpath
C:\Users\Arcade\Desktop\Switchres\switchres.exe -s 400 224 60 -l C:\Users\Arcade\Desktop\Switchres\BattleAxe.lnk

Command prompt output attached.

You could also probably make th batch file that monitors when the game closes and then edit the bat file. But I have no idea how to do so since I hardly ever use Windows.

EDIT: Found the reason in discord with some help, thanks guys!, its due to being a pre 5xxx series card, allow hardware refresh doesnt work with legacy cards before then.
Thanks, I went this route with using AHK and everything seems to work, but it looks like I am forced into some kind of tate mode (reversed height and width? picture attached EDIT: weird thing on this is that the resolution looks correct before the game launches, its full screen no bars and 240p ish), is there an ini place for orientation? I have it set to to 4:3 but didnt see orientation. Here is my script,

#Requires AutoHotkey v2.0
RUN "C:\Switchres\switchres.exe -s -k 400 224 60"
sleep 2000
RUN "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Battle Axe\Battle Axe.exe"
sleep 2000
NewPID := ProcessWait("Battle Axe.exe", 5.5)
sleep 2000
ProcessWaitClose(NewPID)
sleep 2000
RUN "C:\Switchres\switchres.exe -s -k 640 480 60"
 
« Last Edit: July 15, 2024, 01:56:55 pm by grendelrt »