The NEW Build Your Own Arcade Controls

Software Support => GroovyMAME => Topic started by: toynbeeidea on January 29, 2019, 02:29:31 pm

Title: Can't get GroovyArcade to work in a KVM virtual machine
Post by: toynbeeidea on January 29, 2019, 02:29:31 pm
I'm looking into switching my ancient Windows XP-based MAME cab over to something more modern, so I wanted to play with GroovyArcade a bit, but...

I have set up a new machine in virt-manager, and attached the live CD (the most current 2018 version) and a blank HD image.  I get as far as the setup menus in the live CD, but when I actually attempt to actually start the front end, I get a black screen, and can get no further.  I'm guessing it has to do with my monitor selection, but it doesn't seem to matter which monitor I choose, the results are the same - black screen.

Any advice?
Title: Re: Can't get GroovyArcade to work in a KVM virtual machine
Post by: keilmillerjr on January 29, 2019, 06:18:09 pm
I am using the 2018 groovy arcade with virtual box from my Mac, and select LCD from the boot menu. No issues. Virtual box is free. Perhaps try that?
Title: Re: Can't get GroovyArcade to work in a KVM virtual machine
Post by: newmanfamilyvlogs on January 30, 2019, 09:18:02 am
Are you attempting to do PCI passthrough for GPU in the KVM machine?