The NEW Build Your Own Arcade Controls

Software Support => GroovyMAME => Topic started by: Neilalphazeta on January 17, 2019, 06:09:54 pm

Title: Is ATOM-15 still a thing?
Post by: Neilalphazeta on January 17, 2019, 06:09:54 pm
Should I be installing ATOM-15 as instructed in some older guides (after installing crtemudrivers) for running groovymame on a consumer crt or is that no longer needed? Windows 7 64bit user here just want to know whether this is still recommended. Thank you.
Title: Re: Is ATOM-15 still a thing?
Post by: Paradroid on January 17, 2019, 07:43:51 pm
Should I be installing ATOM-15 as instructed in some older guides (after installing crtemudrivers) for running groovymame on a consumer crt or is that no longer needed?

If you want to protect your TV by booting straight to 15 kHz, yes, ATOM-15 is still applicable.

It's not, however, required to generate 15 kHz modes once Windows has booted.

Some people seem to think flashing the card is a requirement of the CRT Emudriver. It's not.
Title: Re: Is ATOM-15 still a thing?
Post by: Neilalphazeta on January 18, 2019, 02:37:35 pm
Thanks a bunch for the reply. In that case I'll opt to install it.
Title: Re: Is ATOM-15 still a thing?
Post by: Arroyo on January 20, 2019, 07:51:59 am
Thanks a bunch for the reply. In that case I'll opt to install it.

Iíd highly recommend following the suggestion on the Atom-15 installation guide and go the MS-DOS USB thumb drive route.  I didnít do some of the testing for compatibility with the lbios bios loader, and looks like I may have bricked my card by using ATIwinflash.
Title: Re: Is ATOM-15 still a thing?
Post by: krick on January 20, 2019, 11:19:38 am
If you're using a JAMMA wired cabinet with an arcade CRT monitor and you send the signal through a J-PAC, you don't need to use Atom-15.  The J-PAC will divide out-of-range signals to protect the monitor.

But for people who aren't using a J-PAC, Atom-15 is probably a good idea.

Note that when using Atom-15 you cannot view the BIOS on most modern PC motherboards that use a high-res UEFI BIOS.

Though, it's not a huge deal.  You can always remove your Radeon card and use the on-board video connected to an LCD for accessing the BIOS.
Title: Re: Is ATOM-15 still a thing?
Post by: Neilalphazeta on January 20, 2019, 11:35:54 am
Thanks a bunch for the reply. In that case I'll opt to install it.

Iíd highly recommend following the suggestion on the Atom-15 installation guide and go the MS-DOS USB thumb drive route.  I didnít do some of the testing for compatibility with the lbios bios loader, and looks like I may have bricked my card by using ATIwinflash.

Oh my gosh, actually I just remembered that I tried ATIwinflash too and I got a message saying it wouldn't work at 800x600 resolutions or above (I was at 640x480), everything worked fine at this point but later after rebooting I got a dead image as shown in the other thread about the shifting issue. I've been blaming the retrotek but maybe I bricked the gpu, is that possible? Thanks for the advice either way, I'll learn the MSdos way rather than take chances. Did your gpu stop working entirely when it was bricked? (EDT: nevermind, I'm following your thread about it now)

Arroyo> thanks for the warning. I'll make sure I have all settings the way I want them before proceeding then.