The NEW Build Your Own Arcade Controls

Software Support => GroovyMAME => Topic started by: Arroyo on January 16, 2019, 11:40:46 am

Title: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Arroyo on January 16, 2019, 11:40:46 am
Hello,

I recently got into the scene and following the tutorials have had a lot of success (THANK YOU CALAMITY!!!).  I got things mostly setup the way I want, and decided I was tired of turning the TV on and off on reboots.  Took the plunge on Atom-15 install and was struggling to get the MS-DOS USB bootable drive to work.  I usually don't have much trouble following software guides, but no matter what I did I couldn't get it to work.  Specifically I got what appeared to be success from the feedback I got from the HP USB format tool suggested in the ATOM-15 guide link.  I then dragged all of the files (ATIflash and files provided in the links) onto the drive.  When I restarted and booted from the drive I got just a curser in the upper left hand corner.  On one occasion I got some feedback on screen that I didn't capture with my camera and couldn't seem to repeat.  I tried reformatting and dragging just the atiflash.exe, and same results. 

In a bit of frustration I decided to go the ATIwinflash route.  Everything seemed to go fine, and I got the feedback that the new bios was installed.  When I restarted my computer I got no signal from the card.  I ordered a cheap ATI card to get back into the system only to find that I could't use ATIwinflash to get the R7 back to it's original bios, got an error message every time.  It seemed to be able to work with just the new ATI card, but with two installed it wouldn't work.

This leads me to believe I need to go the MS-DOS route, but for the life of me I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong that I get nothing when booting from the USB drive.

Thanks in advance for the help!
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Arroyo on January 17, 2019, 09:00:12 am
So pretty dumb there, looks like my Bluetooth USB that was plugged in was causing the issues.  I am now able to boot and I attempted to run ATIflash on the card.  I have the new cheap card in which Iím using on my LCD display, I am pretty sure thatís in the first PCI-e slot, so obviously I donít want to run -p 0.  My R7 240 is in what I believe to be the 4th PCI-e slot as shown here:

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190117/52bcc3860b8b823ad4a4c2d62be6f94c.jpg)

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190117/67e7d53366283e3f17b512a1ffe4bc2a.jpg)

But when I try to run ATIflash I tried all the slots except 0 cause I wouldnít want to brick the cheap recovery card as well .

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190117/f291b33018d5e3621ebfbb120078079f.jpg)

What am I doing wrong?
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: cools on January 17, 2019, 09:34:49 am
Code: [Select]
atiflash -h will give you help with what you can type.

Code: [Select]
atiflash -i will tell you what adapters are available.
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Arroyo on January 17, 2019, 09:52:39 am
Code: [Select]
atiflash -h will give you help with what you can type.

Code: [Select]
atiflash -i will tell you what adapters are available.

Brilliant, Iíll try that tonight. Thank you Cools!
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Arroyo on January 18, 2019, 10:22:50 am
Well I was able to see the adaptors available and doesnít look good:

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190118/fd0475e062c79b9be13230139f0675f7.jpg)

Thatís the cheap old card I got to get up and running showing, no R7.

Tried different slots and configurations and even got the onboard graphics card to get me into the MS-DOS prompt, had I known that I couldíve saved some bucks and ditched buying that cheap card.

Anyway to isolate the problem and make sure it wasnít a conflict with having two cards in at the same time I used the onboard graphics and ran the above and I got ďAdaptor not foundĒ.

Am I SOL?

EDIT:  funny part is that it shows up in Windows (see pic from 2nd post)
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Calamity on January 18, 2019, 12:44:02 pm
What error do you get when you try to flash from Windows?

Also, when you boot from the flashed card, you said you get no video, but are you sure it actually boots at all? What I've done sometimes to restore a bios in blind conditions is to add the correct atiflash command into the autoexec.bat of the usb pendrive. That way you can remove the other card and boot from the bricked card alone, but it has to be able boot in order to work.
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Arroyo on January 18, 2019, 12:51:50 pm
What error do you get when you try to flash from Windows?

Also, when you boot from the flashed card, you said you get no video, but are you sure it actually boots at all? What I've done sometimes to restore a bios in blind conditions is to add the correct atiflash command into the autoexec.bat of the usb pendrive. That way you can remove the other card and boot from the bricked card alone, but it has to be able boot in order to work.

Thanks for weighing in Calamity.

Iíll reproduce the error with ATIwinflash tonight, didnít take any pictures and my memory will probably be incorrect.

Im not sure it actually boots other than everything turns on via light indicators on the machine and fans turning on.  Is there a better way to tell when flying blind?  What I can say is that I get no video to either my LCD or CRT.  Typically the LCD screen will move from sleep mode (as evidenced by an orange led) to showing a signal with a blue colored LED.  When booting from the bricked card the LCD stays orange indicating to me no signal.

Iíd love to try the autoexec.bat if you can point me to somewhere to read how to do it (after trying the above steps and replying back of course).

Thanks again.
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Arroyo on January 18, 2019, 05:33:42 pm
What error do you get when you try to flash from Windows?

ďError reading from RomĒ
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190118/8a185307723a4a8ffd4c3bc743e899b9.jpg)

This is while booted from my onboard graphics card.  You can see in the picture that Windows has stopped the device which might be part of the problem.
However when booting in with the cheap ATI card the R7 shows working properly but I get the same error:

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190118/8afeeed36296158acafa6113179c6dde.jpg)
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: oxy on January 20, 2019, 12:05:20 am
Have you tried the live Linux boot disk GroovyMame 2018? If it boots to mame your video card is good

Sent from my SM-A530W using Tapatalk

Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Arroyo on January 20, 2019, 07:54:10 am
Have you tried the live Linux boot disk GroovyMame 2018? If it boots to mame your video card is good

Sent from my SM-A530W using Tapatalk

I havenít but I figured if itís a bios issue it wouldnít work with any operating system until I got the proper bios file reinstalled.
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Calamity on January 20, 2019, 08:16:38 am
Try Ati Patcher: https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-AMD-ATI-Pixel-Clock-Patcher (https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-AMD-ATI-Pixel-Clock-Patcher)

This is to discard that the issue is due to bios signature. I haven't seen this yet myself but it's known to happen with some driver versions.
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Arroyo on January 20, 2019, 09:58:11 am
Try Ati Patcher: https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-AMD-ATI-Pixel-Clock-Patcher (https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread-AMD-ATI-Pixel-Clock-Patcher)

This is to discard that the issue is due to bios signature. I haven't seen this yet myself but it's known to happen with some driver versions.

I assume I was supposed to run that utility within Windows.  I ran it (using my onboard graphics) and it said the everything was ďfoundĒ, I hit patch and rebooted.  Ran it again to get confirmation that it worked, then tried running both ATIwinflash and ATIflash, and no dice:

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190120/6beb993064c2aab4f71afeab7f78fd8d.jpg)
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Calamity on January 20, 2019, 10:16:43 am
I'm assuming you have test mode still enabled.

If possible, post your original and modded bios so I can have a look.

I've bricked my cards dozens of times while doing tests but never had an issue reflashing them back to normal.
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Arroyo on January 20, 2019, 11:07:50 am
I'm assuming you have test mode still enabled.

If possible, post your original and modded bios so I can have a look.

I've bricked my cards dozens of times while doing tests but never had an issue reflashing them back to normal.

Here you go!  Changed file extension to .txt so I could upload here, obviously just needs to be put back to .rom
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Calamity on January 20, 2019, 11:41:59 am
The modded bios looks fine.

This might be a problem with your motherboard bios security boot (UEFI), check this: https://www.techcrises.com/fixes/asus-error-invalid-signature-detected-check-secure-boot-policy-in-setup/ (https://www.techcrises.com/fixes/asus-error-invalid-signature-detected-check-secure-boot-policy-in-setup/)
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Arroyo on January 20, 2019, 11:51:03 am
The modded bios looks fine.

This might be a problem with your motherboard bios security boot (UEFI), check this: https://www.techcrises.com/fixes/asus-error-invalid-signature-detected-check-secure-boot-policy-in-setup/ (https://www.techcrises.com/fixes/asus-error-invalid-signature-detected-check-secure-boot-policy-in-setup/)

Interesting, Iíll check later today.  Thank you!
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Arroyo on January 21, 2019, 09:25:03 am
The modded bios looks fine.

This might be a problem with your motherboard bios security boot (UEFI), check this: https://www.techcrises.com/fixes/asus-error-invalid-signature-detected-check-secure-boot-policy-in-setup/ (https://www.techcrises.com/fixes/asus-error-invalid-signature-detected-check-secure-boot-policy-in-setup/)

I donít seem to see any settings in Bios that would indicate anything like the article stated about security on my system:

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190121/b77ec7faad5842c1444113e6683bcbe1.jpg)

Perhaps I can find a way to throw this in someone elseís computer and try applying the flash of the bios at some point, but unless someone has any other ideas I think it my be a better use of time to just buy a new card and be done with it.
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Calamity on January 21, 2019, 09:45:06 am
In General->Boot Sequence, is it in UEFI mode? If so, try Legacy.
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Arroyo on January 21, 2019, 09:52:42 am
In General->Boot Sequence, is it in UEFI mode? If so, try Legacy.

It has that option, but unfortunately it was already in Legacy mode.
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Arroyo on January 31, 2019, 03:24:39 pm
So I got the new card last night, popped it in and it seemed to work fine, but then noticed some issues and decided to uninstall the driver and reinstall.  Now I get this:

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190131/ff00dea557e8bf803492c543609a54d1.jpg)
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190131/ebce5506c9290c5de93b556d3f280e28.jpg)
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190131/676038b04043b0758598717118c329a6.jpg)

 Iíve tried uninstalling and reinstalling including computer restarts in between and I canít get the EDID emulation to show up or the output port. 

Any ideas on a fix?
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Calamity on February 02, 2019, 06:39:21 am
Please check if beta 15 (http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=1009) fixes your issue with the empty list.
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Arroyo on February 02, 2019, 08:57:53 am
Please check if beta 15 (http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=1009) fixes your issue with the empty list.

I am pretty sure that I downloaded that version, as I only started using your tools in early to mid November of last year.  One thing that I noticed when looking at the downloaded site is the distinction between GCN and non-GCN cards.  I'm now wondering if I might have downloaded the non-GCN which isn't applicable to my card.  It seemed to be working fine before. 

At any rate, yes it worked.  I uninstalled the drivers using the existing tools, restarted, and downloaded and installed using the GCN version, and the empty list for the Output and Emulation are back.  I should also note that I had hit a restore point in Windows prior to messing this up.  It still had the blank fields, but in case it mattered I thought I would mention it.  I'm relieved that I won't have to wipe the computer and reinstall Windows.

Muchas Gracias!
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Calamity on February 02, 2019, 09:03:01 am
You can't have used beta 15 before because I've just releases it this morning.
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Arroyo on February 02, 2019, 09:34:10 am
You can't have used beta 15 before because I've just releases it this morning.

Ah ok, I thought it said Mid November on the release date, my bad.
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Neilalphazeta on February 02, 2019, 11:18:26 am
So is everything up and running now?  :)
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Arroyo on February 02, 2019, 11:48:32 am
So is everything up and running now?  :)

Yup, played some last night.  Will helpfully have some time in the next day or two to get more testing done.
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Neilalphazeta on February 02, 2019, 01:07:45 pm
What preset did you go with? Did you try Mortal Kombat in 480i?
Title: Re: Atom-15 with Radeon R7 240 (MSI)
Post by: Arroyo on February 02, 2019, 01:36:28 pm
What preset did you go with? Did you try Mortal Kombat in 480i?

Arcade 15.  Iíll post over in your thread to keep everything in one place.