The NEW Build Your Own Arcade Controls

Software Support => GroovyMAME => Topic started by: Sociopathos on January 15, 2019, 12:58:25 pm

Title: Static resolutions and Refresh rates.
Post by: Sociopathos on January 15, 2019, 12:58:25 pm
Hello, I have a question regarding static resolutions and its refresh rates, whenever I create a mode on the user_modes.ini file, and set static resolutions, the refresh rates is never showed correctly on the arcade osd. For example, the resolution on MK games is 400x254 with a rr of 54.706, however, If I create this resolution with these exact same values, the refresh rate on arcadeosd is showed as 54,734. The same happens on the Capcom resolutions, which is 59.637, but it appears as 59.675. Is this normal or am I doing something wrong?


Thanks in advance.
Title: Re: Static resolutions and Refresh rates.
Post by: Paradroid on January 15, 2019, 07:56:02 pm
For example, the resolution on MK games is 400x254 with a rr of 54.706, however, If I create this resolution with these exact same values, the refresh rate on arcadeosd is showed as 54,734. The same happens on the Capcom resolutions, which is 59.637, but it appears as 59.675. Is this normal or am I doing something wrong?

My guess that this would be to do with dot clock granularity? Calamity will correct me if I'm wrong, but I seem to remember that one of the additional benefits of super-resolutions is increased accuracy in regards to refresh rates (related to the maths involved in modeline calculation and limits of modeline granularity).

Try creating 2560 254 @ 54.706 and see what you get back?
Title: Re: Static resolutions and Refresh rates.
Post by: haynor666 on January 16, 2019, 05:05:57 am
2560x254 does not make sense. Use 2560x256 just like in default super resolutions config file. Perfect timing is not possible. I never had expected frequency in system. Anyway the difference is not noticable.