The NEW Build Your Own Arcade Controls

Software Support => GroovyMAME => Topic started by: Trnzaddict on December 13, 2018, 06:55:06 pm

Title: Erratic frame rate with Carnevil & Maximum Force (log included)
Post by: Trnzaddict on December 13, 2018, 06:55:06 pm
Hi, I'm getting some serious issues when playing Carnevil & Maximum Force on GM. Does not happen on vanilla MAME.

Basically Carnevil seems to run at 210%, sometimes up to 410% %, like the throttle is broken.

Maximum Force has erratic frame issues as well. It hovers at around 88% then jumps up to 105, then back down, up etc. Again on vanilla MAME, runs 100%.

Whats strange is what kind of brings the speed back down to somewhat normal levels is if I enable frame delay, but because I'm using the d3d9EX, I read that enabling frame delay is useless as you're already getting maximum input lag reduction when using that video mode.

I'm running an i7 8700k, so it's not a hardware issue. It chews through MAME easily.

Title: Re: Erratic frame rate with Carnevil & Maximum Force (log included)
Post by: haynor666 on December 14, 2018, 02:45:45 am
Known problem
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,113382.msg1664344.html#msg1664344 (http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,113382.msg1664344.html#msg1664344)
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,135129.msg1394725.html#msg1394725 (http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,135129.msg1394725.html#msg1394725)
Title: Re: Erratic frame rate with Carnevil & Maximum Force (log included)
Post by: schmerzkaufen on December 14, 2018, 04:13:16 am
d3d9EX, I read that enabling frame delay is useless as you're already getting maximum input lag reduction when using that video mode.
Not 'maximum', just using d3d9ex (frame_delay off) means the video is synced within a single frame instead of the ususal 2~3, so it takes care of the greatest portion of the usual unwanted lag.

Then to get rid of most of that last remaining frame you will need frame_delay ON, often at the highest possible setting (requires extra cpu+gpu muscle on top of what the MAME drivers already require for themselves)

In theory plain d3d9 with frame_delay set to 1 behaves just like d3d9ex, however in practice some (heavy) games will freak out and it doesn't seem to necessarily be a matter of processing power, or at the very least it doesn't seem to be the CPU's fault (maybe the GPU is the bottleneck, dunno for sure)

So for those games just use d3d9ex without frame_delay, until maybe future development changes that somehow.
(and, well, use triplebuffer in this particular case of course)
Title: Re: Erratic frame rate with Carnevil & Maximum Force (log included)
Post by: Trnzaddict on December 14, 2018, 03:51:41 pm
Known problem
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,113382.msg1664344.html#msg1664344 (http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,113382.msg1664344.html#msg1664344)
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,135129.msg1394725.html#msg1394725 (http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,135129.msg1394725.html#msg1394725)

Oh...ok no problem Iíll just make a custom ini for the games affected.

d3d9EX, I read that enabling frame delay is useless as you're already getting maximum input lag reduction when using that video mode.
Not 'maximum', just using d3d9ex (frame_delay off) means the video is synced within a single frame instead of the ususal 2~3, so it takes care of the greatest portion of the usual unwanted lag.

Then to get rid of most of that last remaining frame you will need frame_delay ON, often at the highest possible setting (requires extra cpu+gpu muscle on top of what the MAME drivers already require for themselves)

In theory plain d3d9 with frame_delay set to 1 behaves just like d3d9ex, however in practice some (heavy) games will freak out and it doesn't seem to necessarily be a matter of processing power, or at the very least it doesn't seem to be the CPU's fault (maybe the GPU is the bottleneck, dunno for sure)

So for those games just use d3d9ex without frame_delay, until maybe future development changes that somehow.
(and, well, use triplebuffer in this particular case of course)

Ahhhh ok. I read it incorrectly then. Thanks for the clarification.

Well thatís great news that I can shave even more off by using them together.

Title: Re: Erratic frame rate with Carnevil & Maximum Force (log included)
Post by: Trnzaddict on December 30, 2018, 02:29:43 pm
Hi, so I've finally had some time to work on this due to some free time for the holidays...

Even with carnevil.ini with autosync disabled and triplebuffering enabled, now I'm getting a flat out crash from GM.


I have a new log included. According to the cmd window, there is a direct3d error going on.
Title: Re: Erratic frame rate with Carnevil & Maximum Force (log included)
Post by: Calamity on January 01, 2019, 02:16:07 pm
Create a blank ini file for carnevil. Add this option: changeres 0

It's dynamic mode switching what's breaking it (it doesn't play nice with -triplebuffer which renders multithreaded).
Title: Re: Erratic frame rate with Carnevil & Maximum Force (log included)
Post by: Trnzaddict on January 11, 2019, 03:58:10 pm
Create a blank ini file for carnevil. Add this option: changeres 0

It's dynamic mode switching what's breaking it (it doesn't play nice with -triplebuffer which renders multithreaded).

Hi Calamity, sorry for the late response, even with changeres 0 on carnevil.ini, the throttle is still broken.

Is it doing it on your build? I even tried both


Switchres 0
changeres 0


doesn't make a difference. Still running at 290% :( Is there anything else I'm missing? New Log Included.
Title: Re: Erratic frame rate with Carnevil & Maximum Force (log included)
Post by: Calamity on January 13, 2019, 02:13:26 pm
Check this:

SwitchRes: Setting option -syncrefresh
SwitchRes: Setting option -notriplebuffer
SwitchRes: Setting option -waitvsync

You have triplebuffer disabled now.

The options you need to apply are:

-autosync 0     (which will in turn disable -syncrefresh)
-triplebuffer 1
-changeres 0


Title: Re: Erratic frame rate with Carnevil & Maximum Force (log included)
Post by: Trnzaddict on January 14, 2019, 04:21:24 pm
Check this:

SwitchRes: Setting option -syncrefresh
SwitchRes: Setting option -notriplebuffer
SwitchRes: Setting option -waitvsync

You have triplebuffer disabled now.

The options you need to apply are:

-autosync 0     (which will in turn disable -syncrefresh)
-triplebuffer 1
-changeres 0

Hi Calamity, throttle still broken :(


I have made a carnevil.ini with just these 3 options

autosync 0
triplebuffer 1
changeres 0


No difference.

New log posted. Is this happening on your set up? It could very well just be broke in newer builds? Can anyone try this game and see if it is still broke or something on my side?

Upon looking at the log it seems that MAME is ignoring my ini files? It still shows:

SwitchRes: Setting option -syncrefresh
SwitchRes: Setting option -notriplebuffer
SwitchRes: Setting option -waitvsync

but I know MAME is reading my ini files because it I set framedelay to 9 on carnevil.ini it slows the game to a crawl. Really stumped here.
Title: Re: Erratic frame rate with Carnevil & Maximum Force (log included)
Post by: Calamity on January 14, 2019, 04:44:12 pm
Check:

SwitchRes: Setting option -syncrefresh
SwitchRes: Setting option -triplebuffer
SwitchRes: Setting option -waitvsync

Syncrefresh should be disabled. It's enabled because you have some ini getting in the middle.

Start from scratch. Download my package. Unzip in new folder. Edit monitor settings, roms. Command line: mame64 carnevil -noautosync -triplebuffer -nochangeres

EDIT: Or, with your current installation, command line: mame64 carnevil -noautosync -nosyncrefresh -triplebuffer -nochangeres
Title: Re: Erratic frame rate with Carnevil & Maximum Force (log included)
Post by: Trnzaddict on January 14, 2019, 08:20:13 pm
Check:

SwitchRes: Setting option -syncrefresh
SwitchRes: Setting option -triplebuffer
SwitchRes: Setting option -waitvsync

Syncrefresh should be disabled. It's enabled because you have some ini getting in the middle.

Start from scratch. Download my package. Unzip in new folder. Edit monitor settings, roms. Command line: mame64 carnevil -noautosync -triplebuffer -nochangeres

EDIT: Or, with your current installation, command line: mame64 carnevil -noautosync -nosyncrefresh -triplebuffer -nochangeres

Ok, adding syncrefresh 0 to carnevil.ini fixed everything. It could of ignored autosync because I have my mame.ini file in my GM executable folder that is used for all games and autosync is enabled but I have specific game iniís in the ini folder. I thought those were supposed to have precedence over the global ini when mame launches??

Also used this for Maximum Force and Area 51. Everything works great now, thank you so much!