The NEW Build Your Own Arcade Controls

Main => Driving & Racing Cabinets => Topic started by: BadMouth on April 03, 2013, 10:14:30 pm

Title: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
Post by: BadMouth on April 03, 2013, 10:14:30 pm
This guide was originally posted on the old speksnk forums by lucisac.
It covers nearly everything, including networking.

I thought it was lost until coming accross it on a Japanese site that I couldn't copy and paste from.  :timebomb:

Thanks to Drnick for posting a plain text copy.

Here it is formatted:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1KiKUFqyLXt-HcVD_3drWIy9xI-aIcdQsY07bPiy7T2g/edit?usp=sharing (https://docs.google.com/document/d/1KiKUFqyLXt-HcVD_3drWIy9xI-aIcdQsY07bPiy7T2g/edit?usp=sharing)

EDIT: Seems it's been removed for violating google's terms of service.  Someone is a jerk.
IT IS ATTACHED AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS POST.

Not sure if both are needed, but if you're having trouble with it crashing when a game is launched, try installing both these runtimes:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=5555 (http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=5555)
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8109 (https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8109)
(Although newer versions of DirectX support all the older versions, newer computers are usually missing these runtimes)

EDIT: Also attached
Title: Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
Post by: Nuexzz on April 04, 2013, 03:05:29 am
 Daytona Online Tool (dev) User Guide for the M2 Emu :tool:
Title: Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
Post by: isamu on April 04, 2013, 02:52:17 pm
Wow lucisac.... haven't heard from him in a while. That was my dude. Had some great discussions with  him on the old nebula forum. He was EXTREMELY passionate about posting various things on the forum. It was getting so bad Wesker had to silence him at one point! :lol Those were the days.  :burgerking:

Lucisac if you're out there reading this come in and say whaddup dude.
Title: Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
Post by: twistedsymphony on May 30, 2013, 10:47:40 am
Does anyone know if it's possible to get a Model 2 emulator setup to output to an actual Medium Res (24K) monitor? I have a Model 2 based Sega Twin unit with the original monitors, I'd like to continue using them without converting them to 15K or VGA monitors.
Title: Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
Post by: Malenko on May 30, 2013, 12:12:50 pm
Does anyone know if it's possible to get a Model 2 emulator setup to output to an actual Medium Res (24K) monitor? I have a Model 2 based Sega Twin unit with the original monitors, I'd like to continue using them without converting them to 15K or VGA monitors.

soft15 or an arcade VGA card, set custom full screen resolution in Model 2
Title: Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
Post by: Brian74 on May 30, 2013, 10:26:53 pm
ok, I must be doing something wrong. I am trying to get this to work over lan..
Title: Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
Post by: Brian74 on May 30, 2013, 11:18:16 pm
Ok got it going, one machine is really lagging.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

Title: Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
Post by: twistedsymphony on June 01, 2013, 03:59:36 pm
Does anyone know if it's possible to get a Model 2 emulator setup to output to an actual Medium Res (24K) monitor? I have a Model 2 based Sega Twin unit with the original monitors, I'd like to continue using them without converting them to 15K or VGA monitors.

soft15 or an arcade VGA card, set custom full screen resolution in Model 2

Do either of those actually support 24K? Last time I looked into Arcade VGA it only did 15K...

EDIT: ok it appears that 24K has actually been added to ArcadeVGA, interesting, thanks!
Title: Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
Post by: goingcheapnow on June 07, 2013, 11:54:58 pm
Hi Guys, I'm having issues trying to get sega model 2 daytona over LAN working. Keeps saying network board not present.. any ideas? I've modified the m2network.ini to include the below on each machine. Where xxx.xxx.xx.xx is the IP address that comes up in IPconfig. Is this right?

[network]
RxPort=1978
NextIP=xxx.xxx.xx.xx
NextPort=1978

So machine 1 has in the NextIP the IP address of the other PC. I've tried using a standard LAN cable and also a cross over cable. What am i doing wrong?

Thanks
Mal
Title: Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
Post by: Malenko on June 08, 2013, 07:24:57 am
can you ping each computer from the other? Did you turn off any firewalls that might be running?
Title: Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
Post by: BadMouth on June 08, 2013, 12:31:36 pm
HI've tried using a standard LAN cable and also a cross over cable. What am i doing wrong?

I haven't done it, but I'm pretty sure you need to connect both computers to a router, not just each other.
Title: Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
Post by: goingcheapnow on June 08, 2013, 09:50:25 pm
Hi Malenko, i've set IPs for both machines and can now Ping to each, originally it was 1 way but now both ping to each other. all firewalls are off.

Badmouth, havent tried a router. might have to do that as nothing else is working, it doesnt seem to be searching for connection, just does the cancelled network board not present.

hmmm .. .frustrating :)
Title: Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
Post by: Brian74 on June 08, 2013, 11:08:52 pm
Example IP on PC 1 is 192.161.1.4 & PC 2 is 192.168.1.7 make PC 1 network ini 192.168.1.7 and PC 2 192.168.1.4 that is the loop. Make each on look for each other. I did it over wifi and there was bad lag.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

Title: Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
Post by: Malenko on June 08, 2013, 11:41:02 pm
Example IP on PC 1 is 192.161.1.4 & PC 2 is 192.168.1.7 make PC 1 network ini 192.168.1.7 and PC 2 192.168.1.4 that is the loop. Make each on look for each other. I did it over wifi and there was bad lag.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

^This is the next step. If they can ping each other, then they can talk to each other. Set the ini's right and you should be good to go.
Title: Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
Post by: goingcheapnow on June 09, 2013, 12:42:17 am
we have success :) woohoo .... daytona work, sega rally works (Steering in menus vibrates way too much) but others having issues with working so will keep working on those...
Title: Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
Post by: Brian74 on June 09, 2013, 12:54:40 am
Good, glad I could help :))

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

Title: Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
Post by: goingcheapnow on June 09, 2013, 01:14:05 am
Thanks, now just to see if can iron out the few bugs :)
Title: Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
Post by: AMG KC on March 22, 2014, 04:20:49 am
Wow lucisac.... haven't heard from him in a while. That was my dude. Had some great discussions with  him on the old nebula forum. He was EXTREMELY passionate about posting various things on the forum. It was getting so bad Wesker had to silence him at one point! :lol Those were the days.  :burgerking:

Lucisac if you're out there reading this come in and say whaddup dude.
Yes had many a race with Lucisac back in the day, almost every night for quite a while. He wasnt too bad at driving either, he got into playing RPGs and lost interest in Daytona, which was unfortunate. That was probably 5 years ago now.
Title: Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
Post by: sega_mad on October 24, 2014, 03:53:00 am
Goingcheapnow

Just setting up 2 machines now.

Did you need a router to make this work, or just a network cable between the 2 LAN ports??

Would you mind posting your setup, what folders required on each computer etc

Many thanks
Title: Re: lucisac's Model 2 setup guide
Post by: Malenko on January 29, 2015, 04:54:42 pm
Goingcheapnow

Just setting up 2 machines now.

Did you need a router to make this work, or just a network cable between the 2 LAN ports??

Would you mind posting your setup, what folders required on each computer etc

Many thanks

if you manually configure IPs and use a cross over cable you can do it without a router, however, given the choice I'd use a cheapie POS 10/100 router before I used a cross over cable.