The NEW Build Your Own Arcade Controls

Main => Raspberry Pi & Dev Board => Topic started by: DaOld Man on July 13, 2021, 09:48:48 pm

Title: Any one have any idea when mausberry switch circuit will be back in stock?
Post by: DaOld Man on July 13, 2021, 09:48:48 pm
Want the "use your own switch" direct plug micro-usb version.
I have sent emails to them but no answer.
"Sold Out" button pops up when you select it.

https://mausberry-circuits.myshopify.com/collections/frontpage/products/shutdown-circuit-use-your-own-switch?variant=352148009

Anyone got one they want to sell?
Title: Re: Any one have any idea when mausberry switch circuit will be back in stock?
Post by: bobbyb13 on July 14, 2021, 01:25:32 am
Try again maybe?

I checked if they had one for the 4 and tried to add the earlier version too and it was letting me go to checkout even.
Title: Re: Any one have any idea when mausberry switch circuit will be back in stock?
Post by: DaOld Man on July 14, 2021, 10:33:15 pm
Just tried. I need the one for pi3. The "add to cart" button turns into "sold out" and clicking on it does nothing.
Title: Re: Any one have any idea when mausberry switch circuit will be back in stock?
Post by: bobbyb13 on July 15, 2021, 02:39:12 am
Darnit- sorry.

Seemed like it was working even for the 3 when I tried last night.
Title: Re: Any one have any idea when mausberry switch circuit will be back in stock?
Post by: DaOld Man on November 15, 2021, 08:04:34 am
Hi everyone. Sorry Ive been tied up with other things and havent been on here in quite a bit.
I never heard anything from the mausberry switch circuit people so i gave up and explored other avenues.
I found this alternative solution. Its a little higher in cost, is bigger in size, and is a little bit more complicated to set up than the mausberry, but I think it will work for my current project.
Its called ATXRaspi. ATX because it acts like an ATX motherboard power switch.
I still like the mausberry switch better because of its tiny size and simplicity to set up and install.
But sometimes you gotta settle with what you can get.
Now I got to get back on the Jukebox project and here it is almost winter time. I have got to get my priorities straight!
Here is the link to the ATXRaspi, if anyone is interested:
https://lowpowerlab.com/guide/atxraspi/
Title: Re: Any one have any idea when mausberry switch circuit will be back in stock?
Post by: javeryh on February 22, 2022, 12:15:59 pm
Hi everyone. Sorry Ive been tied up with other things and havent been on here in quite a bit.
I never heard anything from the mausberry switch circuit people so i gave up and explored other avenues.
I found this alternative solution. Its a little higher in cost, is bigger in size, and is a little bit more complicated to set up than the mausberry, but I think it will work for my current project.
Its called ATXRaspi. ATX because it acts like an ATX motherboard power switch.
I still like the mausberry switch better because of its tiny size and simplicity to set up and install.
But sometimes you gotta settle with what you can get.
Now I got to get back on the Jukebox project and here it is almost winter time. I have got to get my priorities straight!
Here is the link to the ATXRaspi, if anyone is interested:
https://lowpowerlab.com/guide/atxraspi/

Did you ever get this working?  I'm having an issue with powering my arcade off and on using s SmartStrip and the pi in the "control" outlet.  It looks like this ATXRaspi or the Mausberry Circuit will actually cut power to the pi (not just put it to sleep) which is what I think is happening in my setup.  I have a script installed on the pi and I am bridging 2 GPIO pins on the pi with a pushbutton.  Pressing the button shuts doen the pi and pressing it again turns it back on - but I think the pi is still drawing power because the other devices I have plugged into the SmartStrip are not going on and off like they should. 

Anyway, I'm wondering if getting one of these boards will fix my issue.   :cheers:

EDIT: F it.  I ordered 2 of them so to answer the question in the topic title... yes, they are in stock. 
Title: Re: Any one have any idea when mausberry switch circuit will be back in stock?
Post by: DaOld Man on March 04, 2022, 07:39:06 pm
Javeryh: Yes, by using those two pins on the PI GPIO, the Pi is off but still powered up.
The ATXRaspi switch works great for me. Both it and the mauseberry switch shut the Pi down then cuts off power to it.
Im not sure about using the smart strip. Im sure the switch circuits are still drawing power when off, but I wouldnt think it would be enough to activate the smart strip, but honestly I dont know.
The RPi power supply (wall wart) still draws power too when the Pi is off, but it should be only in the milliamps (maybe microamps). I can measure power draw on the 120 VAC side and post back.
Let us know what you come up with.
Title: Re: Any one have any idea when mausberry switch circuit will be back in stock?
Post by: javeryh on March 07, 2022, 02:53:57 pm
Javeryh: Yes, by using those two pins on the PI GPIO, the Pi is off but still powered up.
The ATXRaspi switch works great for me. Both it and the mauseberry switch shut the Pi down then cuts off power to it.
Im not sure about using the smart strip. Im sure the switch circuits are still drawing power when off, but I wouldnt think it would be enough to activate the smart strip, but honestly I dont know.
The RPi power supply (wall wart) still draws power too when the Pi is off, but it should be only in the milliamps (maybe microamps). I can measure power draw on the 120 VAC side and post back.
Let us know what you come up with.

Thanks.  I'm still waiting on the Mausberry Circuits to arrive... they printed the shipping label on February 27 but there has been no update since then.  Kind of annoying.  From what I have found online, the pi draws 70mA when "off" (shutdown) but still plugged in so it is good to know that power gets cut via the Mausberry Circuit. I do not know why the smartstrip isn't working but I built 2 identical cabinets and I am having the same problem in both so I do not think it is because of a faulty smartstrip.

I will report back once I get things installed.