The NEW Build Your Own Arcade Controls

Main => Main Forum => Topic started by: liquidsins on February 02, 2010, 01:53:47 pm

Title: 1 coin 2 credits?
Post by: liquidsins on February 02, 2010, 01:53:47 pm
im just about to fit a coin slot to my machine and id like it to register 2 credits when i put 1 coin in.
ive messed around with settings abit but what ever 1 do only 1 credit is registerd when i press the coin button (which im swapping over to coin slot)
any body got some answers to this 1 please?
Title: Re: 1 coin 2 credits?
Post by: HaRuMaN on February 02, 2010, 02:02:01 pm
Add a second switch just under the first and wire it in.

(Coin falls, hits switch 1, then switch 2, then falls in coin bucket)
Title: Re: 1 coin 2 credits?
Post by: liquidsins on February 02, 2010, 02:22:35 pm
oh i just thought id missed a setting somewhere, if its not possible through settings ill not bother with 2 credits its not that big of a deal
Title: Re: 1 coin 2 credits?
Post by: HaRuMaN on February 02, 2010, 02:48:37 pm
What machine is it?  MAME, or an actual arcade machine?
Title: Re: 1 coin 2 credits?
Post by: liquidsins on February 02, 2010, 02:56:07 pm
its mame in a cab ive built.
Title: Re: 1 coin 2 credits?
Post by: darcyp on February 02, 2010, 03:03:24 pm
i would hook up the coin switch to two buttons on your encoder, and then set both of those buttons in mame to register a credit. every time the switch is tripped both buttons will be pressed and two coins will be entered.
Title: Re: 1 coin 2 credits?
Post by: Kevin Mullins on February 02, 2010, 03:24:21 pm
Each game may have Dipswitch settings to change the coinage....not sure how to do it across the board for all games though.
Title: Re: 1 coin 2 credits?
Post by: liquidsins on February 03, 2010, 11:35:49 am
ok thanks guys ill try what darcyp suggested,
Title: Re: 1 coin 2 credits?
Post by: Thenasty on February 03, 2010, 03:37:18 pm
just use the same wire from coin 2. Just criss cross the wires. So when a coin is enter in coin 1 (5) its alos in coin 2 (6).
Title: Re: 1 coin 2 credits?
Post by: Malenko on February 03, 2010, 03:40:31 pm
just use the same wire from coin 2. Just criss cross the wires. So when a coin is enter in coin 1 (5) its alos in coin 2 (6).


that how I'd do it
Title: Re: 1 coin 2 credits?
Post by: CheffoJeffo on February 03, 2010, 04:42:22 pm
For my mind, the best way to do it (although I don't know if Bill ever made it available), regardless of it being MAME or an actual game:

http://www.biltronix.com/coin_multiplier.html (http://www.biltronix.com/coin_multiplier.html)

Basically, it outputs multiple pulses for each pulse it takes in -- a coinup multiplier. The designer built it for another local and I have nothing but good things to say about both of them.

Title: Re: 1 coin 2 credits?
Post by: saurian333 on February 03, 2010, 08:07:40 pm
Each game may have Dipswitch settings to change the coinage....not sure how to do it across the board for all games though.

I like this idea more.  Not all games require 2 credits per play, so I would think this would work best.  That's just my preference, though; if all of the games you play require 2 credits, then you'd obviously prefer an "across-the-board" kind of fix.
Title: Re: 1 coin 2 credits?
Post by: Thenasty on February 03, 2010, 08:49:35 pm
well if you're adventure and want to tackle Advmame, the you can do something globally.  ;)