The NEW Build Your Own Arcade Controls

Software Support => DOS/WinCab => Topic started by: gonzo90017 on March 07, 2008, 01:54:44 pm

Title: Modifying skins?
Post by: gonzo90017 on March 07, 2008, 01:54:44 pm
Is there any way you can modify a skin to function like this?
(http://www.hotlinkfiles.com/thumbs/small/1065858_zi9xb/cdbox2a.jpg) (http://www.hotlinkfiles.com/view/full/1065858_zi9xb)

Since i have a lot of albums I would like to be able to go forward and backward by one letter. The cdbox2a is almost perfect for a 15" touch screen monitor I just purchased. Since I don't use the credit feature the buttons would be great there. It would also be nice if you could have a shutdown button, and a search function.

I'm currently using (testing) on a 400mhz Celeron. Seems to be running great. But I still need to add most of my albums 100+ hopefully it will still perform this great.
Title: Re: Modifying skins?
Post by: Chris on March 07, 2008, 02:05:41 pm
Sure.  You just need to disable the credits display (set Enabled=False in the display config) and add the icon definitions for the two new buttons.

I'm at work right now and don't have an editor here to check the exact coordinates of those buttons but these should be close:

Code: [Select]
[Icon19]
x=630
y=180
w=60
h=40
FocusColor=black
ShadowColor=black
Clickable=True
Action=BTN_PREVALPHA

[Icon20]
x=700
y=180
w=60
h=40
FocusColor=black
ShadowColor=black
Clickable=True
Action=BTN_NEXTALPHA

You'll want to tweak those X coordinates so they are correct, obviously...
Title: Re: Modifying skins?
Post by: gonzo90017 on March 07, 2008, 09:33:17 pm
How would you go about find the exact coordinates?
Title: Re: Modifying skins?
Post by: Chris on March 09, 2008, 02:33:21 pm
Pull it into an art program like PhotoShop and find the coordinates of the top left pixel of the button.

In this case the correct X coordinates are 636 and 704, so my guesses of 630 and 700 were pretty close. :)