Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: shutting down mame  (Read 7110 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

rrcade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 127
  • Last login:December 03, 2019, 10:37:08 pm
shutting down mame
« on: February 02, 2010, 02:08:26 am »
I've got a couple mame machines that have been acting up lately and I don't know if I'm doing something wrong.
I'm running maximus arcade that launches from the startup folder sometimes the computer just locks up when I hit the power button on the computer and I have to restart it. I think the problem may have something with the way I'm shutting down. All I do is press the power button on the computer rather than going Start/Shut down like you would with a mouse. Could this cause problems?

rrcade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 127
  • Last login:December 03, 2019, 10:37:08 pm
Re: shutting down mame
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2010, 02:56:08 am »
O.k. I did a search of old posts.
Is it fine to change my setting to : when I hit power button, shut down my computer, and that's it?

Kman-Sweden

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 526
  • Last login:October 23, 2015, 07:29:00 am
  • Up the Irons!
Re: shutting down mame
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2010, 03:59:03 am »
 :whap You could seriously ---fudgesicle--- up you OS or Frontend by forcing the PC off.
Assign a exit or shutdown key combo in MA instead.

While you're in Maximus Arcade, press CTRL + P  to open the Preferences window.
Click on the "Controller" tab.
Click on the "Setup 2" tab.
The last two posts are "Quit Frontend" and "Shutdown Computer". Assign a key combo like Esc+P+1 or some other combo that you'll remember and not press by accident.

more info here ---> http://www.maximusarcade.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=97&Itemid=59
« Last Edit: February 02, 2010, 04:04:14 am by Kman-Sweden »

drventure

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4152
  • Last login:August 06, 2020, 09:44:41 am
  • Laser Death Ray Bargain Bin! Make me an offer!
Re: shutting down mame
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2010, 08:01:59 am »
+1 Most modern OS's need to be shutdown orderly.

That's not to say that they +can't+ just be "turned off" and will survive intact. In most cases, they will. BUT you increase the risk of an important file being half written or other possible problems immensely if you just brute force power off consistently. That really should be a "mode of last resort".

DashRendar

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 488
  • Last login:November 06, 2015, 05:46:52 pm
  • "Don't get your servos in a twist pal."
Re: shutting down mame
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2010, 09:21:10 am »
+2

Please don't shut down a Windows computer by hitting the power button!   :hissy:
WANTED: Somebody to go back in time with me. This is not a joke. P.O. Box 322, Oakview, CA 93022. You'll get paid after we get back. Must bring your own weapons. Safety not guaranteed. I have only done this once before.

markronz

  • We traced the call, and it came from....INSIDE YOUR ARCADE MACHINE!
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 821
  • Last login:April 12, 2019, 12:03:08 am
  • Game on!
Re: shutting down mame
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2010, 11:48:47 am »
Please don't shut down a Windows computer by hitting the power button!   :hissy:

I think DashRendar just means by holding down the power button to shut down the computer.   This is a no no.  If you change the setting to shut down the computer when hitting the power button, this is fine.    Just wanted to clarify that.

Anyway,  I had a similar post a while back, see here:
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=95615.0

In my case, my computer did start to act strange.   Also my Mame config file for all the button controls kept getting reset.   I suspect this was because it was in use or being written to as the power was cut to the computer.      Anyway, I concur with others, you need to shut down the computer versus just cut the power.   There are many methods to do so, most are covered the post I linked above.

ahofle

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4540
  • Last login:September 29, 2020, 12:42:02 am
    • Arcade Ambience Project
Re: shutting down mame
« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2010, 12:06:22 pm »
I shut down with the power button all the time.  As long as you are using a fairly recent OS, pressing the power button (not holding it down) will properly shut down. 
So the answer to your second question: "Is it fine to change my setting to : when I hit power button, shut down my computer, and that's it?" is YES.

DashRendar

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 488
  • Last login:November 06, 2015, 05:46:52 pm
  • "Don't get your servos in a twist pal."
Re: shutting down mame
« Reply #7 on: February 02, 2010, 12:34:33 pm »
I shut down with the power button all the time.  As long as you are using a fairly recent OS, pressing the power button (not holding it down) will properly shut down. 
So the answer to your second question: "Is it fine to change my setting to : when I hit power button, shut down my computer, and that's it?" is YES.

To clarify:

So the answer to your second question: "Is it fine to change my setting to : when I hit power button, shut down my computer, and that's it?" is IT DEPENDS.

If you have Vista or Windows 7, pressing the Power Button (by default) will put the computer in Sleep mode (which is fine).  It can also be set to go through the normal Windows shutdown process, or Restart process.  This is something that can be configured.

If you have XP or earlier, by default pressing the Power Button will force it off - which is bad.  This can still be configured to Shutdown or Restart however.
WANTED: Somebody to go back in time with me. This is not a joke. P.O. Box 322, Oakview, CA 93022. You'll get paid after we get back. Must bring your own weapons. Safety not guaranteed. I have only done this once before.

Ginsu Victim

  • Yeah, owning a MAME cab only leads to owning real ones. MAME just isn't good enough. It's a gateway drug.
  • Trade Count: (+10)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10091
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:11:50 am
  • Comanche, OK -- USA
Re: shutting down mame
« Reply #8 on: February 02, 2010, 01:43:36 pm »
I have the power button from the PC run to a small service switch just inside the coin door. I normally shut down from my front end, but if I have to, I can press the switch to initiate the shutdown or hold it to kill the power.

ahofle

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4540
  • Last login:September 29, 2020, 12:42:02 am
    • Arcade Ambience Project
Re: shutting down mame
« Reply #9 on: February 02, 2010, 06:31:33 pm »
So the answer to your second question: "Is it fine to change my setting to : when I hit power button, shut down my computer, and that's it?" is IT DEPENDS.

Depends on what?  Are you saying that setting in Power Options doesn't work?
Also, I've never seen any version of windows in the last decade that somehow forced the computer to shut down by momentarily pressing the power button.  XP definitely does not force anything off.

ark_ader

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5645
  • Last login:March 02, 2019, 07:35:34 pm
  • I glow in the dark.
Re: shutting down mame
« Reply #10 on: February 02, 2010, 06:35:10 pm »
+2

Please don't shut down a Windows computer by hitting the power button!   :hissy:

Why not that is how you turn off a modern PC today?

If the cab is running in a fixed state like a live CD then killing power will do nothing to the PC - the hard drive has no parking issues.
If I had only one wish, it would be for three more wishes.

mvsfan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 314
  • Last login:May 26, 2016, 08:05:26 pm
Re: shutting down mame
« Reply #11 on: February 06, 2010, 10:37:52 pm »
My basic answer is this. If you select the windows classic theme in windows XP, all is good and well, and almost all of the old Weighted and Filed Dice will just fall right into place, like they always have. Its also always a good idea when you first install your new xp system to turn off almost all of the default xp settings and set up a proper network.

I mean, do you really need remote assistance on an arcade cabinet?
Microsoft's philosopy on everything xp and since xp has just been to turn on everything by default and leave you at the mercy of anyone who knows that.

I strongly suggest to anyone running xp that they spend an hour or two just going through the control panel and turning things off and setting things up the way they want them.

and if your using windows 7, you really need to do a couple days worth of turning off and also turning on. Also i dont reccomend Vista to anyone anywhere. It was Microsofts attempt to leave Legacy support in any form back in the dust and force users to move on.

In windows 7 they have since added an entire code engine to it that allows you to run legacy stuff like Sim City 2000.

Windows 7 is basically Vista, With Legacy support. Also in windows 7 somewhere they decided to abandon the Windows Classic interface.

Ive heard a ton of lies and rumors about it and the basics are this.

By turning on windows classic theme in windows 7, you dont automatically get the classic Win98/Me interface. One of the most initially disturbing things about windows 7 is that the File; edit; view; favorites; tools; help, (you get it im sure) menu is completely gone in windows 7 by default.

Its just gone. Its a last ditch attempt by the powers that be to force users to like Aero.
However, if you check the right boxes in Windows explorer, you can in fact restore it to all windows.

You have to work a bit for it, but unlike what ive heard by a bunch of liars who are selling "windows 7 "Xp Interface Upgrades" for unknown dollars all over the place, the basic Deal is this. It Is all still there in Windows 7. (or there again, anyway, For Vista Users).

i spent two full weeks after i first turned my new pc on, But it looks just like Xp and previous in almost all respects, and ive also turned almost all of the default security nightmares off. also, By default, Windows 7 is set up to perform an orderly shutdown when you hit the power button. Its one of the few defaults that you dont need to change.

For Xp however, you need to set it up to perform a proper shutdown whenever you hit the power button. it is not set up that way by default.








as you go beyond xp, DO NOT bother with Windows Vista at all, its just not compatible.

ark_ader

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5645
  • Last login:March 02, 2019, 07:35:34 pm
  • I glow in the dark.
Re: shutting down mame
« Reply #12 on: February 07, 2010, 04:22:22 pm »
My basic answer is this. If you select the windows classic theme in windows XP, all is good and well, and almost all of the old Weighted and Filed Dice will just fall right into place, like they always have. Its also always a good idea when you first install your new xp system to turn off almost all of the default xp settings and set up a proper network.

I mean, do you really need remote assistance on an arcade cabinet?
Microsoft's philosopy on everything xp and since xp has just been to turn on everything by default and leave you at the mercy of anyone who knows that.

I strongly suggest to anyone running xp that they spend an hour or two just going through the control panel and turning things off and setting things up the way they want them.

and if your using windows 7, you really need to do a couple days worth of turning off and also turning on. Also i dont reccomend Vista to anyone anywhere. It was Microsofts attempt to leave Legacy support in any form back in the dust and force users to move on.

In windows 7 they have since added an entire code engine to it that allows you to run legacy stuff like Sim City 2000.

Windows 7 is basically Vista, With Legacy support. Also in windows 7 somewhere they decided to abandon the Windows Classic interface.

Ive heard a ton of lies and rumors about it and the basics are this.

By turning on windows classic theme in windows 7, you dont automatically get the classic Win98/Me interface. One of the most initially disturbing things about windows 7 is that the File; edit; view; favorites; tools; help, (you get it im sure) menu is completely gone in windows 7 by default.

Its just gone. Its a last ditch attempt by the powers that be to force users to like Aero.
However, if you check the right boxes in Windows explorer, you can in fact restore it to all windows.

You have to work a bit for it, but unlike what ive heard by a bunch of liars who are selling "windows 7 "Xp Interface Upgrades" for unknown dollars all over the place, the basic Deal is this. It Is all still there in Windows 7. (or there again, anyway, For Vista Users).

i spent two full weeks after i first turned my new pc on, But it looks just like Xp and previous in almost all respects, and ive also turned almost all of the default security nightmares off. also, By default, Windows 7 is set up to perform an orderly shutdown when you hit the power button. Its one of the few defaults that you dont need to change.

For Xp however, you need to set it up to perform a proper shutdown whenever you hit the power button. it is not set up that way by default.








as you go beyond xp, DO NOT bother with Windows Vista at all, its just not compatible.

I'm confused.  What does all that have to do with turning the PC off cold?  :dizzy:
If I had only one wish, it would be for three more wishes.

Hoopz

  • Don't brand me a troublemaker!
  • Trade Count: (+8)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5270
  • Last login:Yesterday at 02:30:06 pm
  • Intellivision Rocks!
Re: shutting down mame
« Reply #13 on: February 07, 2010, 04:33:12 pm »
Ark, it's in the second to last line.  The rest is  :dizzy:


For Xp however, you need to set it up to perform a proper shutdown whenever you hit the power button. it is not set up that way by default.


Any context to what that means mvsfan?

Haze

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1279
  • Last login:November 15, 2021, 07:57:34 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
    • MAME Development Blog
Re: shutting down mame
« Reply #14 on: February 07, 2010, 05:45:30 pm »
Ark, it's in the second to last line.  The rest is  :dizzy:


For Xp however, you need to set it up to perform a proper shutdown whenever you hit the power button. it is not set up that way by default.


Any context to what that means mvsfan?

I don't know what he means either.  Everything from Win2000 up performs a graceful shutdown if you hit the power button as long as you're using it with non-antiquated (think Pentium / Pentium 2 era) hardware.  This requires no special configuration.

mvsfan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 314
  • Last login:May 26, 2016, 08:05:26 pm
Re: shutting down mame
« Reply #15 on: February 08, 2010, 08:47:39 pm »
Ark, it's in the second to last line.  The rest is  :dizzy:


For Xp however, you need to set it up to perform a proper shutdown whenever you hit the power button. it is not set up that way by default.


Any context to what that means mvsfan?

I don't know what he means either.  Everything from Win2000 up performs a graceful shutdown if you hit the power button as long as you're using it with non-antiquated (think Pentium / Pentium 2 era) hardware.  This requires no special configuration.

let me clarify this. My xp cabinet was set up by default where i had to hold the power button for 5 seconds in order to get a proper shutdown out of it.
now it is set up to immediately shut down properly as soon as the power button is touched. But that also requires turning off some stuff. also something that i have not yet found a cure for is that if i hit the power button while mame is running a game fullscreen, the system wont shut down properly and it just locks up.

now, with that cleared up, what would i have to change so it can cancel an open game window properly? other than that, ive had no bugs at all with this startup/shutdown setup.


mvsfan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 314
  • Last login:May 26, 2016, 08:05:26 pm
Re: shutting down mame
« Reply #16 on: February 08, 2010, 09:10:22 pm »
Pentiums used the old AT power supply. thats why no software can force them to shut down at all.

anything ATX can properly shut down by software, but it still is set up by default to make you hold the button for 5 sec.

the problem with AT was that it would always shut down no matter what the computer was doing.

The main problem now as i see it with Atx is that most original arcade boards need a constant on/off, non software controlled switch. Not really a problem though. its just one extra splice to give an atx supply a Hard off switch like the old ATs have. But really if your wiring an Atx to work with an old Jamma board, you dont need my advice.