Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: skjukebox vs windows 7  (Read 14854 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

superbigjay

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 666
  • I'll always be a kid...
    • superbigjay website
skjukebox vs windows 7
« on: January 19, 2010, 09:51:15 pm »
Does anyone tried to run skjukebox on windows 7?

Long time ago, I demonstrate to a friend of mine how fast and easy was skjukebox with a huge collection of music and he loved it.
Recently, he upgraded his PC with windows 7 and wasn't able to install skjukebox on it.

I haven't tried it myself, but I was was wondering if someone had any trouble/success using skjukebox on a PC running windows 7.

Jay.

Space Fractal

  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1887
  • Space Fractal
    • Space Fractal
Re: skjukebox vs windows 7
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2010, 03:39:57 pm »
The installation "fail" to install correctly and got a dialog box about it.... But the application ran fine thought (just started it and no crash errors here).

He might need to find and install the Visual Basic 6 runtime files required the app to run (also in the mirror page, like http://mirrors.arcadecontrols.com/Salmonking).

PS. This was just tested on 64bit Windows 7.
Currectly in work: Greedy Mouse || Previous Work: MultiFE Frontend, ArcadeMusicBox Jukebox || Music for various games (Tardis.dk + Greatflash.co.uk).

superbigjay

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 666
  • I'll always be a kid...
    • superbigjay website
Re: skjukebox vs windows 7
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2010, 03:45:33 pm »
Rock on Space Fractal!,
my friend just called me and confirmed that he forgot to install VB6.

After VB6 installation, the program run fine.

thanks a lot!

This issue is resolved.
Jay  :cheers:

SteveS

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: skjukebox vs windows 7
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2010, 05:56:12 pm »
I'm running Windows 7, 64-bit.  The app installs with the 'fail' error and I ignore it.  When I run the app I see it in task manage but it does not show up.  Any suggestions?  I run as admin and allow the app to run when UAC asks.

thanks,
Steve

Space Fractal

  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1887
  • Space Fractal
    • Space Fractal
Re: skjukebox vs windows 7
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2010, 11:22:56 am »
This app have not designed with UAC I think, due the app might write to its app folder which is impossible with UAC turned on....

But the app DOES work this time, but might not do the in the future OS, since I heard VB6 support have been dropped at all (no runtime files included), But let see its do can install these runtime files with the exe instead.
« Last Edit: March 16, 2010, 11:27:41 am by Space Fractal »
Currectly in work: Greedy Mouse || Previous Work: MultiFE Frontend, ArcadeMusicBox Jukebox || Music for various games (Tardis.dk + Greatflash.co.uk).

egosbar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 381
Re: skjukebox vs windows 7
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2010, 08:12:19 pm »
The installation "fail" to install correctly and got a dialog box about it.... But the application ran fine thought (just started it and no crash errors here).

He might need to find and install the Visual Basic 6 runtime files required the app to run (also in the mirror page, like http://mirrors.arcadecontrols.com/Salmonking).

PS. This was just tested on 64bit Windows 7.

check this post out

SteveS

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: skjukebox vs windows 7
« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2010, 09:42:58 pm »
I turned off UAC in Windows 7 Pro 64bit, installed the VB6 runtime and then installed SKJukebox.  They both installed fine and I can see the SKJukebox.exe*32 process running in task manager but nothing shows up on my desktop.  I'm stumped!


egosbar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 381
Re: skjukebox vs windows 7
« Reply #7 on: August 25, 2010, 02:35:04 am »
I turned off UAC in Windows 7 Pro 64bit, installed the VB6 runtime and then installed SKJukebox.  They both installed fine and I can see the SKJukebox.exe*32 process running in task manager but nothing shows up on my desktop.  I'm stumped!



that sounds wierd try a reinstall

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31