Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Xbox 360 XInput keyboard hack (works for SFIV, MKK, SFxTekken, Etc)  (Read 99859 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ak47player

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #40 on: August 08, 2010, 06:51:36 am »
Is it possible to assign the home,delete,end and page down key as the d-pad for player 2, because the numpad seems does not sensitive enough (lack of input display) whenever I try to pull the ultra.

Congui

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 142
  • Newbie!
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #41 on: October 06, 2010, 09:17:48 am »
Hi everyone.

I'm usually figure out things pretty quick, however I've be trying to make this patch work for almost two weeks now, with no degree of success.  I feel so frustrated right now.

I've created an offline account and all my setting get saved, I've change all the values in the x360kb.ini file, I've done the setup just like it's mentioned (all player 1 setting are set to none), and yet the game doesn't recognize the mappings in the x360kb.ini file, which is identical to DeLuSioNal's file (ipac MAME defaults).

I've even used the XInputTest program that comes inside the zip file, and supposedly everything works correctly when tested. 

What am I doing wrong?  Is there something I'm missing?

Congui.

Congui

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 142
  • Newbie!
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #42 on: October 07, 2010, 10:55:19 pm »
Finally got it to work.

For some reason both thexinput1_3.dll and x360kb.ini file need to be in an upper level folder.

To explain it better, my SF4Launcher.exe file is located as:
C:\games\pc games\SF4\SF4Launcher.exe
While the xinput1_3.dll and x360kb.ini files are:
C:\games\pc games\x360kb.ini
C:\games\pc games\xinput1_3.dll

In other words, if the xinput1_3.dll and x360kb.ini file are located in the same folder as my SF4Launcher.exe file, then SF4 doesn't recognize the patch.  Does this makes sense?

I just hope this may help others.

Cheers,
Congui.

Jefferson

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 164
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #43 on: November 16, 2010, 01:53:23 pm »
I'm having a weird variant problem too.  Purchased SFIV over Steam, set it to offline mode (although it still asks me if I want to stay offline whenever I start up.  Any advice here?)  I also set up an offline Windows Live name (I get lame popups here too). But this enabled me to save the none, none, none settings under keyboard settings.  (My Button Config and Keyboard Settings look identical to those in this thread) and I used the mame version of the .ini posted.

Player 2 works great!  Player 1 not so much.  I get joystick functionality and 2 kick buttons, and thats it.  I accidentally clicked into the P1 Device menu and tried to get out without setting anything, but the 'B' for 'back' didn't seem to work. Hope I didn't screw myself there accidentally.

Any advice? I'm slowly chiseling away with the free hour or 2 a day I have!

Also, Delusional, can you demonstrate how to setup the Auto Hot Key?  Thanks everyone!

Congui

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 142
  • Newbie!
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #44 on: November 22, 2010, 12:37:45 pm »
I'm no expert in configuring this game, but I'll try to help.  Could you post both the "Button Config" and "Keyboard Settings" screens, and the x360kb.ini file.  This way, I'll compare your config to mine, and we will see what happens.

Jefferson

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 164
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #45 on: January 23, 2011, 08:44:23 pm »
I'm launching SF4 from:

C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\street fighter iv
(I have both specified files from the zip in here, and in the parent folder per Congui's suggestion.

but I also have another identical-ish filetree setup at:
C:\Program Files\CAPCOM\street fighter iv
(I think this is from when I ran the benchmark before purchasing thru steam)
-When I try to launch from here I get this: Steam Error.  5:0000065434
-but I put the ini and dll here juuuust incase. no dice.
-I may have copied all the installed SF4 files here in attempt to 'get them out' of Steam and forgot about it.

I also put the ini and dll in C:\windows\system32 per the advice of the readme.  no dice there either.

My .inis look exactly like those here. (ipac MAME style)
My button config and keyboard settings look like those here.  They're always the same when I start it up too, so I think that means my steam offline account setup is working alright (I can run an ethernet cord to the cab if need be but it wasnt intended for the net)

As far as I can tell in-game (menus at least):
p1 joystick works fine for up down left and right
p2 button 1 works as 'select' or 'start' or 'go'. It gets me through the menus.
p1, button 5 acts as 'back'
everything else doesnt work or works weird.  I dont know where the missing link is!

By now I've copied the ini and dll all over my damn comp, I'm trying to retrace my steps, nothing's worked yet.  Any help would be appreciated!

skyhonor

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #46 on: February 22, 2011, 01:28:05 pm »

Hi,

I've been trying to get this to work for weeks now, but still no luck. I've searched everywhere for answers, but couldn't find any that suited for 2 keyboards.I don't have a joypad, or joystick.
Can someone please help me create a file that will be easy for me to use. I sincerely thank you!

I want these keys for player 1.

START/TAUNT = F1
UP= W
DOWN = S
LEFT = A
RIGHT = D
LIGHT PUNCH = 1
MEDIUM PUNCH = Z
FIERCE PUNCH = X
LOW KICK = 2
MEDIUM KICK = C
ROUNDHOUSE KICK = V
FOCUS PUNCH = SPACE
LP + MP + HP = B
LK + MK + HK = N

I want these keys for player 2.

START/TAUNT = NUMSTAR
UP = NUM8
DOWN = NUM2
LEFT = NUM4
RIGHT = NUM6
LIGHT PUNCH = INSERT
MEDIUM PUNCH = HOME
FIERCE PUNCH = PGUP
LOW KICK = DELETE
MEDIUM KICK = END
ROUNDHOUSE KICK = PGDN
FOCUS PUNCH = NUMPERIOD
LP + MP + HP = NUMMINUS
LK + MK + HK = NUMPLUS

This may be a buit much to ask for but please I want someone to help me to find a way to get this to work thank you again.

Please attach your file so it's easy for me to use. :)

I have a Windows 7, 64 bit. I've played Blur using two keyboards before so there is no interference or key being locked. If this can be the same for street fighter 4 on PC it would be awesome!

Jefferson

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 164
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #47 on: March 13, 2011, 01:45:59 pm »
I had a very strange problem, but its working now!  At some point, I must have changed my keyboard assignments, as P1 B(1-4) were off.  Everything was consistent across emulators though so I must have just forgotten about it (which I guess happens when these little pet projects take months and months of whittling away).  I just went into the .ini and made the appropriate changes.  Wish I hadnt uninstalled and reinstalled SF4 a number of times to figure it out, but Steam made it easy.  I take back all the bad stuff I said about you, Steam.

ALSO-- it seems I had to put the .dll file in WINDOWS/system32, while keeping the .ini next to the SF4 executable.  Weird.  Maybe that'll work for some of you guys.
THEN-- I discovered that for both players, select and back (or 'a' and 'b') were buttons 4 and 5, which makes sense, I was just expecting to select my character with MAME-like P1B1 (and when I could select P1 character with P2B1, I was a bit confounded.  But that's a documented 'bug' per the initial post).

But whatever, its working!  Took me since Xmas to put a wrench on it!  All characters unlocked thru Cheat Engine!

Here's hoping Marvel VS Capcom 3 makes it to PC!

jimmy2x2x

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1220
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #48 on: March 13, 2011, 06:09:05 pm »
Cheers for the heads up about Cheat Engine, just unlocked everything - nice one ;)

Mickelonis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #49 on: March 18, 2011, 01:21:28 am »
Is this fix possible if I'm running the GPWiz?

http://groovygamegear.com/webstore/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=76_81&products_id=235

I can't seem to get results =(

Can anyone lend a hand?

Thanks,

-Pete

DeLuSioNal29

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4540
  • Build the impossible -"There is no Spoon"
    • DeLuSioNaL's YouTube Videos
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #50 on: March 21, 2011, 06:00:19 pm »
If you tell me what your default keys are, I can see what I can do.  Press TAB in MAME...  They should be listed there.

D
Stop by my Youtube channel and leave a comment:

Mickelonis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #51 on: March 21, 2011, 08:53:47 pm »
If you tell me what your default keys are, I can see what I can do.  Press TAB in MAME...  They should be listed there.

D

Both Player 1 and Player 2 screenshots are attached.... Thanks for your help on this!

-Pete

DeLuSioNal29

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4540
  • Build the impossible -"There is no Spoon"
    • DeLuSioNaL's YouTube Videos
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #52 on: March 28, 2011, 01:38:49 pm »
Actually, now that I look, you have the GP-Wiz40 MAX which is an HID device (joystick).  I had thought it was the KeyWiz40-St (which is a keyboard encoder).  This SF4 workaround is only for keyboard encoders.

That said, there is still hope.  You should be able to use SF4 without applying this patch, at all, since IIRC SF4 works with 2 joysticks simultaneously. Since you have an HID compliant device (joystick encoder) it should be easily configured from within the SF4 menus.   I believe you can set the joysticks initially in the Loader screen under the configuration button.  (see pic)  Then run the game and play with the config options there.  It's only the keyboard portion that creates problems when trying to run 2 keyboard controls at one time.  So kill the 2 files you originally copied over to the directory and try setting up your buttons as if you had normal joysticks.

Hope this helped.

DeLuSioNaL29
Stop by my Youtube channel and leave a comment:

DeLuSioNal29

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4540
  • Build the impossible -"There is no Spoon"
    • DeLuSioNaL's YouTube Videos
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #53 on: March 28, 2011, 01:40:29 pm »
Also, for help running it without having to click on the Launch button, see this topic on how to use autohotkey to get it to automate the click.

http://www.hyperspin-fe.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3793

D
Stop by my Youtube channel and leave a comment:

The Fraz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #54 on: June 02, 2011, 07:57:59 am »
hi guys i have just recently got street fighter 4 and i'm tryin to get it to play two players on 1 keyboard. I have downloaded the patch and changed the ini file to match my ipac4 but it doesnt seem to work i cant get player 2 to start. can anyone please help me???????????????????????

these are my settings on the x360kb, can someone tell me if i have done anything wrong.

[Options]
UseInitBeep=1
Log=0
BackgroundMode=1
PadCount=2

[PAD1]
A=Left Shift
B=c
X=Left Control
Y=7
Right Shoulder=Space
Right Trigger=X
D-Pad Up=Left
D-Pad Down=Right
D-Pad Left=Down
D-Pad Right=Up
Back=5
Start=1

[PAD2]
D-Pad Up=d
D-Pad Down=g
D-Pad Left=f
D-Pad Right=r
A=w
B=i
X=a
Y=s
Right Shoulder=q
Right Trigger=k
Back=6
Start=2

delusional29 ive read everything u've written about this,u seem to be the man :) and tried other ways but cant get anything goin please help if u can thanks heaps.

elkameleon

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 528
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #55 on: June 02, 2011, 10:38:31 am »
This patch worked for me, but I tried copying it to my system32 folder, and I heard the beep on startup telling me it was loaded, but wouldn't respond. Then I copied the files to the install directory and it worked great after that, so whatever I guess!

The Fraz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #56 on: June 27, 2011, 10:55:39 pm »
Hey guys still stuck on this problem and really wanna get this goin with 2 players. Any help would be much appreciated.

headkaze

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2929
  • 0x2b|~0x2b?
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #57 on: June 28, 2011, 12:09:23 am »
If all else fails you could always use VJoy
« Last Edit: July 08, 2011, 01:55:55 pm by headkaze »

chepin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #58 on: July 01, 2011, 10:37:44 am »
Has there been any info on whether we'll need a similar patch for SF4:AE? It's on pre-sale now on Steam.

TheManuel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 717
  • On and off hobbyist
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #59 on: September 12, 2011, 11:56:24 am »
I've been using this hack on the old SFIV PC version and it works great.
A few days ago I received SSFIV AE from Amazon (let's support Capcom's fighters on PC!) and installed it. The hack worked right away but as soon as the game installed, it forced me to do an update (the one that removes the DRM 15 character restriction, allows two keyboards, etc.).  After this update, now the hack doesn't work. The game simply does not recognize the existence of the emulated x360 pad. The game now allows me to map keyboard keys to both players, so it's not critical, but I do prefer the x360 pad hack.

Has anybody run into this?
"The Manuel"

TheManuel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 717
  • On and off hobbyist
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #60 on: September 13, 2011, 08:59:46 am »
I found the issue.  The dll has to be renamed to a newer version of the xinput dll that it replaces.  I am not home right now but it is something like xinput9_1_3.dll or some other combination of numbers.  You can find it within Windows/System32; just look for xinput.
"The Manuel"

ChrisK

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #61 on: March 28, 2012, 02:48:51 pm »
Thanks a bunch for the great tutorial, Delusional!  It worked great for me with my Steam copy of SFIV.  I hesitate to try the new Arcade Edition because this patch works so well.

Thanks again!

TheManuel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 717
  • On and off hobbyist
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #62 on: March 28, 2012, 02:56:49 pm »
Thanks a bunch for the great tutorial, Delusional!  It worked great for me with my Steam copy of SFIV.  I hesitate to try the new Arcade Edition because this patch works so well.

Thanks again!
Do try it.  It has more characters and is very cab friendly.
You don't even need the keyboard dll anymore, although I sill use it.  Also, it loads incredibly fast and doesn't need to have the DVD on the drive (or emulated that way).  You just need to be online.
"The Manuel"

ChrisK

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #63 on: March 28, 2012, 05:51:18 pm »
I saw that you said you can map both players to the keyboard, but why did you say you prefer the x360 pad hack?

mike boss

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2436
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #64 on: September 01, 2012, 08:02:48 pm »
This is perhaps a novice question, and perhaps I'm overlooking something simple here.......but........
does this work with the PC version of Super Street Fighter IV ? I have Super SFIV Arcade installed in my MAME cabinet and I'll be using an iPac for the controls.

Venomouse

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #65 on: September 02, 2012, 12:07:37 am »
Awesome tute got it all working....almost

 I'm having a few Minor issues

I am unable to unmap keyboard keys (can't change to none) even tried to go in and remove prior to dll copying

Unable to assign a key to the select buttons

(I added start=1, etc in the ini to map start, select however wont work....meh solved... should be Back..not Select.

Using ipac 4

(sf doesn't pick up my wifi keyboard, needs USB plugged in)

Ill leave this here in case someone else has issues..but im sorted now. (apart from unmapping keyboard)

cheers
V
« Last Edit: September 02, 2012, 01:40:26 am by Venomouse »

Venomouse

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #66 on: November 03, 2012, 06:21:26 pm »
Is there a list of acceptable key names? eg what would I use for /, ` etc...


Sorted the three hard ones were:

grave is for the tilde key

slash for /

backslash for \
« Last Edit: November 05, 2012, 12:20:37 am by Venomouse »

DeLuSioNal29

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4540
  • Build the impossible -"There is no Spoon"
    • DeLuSioNaL's YouTube Videos
Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #67 on: November 05, 2012, 12:46:44 am »
/ = SLASH
\ = BACKSLASH

IIRC there should be a detailed list of commands in the README file included in the archive.
Stop by my Youtube channel and leave a comment:

mike boss

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2436
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #68 on: November 07, 2012, 05:21:37 pm »
Not sure if this is one and the same, so I apologize if this is a novice question.
Has anyone tried this with Super Street Fighter IV Arcade PC version ?

Also, can one not copy the iPac default info listed in the thread and add it to the ini as is ?
Or do you have to paste the info in the order listed in red ?

I'd love to find a solution for SSFIV Arcade (PC) so that I can play on my arcade cabinet.
I'm using the standard SFII layout, 6 buttons, 3 over 3.

Thanks

« Last Edit: November 08, 2012, 07:40:50 am by mike boss »

DeLuSioNal29

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4540
  • Build the impossible -"There is no Spoon"
    • DeLuSioNaL's YouTube Videos
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #69 on: November 08, 2012, 02:58:57 pm »
does this work with the PC version of Super Street Fighter IV ? I have Super SFIV Arcade installed in my MAME cabinet and I'll be using an iPac for the controls.
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,96377.msg1214295.html#msg1214295
Stop by my Youtube channel and leave a comment:

DeLuSioNal29

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4540
  • Build the impossible -"There is no Spoon"
    • DeLuSioNaL's YouTube Videos
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #70 on: November 08, 2012, 03:01:12 pm »
Is there a list of acceptable key names? eg what would I use for /, ` etc...
From the Readme.txt file:
List of recognized keys: <Keypress>

A-Z, 0-9, Num0-9, F1-12, NumLock, NumEnter, NumMinus, NumPeriod, NumPlus, NumSlash, NumStar, Up, Down, Left, Right, F1, F2, F3, F4, F5, F6, F7, F8, F9, F10, F11, F12, Esc, Grave, Minus, Equals, Backspace, Tab, Left Bracket, Right Bracket, CapsLock, Semicolon, Apostrophe, Backslash, Return, Left Shift, Right Shift, Comma, Period, Slash, Left Control, Right Control, Left Alt, Right Alt, Insert, Delete, Home, End, PgUp, PgDn, Space, SysRq, Scroll Lock, Pause
Stop by my Youtube channel and leave a comment:

mike boss

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2436
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #71 on: November 08, 2012, 04:48:57 pm »
Thanks DeLuSioNal29

I read and re-read this thread a few times now.
Simple for some I'm sure..............I'm lacking on PC know how.
None the less I think I can get this up and running.
Going to give it a shot on the weekend.

I wonder if this would work for STREET FIGHTER VS TEKKEN, or does that game not have this issue ?

jonesjustin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #72 on: November 17, 2012, 02:14:42 am »
I have been searching for hours and I havenít found such awesome work.

mike boss

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2436
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #73 on: November 22, 2012, 07:32:53 am »
Tried this with SSFIV AE.
I used the iPac defaults for my ini and dropped the 2 files into my SSFIV folder.
Booted up the game thru MaLa and checked the options.
The screen is different from the one pictured on page one (SFIV menu) , I'll need to look a lil more in depth. I know the screen has a button config scree and a joystick/keyboard config.
The menu in SSFIV seems to be both in one.
None the less, got this all installed and looked it over. All the buttons were assigned correct.
Started the game, pressed 1 and 2 player start.
Checked the buttons, all work, all work correct, from LP to HP, LK to HK.
LK (light kick) was equal to A and used for A and to select.

I never did create a save profile for Windows, but this worked none the less.
I know above or somewhere I read about needing a save profile ?
I havent taken the time to boot it all up again and make sure it saved, but all was good upon inital test.



Venomouse

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #74 on: December 21, 2012, 11:05:50 pm »
Only reason is when using the 360 controller the game crashes when trying to re-assign buttons..

Fixed (You need to have a wired kb plugged in to stop the button config crash)
« Last Edit: January 06, 2013, 03:42:24 am by Venomouse »

DeLuSioNal29

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4540
  • Build the impossible -"There is no Spoon"
    • DeLuSioNaL's YouTube Videos
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #75 on: March 28, 2013, 01:53:54 pm »
I'd like to update the original post based on the feedback below.

Can anyone confirm that this patch works on the following?
Street Fighter IV - confirmed.
Super Street Fighter IV Arcade Edition- unconfirmed.
Street Fighter x Tekken - unconfirmed.

Thanks!

DeLuSioNaL29
Stop by my Youtube channel and leave a comment:

TheManuel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 717
  • On and off hobbyist
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #76 on: May 13, 2013, 11:04:58 am »
I'd like to update the original post based on the feedback below.

Can anyone confirm that this patch works on the following?
Street Fighter IV - confirmed.
Super Street Fighter IV Arcade Edition- unconfirmed.
Street Fighter x Tekken - unconfirmed.

Thanks!

DeLuSioNaL29

It definitely works on SSFIVAE, and I've been using it for more than a year (see my posts above).
The only difference is that you have to rename the xinput dll to match the ones that SSFIVAE uses.
To be honest, I've forgotten why I prefer using this hack on SSFIVAE, instead of simply assigning the inputs inside the game, considering it supports two keyboards.  I think it had something to do with increased flexibility.

Edit:  I remembered the reason why I use this for SFIVAE...
« Last Edit: May 17, 2013, 11:14:38 am by TheManuel »
"The Manuel"

marioxb

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #77 on: May 24, 2013, 12:17:07 pm »
When you guys say that "A" and "B" are hard-coded to P1's controls, what buttons are they coded to? 360's Back and Start? AKA default keys 5 and 1?

I don't have my cab set up set at all and I am thinking of not going with MAME defaults. Looking in the "cool indy games" thread it looks like there are a few PC games that use non-default MAME keys that cannot be changed, so I was thinking to use non-default MAME keys as my buttons, since MAME and apparantly SF4 can be configured.

TheManuel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 717
  • On and off hobbyist
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #78 on: May 24, 2013, 12:48:18 pm »
That comment was for SSFIVAE, specifically. 

Two things:

1. Using a keyboard vs. using a gamepad (or pad emulator):
For this game, the keyboard can be assigned to P1 and P2 controls, after the game does its automatic update.
However, I prefer using the xBox pad emulator hack because it gives me more flexibility in input assignments when using a gamepad than when using a keyboard (as the game sees it).  For example, to move around the menus before entering a fight, the game requires the use of a select button separate from the fighting buttons when using keyboard inputs but when using the pad emulator, I can assign it to the same buttons I use to fight.

2. Regardless of input method, once inside the character select screen, the select and back functions are hard coded to whatever buttons you assign as Hard and Medium Kick, respectively, and there is no way around that.
"The Manuel"

DeLuSioNal29

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4540
  • Build the impossible -"There is no Spoon"
    • DeLuSioNaL's YouTube Videos
Re: Street Fighter IV: 2 keyboard patch! 64 OS support (no PPJoy needed)
« Reply #79 on: July 28, 2013, 09:23:08 pm »
It turns out this guide I created is applicable to the new Mortal Kombat Komplete edition for the PC as well (with slight differences in the options in the game).  Once again, someone ported a game and didn't think that two players needed to use the keyboard at the same time (keyboard encoders).  It's a shame because MAME arcades have grown so much in recent years.

I tested the workaround for MKK earlier today and it works perfectly.  I'm working on writing up a new topic just for the MKK game with screenshots and such.

DeLuSioNaL29
Stop by my Youtube channel and leave a comment:

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31