Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: need advice on tv for arcade  (Read 5112 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

trendyscotsman12

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
need advice on tv for arcade
« on: August 23, 2009, 08:36:45 am »
hi am new to building arcade and am using project arcade book to build my first one.now i was going to yous a 20 inch crt monitor but i have came across a old tv that is pretty big and am wonder if the prject arcade made out of mdf would hold it


its sim to this http://www.ashtronic.co.uk/images/product/21220109578_525.jpg
what is the best way to connect it up to pc

thanks
:)

smalltownguy

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 908
Re: need advice on tv for arcade
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2009, 08:55:51 am »
That TV looks pretty recent, which means it most likely has an S-Video input. If it does, you're golden. Get thee a video card with S-video output, and you're all set.

If by luck the TV has a DVI input, even better. Most recent video cards have DVI/HDMI outputs that will work.

I'm assuming of course, that the PC you plan to use has a free AGP, PCI, or PCIe slot (not just confined to onboard video). What have you got?

Man, will my cab EVER be finished?

trendyscotsman12

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
Re: need advice on tv for arcade
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2009, 09:32:19 am »
hi

i currently have a nividia gforce fc 5200,Althought am looking to get better one to be able to play tekken 5 on it unless this one will support that.


thanks

ckong

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 140
  • Retro Games forever!
Re: need advice on tv for arcade
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2009, 05:07:59 am »
If you want to use a CRT TV, please search for one with a RGB scart output. That, combined with soft15khz, will give you an arcade perfect picture. You will need a scart to vga adapter (or cable), but that is easy to make.

I know Scart TV's are not common in the US, but there should be some to find.

Bobulus

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 165
Re: need advice on tv for arcade
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2009, 02:17:46 am »
ckong, I just wikipedia'd scart, and I've honestly never seen that connection type in the US. We went right from S-Video/Coaxial to HDMI and the like. I don't think trendyscotsman12 has any chance of getting a tv like that, short of buying one from Europe.

ckong

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 140
  • Retro Games forever!
Re: need advice on tv for arcade
« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2009, 06:20:02 am »
Too bad that Scart TV's are not available in the US. So, we have the better TV's, but you over there have the nicer arcade cabs, and plenty of them.  :hissy:   ;)

gamenut

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 97
Re: need advice on tv for arcade
« Reply #6 on: December 16, 2009, 10:59:02 am »
Hey there,
I had the same issue for a little while. And what i did to fix it was, I went to wal-mart and got one of those "any dvd to tv adapters".
It has inputs for coaxial/av/or s-video and then outputs to regular tv coaxial.
Then the video card i got has an s-video output.
So, s-video to "any dvd adapter" to the tv and done!
http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/EVGA-E-GeForce-6200-Video-Card-128-A8-N339-LX/sem/rpsm/oid/153130/catOid/-13043/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do
That's the video card i'm using.
It outputs to a monitor/flat panel tv-via adaptor/ and s-vid.
The TV i'm using i got at wal mart for $125. Durabrand, a/v input in the front, but no s-video.
I picked up one of those $14 "Any dvd player to TV" converters. It will take s-vid and convert to regular TV co-ax.
 I think the picture is ok, just not great.

But i got pretty lucky not knowing what to buy.

Here are a couple pics to show you how it looks.


Here's one of the FE w/snap


And another


A close up of the snap


An in game pic


Here is one of how text looks.

if i get a chance i'll take some small vids of in game play to show you how it looks.




And now some up dates



I did some wire clean up. Not too worried about it since this is my first cab and i have to take it all apart later anyway.


I did some primer paint on the bare wood.


I'm not going to do anything to the main sides untill i get the artwork figured out





trendyscotsman12

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
Re: need advice on tv for arcade
« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2010, 03:48:26 pm »
hey soz been away awhile

thanks for the info gamenut sounds exactly what a need

Epyx

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1957
  • "You're an oddity"
Re: need advice on tv for arcade
« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2010, 04:00:16 pm »
In North America you can at least find tvs with component or PC input...both of which are far better than S-Video. Failing that I would rather use an LCD than S-Video...or of course a real arcade monitor ;)
Last Project



Epyx Tutorials:
Tutorials

trendyscotsman12

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
Re: need advice on tv for arcade
« Reply #9 on: April 07, 2010, 04:47:26 pm »
yeah a would prefer a real arcade monitor but kinda low on the cash. cheers

Epyx

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1957
  • "You're an oddity"
Re: need advice on tv for arcade
« Reply #10 on: April 12, 2010, 03:12:23 pm »
Then my original recommendation stands...component out or RGB (VGA) connector capable tv. ;)
Last Project



Epyx Tutorials:
Tutorials

BurgerKingDiamond

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 686
Re: need advice on tv for arcade
« Reply #11 on: October 15, 2010, 07:04:20 am »
even s-video will look way better than a LCD monitor.
-Welcome to the Fantasy Zone.

Blanka

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2248
    • Retro Space
Re: need advice on tv for arcade
« Reply #12 on: October 15, 2010, 07:25:56 am »
Are you in Europe scotsman? (you post a UK link).
If so, don't get a WS philips, but pick up a 4:3 one.
The widescreens CRT's have really bad stretching algorithms, especially the Philips ones.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31