Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Dig Dug Restoration by a Complete Noob  (Read 20659 times)

SirPeale

• Green Mountain Man
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:August 04, 2023, 09:51:57 am
  • Arcade Repair in New England
    • Arcade Game and Other Coin-Op Projects
Re: Dig Dug Restoration by a Complete Noob
« Reply #80 on: March 29, 2009, 05:31:48 pm »
Is there any way of checking to see if the noise is being caused by the AR or the PCB or both? 

Paper towel roll to your ear.  Move it around.  When it's loudest, you have your culprit.

Rimshot!

And to think I almost ran upstairs to the kitchen to find said paper towel roll...

I'm beginning to wonder if I wouldn't be better off buying a GO7 monitor like what is supposed to be in the Dig Dug in the first place and finding a PCB that isn't jacked up as much as mine.  I can see a Dig Dug image burned into the monitor, but I'll be damned as to how they got an image to the monitor in the first place with the wiring the way it is now.  I've got a Joust project much further along than this Dig Dug project and I'm thinking about switching to that for awhile.

Erm...I was serious.  It's a common technique to find mystery noise locations.