Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: system 1 connector housings  (Read 1612 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

grbgemen

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 145
system 1 connector housings
« on: November 05, 2008, 03:53:56 pm »
so awhile ago i posted about the Gottlieb Sinbad machine that i bought.  ordered new pins to repin the connectors.  my problem is that im having so much trouble getting the old pins out of the housings.  i did one small connector a few months ago and it took me all afternoon to do like 8 pins.  a couple of them actually broke inside the housing and was a ---smurf--- to get out.  i got away with the pinball working mostly until now.  now you add a credit and the game resets and blinks the high score.  sometimes you can get a few hundred points until it quits.

my question is, can you buy new replacement housings some place?  ive looked and i found some but they dont look like the ones that attach to the circuit boards...the edge connectors i guess there called.  they all appear to be the type of connectors that attach to the header pins on the PSU.

EDIT: please dont tell me this is the only place that carries them.  these prices are crazy.

http://www.docentelectronics.com/AmusementGames/Pinball/Gottlieb/System%20One.htm
« Last Edit: November 05, 2008, 04:04:24 pm by grbgemen »

Cyberflexx

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 175
Re: system 1 connector housings
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2008, 04:54:39 pm »
I didnt want to go through the hassel of re-pinning so I bought a cable already made up.  Got it for $25.00 free shipping from http://www.bostonpinballcompany.com/system1cable.htm 

I havent received it yet.. I just bought it today..

grbgemen

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 145
Re: system 1 connector housings
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2008, 05:16:29 pm »
yea ive seen those.  still have to replace the rest of the pins in the other connectors though.

anyways, it looks like this site has some housings:

http://www.greatplainselectronics.com/products.asp?cat=37&pg=1

the ID numbers are molex ID's.  i did find them on the molex site also.


still not sure if they are the same.  thought the connectors in my machine had little slots that sat in grooves on the boards.   

edit: just looked at connector a3-j5 on the driver board.  it goes 0000 0000 0000 000 0000.  each space is a little divider in the housing.  are these special housings or do the ones from molex have the same dividers?

also, the pin seems to be playing fine now.  its gotta be the pins dont it?  i did a quick check for broken diodes/bad solder joints on the coils and didnt see anything.

edit2:  i must be blind.  right on the molex site, it says where the ribs are at.    :laugh2:
« Last Edit: November 05, 2008, 05:46:40 pm by grbgemen »

grbgemen

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 145
Re: system 1 connector housings
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2008, 06:57:53 pm »
well i got the molex part numbers but i cant find any distributors who carry them.  that great planes link that i posted has a few of the connectors but not all of the ones required.   :banghead:

shardian

  • Saint is the evil mastermind
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9218
  • Friends don't let friends build frankenpanels...
Re: system 1 connector housings
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2008, 07:28:25 am »
What tool are you using to remove the pins? That job is next to impossible without the right tool, and even then it can be a pain.

What you need is a small jewelers flat blade screwdriver. The you grind the sides down to flat so it fits better, and doesn't tear up the housing. You shove it down into the back and twist left, then right. This should bend in the tiny 'catch' that keeps the pin in the casing. Then the pin should slide right out. Once you get the pattern down it goes fairly quick.

grbgemen

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 145
Re: system 1 connector housings
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2008, 02:47:32 pm »
well i had a pin removal tool but it wasnt for these types of connectors.  anyways it broke and other than that, i was just using whatever i could find that would fit in the slot. 

anyways, i do have a jewels flat head screw driver.  will see what i can do.

shardian

  • Saint is the evil mastermind
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9218
  • Friends don't let friends build frankenpanels...
Re: system 1 connector housings
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2008, 02:49:43 pm »
It has to be the SMALL one.


And to give you an idea of how I came to settle on the right solution - I originally was using large safety pins! Now THAT was a pain in the butt.

Paul Olson

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1226
    • Paul's Arcade
Re: system 1 connector housings
« Reply #7 on: November 07, 2008, 10:34:50 am »
http://bigdaddy-enterprises.com/

Email to find out what he has in stock. I just checked and he had the connectors for the power supply board.

grbgemen

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 145
Re: system 1 connector housings
« Reply #8 on: November 07, 2008, 12:30:22 pm »
well i used my fathers grinder on a jewelers screw driver last night but ended up leaving it at my parents so couldnt try it out.  will see how it works out later today.

grbgemen

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 145
Re: system 1 connector housings
« Reply #9 on: November 07, 2008, 06:23:28 pm »
wow, that worked perfect.  i only had time to do one small connector.  had 5 wires in it.  did it in less than 5 minutes.   :applaud:  :cheers:

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6736
  • Technician
Re: system 1 connector housings
« Reply #10 on: November 17, 2014, 12:44:03 am »
Updating this old thread. The Gottlieb system 1 connector housings are now at this updated link:

https://www.greatplainselectronics.com/products.asp?cat=77

Remember, some of them are no longer manufactured so stock up.

Fursphere

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1056
Re: system 1 connector housings
« Reply #11 on: December 07, 2014, 08:01:33 pm »
I took a small flat head screwdriver that almost fit in the connector housing, then stuck it on the bench grinder and removed material until it fit.  (width wise)

Its worked great so far (I've done two system 80s...  every.gosh.darn.pin on a Black Hole and a Volcano), but its still a total pain.  There is no good way to do this - but you should only have to do it once the entire time you own the thing.   :dunno

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31