Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: SimpleTouch FE  (Read 36315 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Lave Laar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
    • Freeware arcade related programs
SimpleTouch FE
« on: July 28, 2008, 05:55:02 pm »
I've released a new version 0.95 of this program.
It's a FE designed to run on a touch screen, but can be used with a mouse as well.
New in this version:

* Added the ability to have up to 10 different configs and choose between them by clicking an image in the FE.
* Added an option to display a page indicator label.
* Added an option to have a page indicator image.
* Added sound-effects to the backward, forward and game start events.
* Added the option to have a mp3-file play in the background while browsing the games.
* Added support for animated gif images. Both for the display images and the control images.
* Added support for dragging and dropping game config-files from one config to one of the other.
* Added code to prevent the user from clicking the images once a game is started.

Download at: http://home.online.no/~llindga/Programs/STFE095.zip
« Last Edit: November 01, 2008, 06:23:41 pm by Lave Laar »

squirrellydw

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1584
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2008, 08:56:27 pm »
Does this have TABS at the top for different categories like the last image posted in the other thread?
I b**ch. People listen!!

Lave Laar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
    • Freeware arcade related programs
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2008, 04:44:32 am »
You can create your own tabs by replacing the images in the "skins\<SkinName>\ConfigImages". 
The images in the "active" folder are displayed when you select a config and the images in the "inactive" folder when it's deselected.
The included skin has just black and white numbers, but I see no reason why you should not be able to make it look like the the last posted image.

Neilyboy

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 498
  • what day is it...
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2008, 07:57:31 am »
very nice man im excited to see a few skins released for this. maybe someone can clone a megatouch skin.. good stuff lave laar

Neil

squirrellydw

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1584
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2008, 08:57:03 am »
any chance you can post some pictures of what it looks like, skin and config?
I b**ch. People listen!!

Neilyboy

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 498
  • what day is it...
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2008, 03:28:49 pm »
this is very cool man. I have been playing a bit in photoshop.. I think your proggie will work very well for a skin somewhat like megatouch.. im just doodling around here but I created this so far if anyone wants the psd just msg me..



Neil
« Last Edit: July 29, 2008, 04:37:12 pm by Neilyboy »

Lave Laar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
    • Freeware arcade related programs
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2008, 05:28:42 pm »
any chance you can post some pictures of what it looks like, skin and config?
I'm NO good at graphics, but this is how the default skin looks with the tabs at the bottom. They can be placed anywhere though.




There were a couple of bugs in the last version, so I've released a new one.
New in this version:

* Fixed a bug in the drag and drop code.
* Moved the font setting to the skin.
* Added the option to select number of images and config-images to the skin mode.
* Added code to make the skin mode easier to use.
* Added an option to hide all labels.
* Changed the default skin to use animated gifs for the controls.

Download: http://home.online.no/~llindga/Programs/STFE096.zip

squirrellydw

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1584
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2008, 06:25:38 pm »
this is very cool man. I have been playing a bit in photoshop.. I think your proggie will work very well for a skin somewhat like megatouch.. im just doodling around here but I created this so far if anyone wants the psd just msg me..
Neil
Very nice, how about a CARD, FAVORITE and ALL section?
I b**ch. People listen!!

squirrellydw

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1584
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2008, 09:25:43 pm »
can this also support video previews?
I b**ch. People listen!!

Space Fractal

  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1887
  • Space Fractal
    • Space Fractal
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2008, 02:58:00 am »
Nice skin, The main problem is there is a lots of genres, but like how use use them. You might need to change them into a screenshot like type to work better for most FEs here. But I do NOT have tried.

Do this FE have a name? I like to update the wiki to begin to include touchscreen fe's (even they does not support mame).

squirrellydw: I promice you did have some trouble with MultiFE, since I diddent hear from you (I do understand if you use barcrests or this one), but howover I do not want to hijack this thread about mine. so...
Currectly in work: Greedy Mouse || Previous Work: MultiFE Frontend, ArcadeMusicBox Jukebox || Music for various games (Tardis.dk + Greatflash.co.uk).

squirrellydw

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1584
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2008, 09:21:34 am »
Space, still trying them all out, right now I am leaning towards this one since barry hasn't had time to work on his.  He is fixing freebox bugs so that is always a good thing.  I think Simple FE might be the winner.
I b**ch. People listen!!

Space Fractal

  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1887
  • Space Fractal
    • Space Fractal
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #11 on: July 30, 2008, 09:57:51 am »
I understand he want to use his time fixing freebox bugs (his flagship), and this touchscreen FE running PC games is a very good alternative.

I think we should add PC Games only FE to the wiki.

But good work elsewice, both to Lava Laar and the cool skin from Neilyboy, which gould been used as a default skin. Its very "touchy".



Currectly in work: Greedy Mouse || Previous Work: MultiFE Frontend, ArcadeMusicBox Jukebox || Music for various games (Tardis.dk + Greatflash.co.uk).

Lave Laar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
    • Freeware arcade related programs
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #12 on: July 30, 2008, 04:36:49 pm »
this is very cool man. I have been playing a bit in photoshop.. I think your proggie will work very well for a skin somewhat like megatouch.. im just doodling around here but I created this so far if anyone wants the psd just msg me..
Neil

Sorry I didn't reply to this before.  That skin looks awesome.  Have you tried to actually use those graphics in the FE ?
The way it's right now it probably won't work as the transparency doesn't work properly for gifs and jpgs.  I do got PNG-support added for the next release and it looks so much better.

@Space Fractal: The name of the frontend is "Simple Touch FE".  Maybe I should change it to "SimpleTouch FE" ?

Space Fractal

  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1887
  • Space Fractal
    • Space Fractal
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #13 on: July 30, 2008, 04:56:04 pm »
Personal  I property prefer SimpleTouch FE.

This is howover not a mame frontend, but it still a frontend for PC games.
Currectly in work: Greedy Mouse || Previous Work: MultiFE Frontend, ArcadeMusicBox Jukebox || Music for various games (Tardis.dk + Greatflash.co.uk).

squirrellydw

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1584
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #14 on: July 30, 2008, 09:58:02 pm »
if you can add support for video previews I think this will be perfect.  I tried it last night and it worked very well
I b**ch. People listen!!

Lave Laar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
    • Freeware arcade related programs
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #15 on: July 31, 2008, 11:16:04 am »
How do you see the video preview implemented ?  I'm not sure if it's possible to have 12 videos running at the same time.

I've changed the code a bit so now it's not necessary to have an image for each active/inactive image for each config.  One will simply be able to use those as hot-spots.  So the background can contain all the images for the configs.  If needed one can still create images for the active state, but then it will only be necessary to change a portion of the image.  When deselected if will just clear the image.  The current method with active/inactive images will still work though, if preferred.

youki

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1612
  • Atomic Front End Creator
    • Atomic Front End
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #16 on: July 31, 2008, 12:09:30 pm »
Quote
How do you see the video preview implemented ?  I'm not sure if it's possible to have 12 videos running at the same time.

Yes, it is perfectly possible.  In what language do you code?




squirrellydw

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1584
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #17 on: July 31, 2008, 01:37:42 pm »
I would just like to be able to have either a snap shot or video if one is available.  So have the option to have both but only one show up.
I b**ch. People listen!!

Lave Laar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
    • Freeware arcade related programs
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #18 on: July 31, 2008, 07:41:52 pm »
Yes, it is perfectly possible.  In what language do you code?

I use Delphi.  I looked briefly at using the TMediaPlayer, but had problems with playing more than one video at once.
Any help on this would be appreciated.

bishmasterb

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 390
  • Pressing the limits of my wife's patience...
    • Bishopzone
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #19 on: July 31, 2008, 11:27:00 pm »
Lars,

Awesome work on the front end, it's shaping up very nicely! I've attached some screenshots below of the skin I'm working up for mine (if anyone wants the images and PSDs, just PM me).

A few questions:

1) Can you add a feature allowing the user to associate a program with the poweroff image? When the poweroff image is pressed, this would shutdown the application as normal, but also launch a program. The user could launch a program for instance that would shutdown Windows or put the computer to sleep.

2) The sounds you've added are great. Can you also add the ability to associate a sound with changing configs?

3) There is some image flicker when changing configs. The background image briefly becomes visible where the config image would normally be. This is pretty minor, but would be nice if there wasn't any flicker.

I haven't put together pagenumber images for the separate configs yet, but it looks like you set it up perfectly. I'll post some images when I get this done.

Again, thanks for all your work!
"We have just enough religion to make us hate, but not enough to make us love one another." -Jonathan Swift

squirrellydw

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1584
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #20 on: July 31, 2008, 11:46:26 pm »
would also be nice if the power off could be PIN protected.  That way there is no chance someone could power it off, maybe have it set to a 4 digit PIN
I b**ch. People listen!!

bishmasterb

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 390
  • Pressing the limits of my wife's patience...
    • Bishopzone
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #21 on: August 01, 2008, 01:54:32 am »
would also be nice if the power off could be PIN protected.  That way there is no chance someone could power it off, maybe have it set to a 4 digit PIN
Yeah, I could definitely see the poweroff image getting accidentally pressed all the time.

A simpler solution might be to require that the poweroff image be pressed (held down) for a few seconds before being activated. This would remove the possibility of someone accidentally tapping on it.
"We have just enough religion to make us hate, but not enough to make us love one another." -Jonathan Swift

Lave Laar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
    • Freeware arcade related programs
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #22 on: August 01, 2008, 08:30:31 am »
New version released:

* Added support for PNG-files
* Changed all control-images/hardcoded image names to use PNG-files instead of JPG
* Added support for running a program on poweroff
* Added an option to set a delay for shutting down the FE
* Added an option to hide the poweroff image (It can still be clicked,  but you will have to know the position of the image)
* Added a sound-effect to the change config event.
* Moved the numbers-folder away from the skin
* Fixed the flickering problem

I still have to look some more at the video-previews.

Download : http://home.online.no/~llindga/Programs/STFE097.zip
« Last Edit: August 01, 2008, 08:37:04 am by Lave Laar »

Goz

  • KOTA
  • Trade Count: (+10)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3434
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #23 on: August 01, 2008, 10:01:06 am »
Instead of movie previews since I assume there wouldn't be that many games on a touch screen would it make more sense to have the previews be animated GIFS?

squirrellydw

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1584
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #24 on: August 01, 2008, 10:32:24 am »
no, I have over 200 touch screen games and at least 50 of these have video previews.  I believe they are avi
I b**ch. People listen!!

Space Fractal

  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1887
  • Space Fractal
    • Space Fractal
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #25 on: August 01, 2008, 02:53:45 pm »
I gonna to thinck this would take to much CPU and harddrive power for 12 simulations play? I cant see it make sence here and many propent cant use that feature without slowdown? But support for multiply screenshots would been nice.
Currectly in work: Greedy Mouse || Previous Work: MultiFE Frontend, ArcadeMusicBox Jukebox || Music for various games (Tardis.dk + Greatflash.co.uk).

bishmasterb

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 390
  • Pressing the limits of my wife's patience...
    • Bishopzone
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #26 on: August 01, 2008, 02:59:08 pm »
I'm trying to use the new version (.97), but when I move my skin from .96 over (by moving the skin/default folder" I get the following error when starting STFE.EXE:

"Access violation at address 00471127 in module 'STFE.exe'. Read of address 000001F0."

So I tried moving graphic files over individually as a test. I replaced the new background.png file with my background.jpg file, and then get an error when starting that the "background.gif" image can't be located.

It still seems to support JPEGs for the game images, but not for the background. And I don't know what's causing the access violation when the entire skin is moved over.
"We have just enough religion to make us hate, but not enough to make us love one another." -Jonathan Swift

squirrellydw

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1584
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #27 on: August 01, 2008, 03:01:03 pm »
yeah you might be right but he could add it if it isn't a lot of work and I could test it out.  No biggie
I b**ch. People listen!!

Goz

  • KOTA
  • Trade Count: (+10)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3434
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #28 on: August 01, 2008, 03:26:12 pm »
no, I have over 200 touch screen games and at least 50 of these have video previews.  I believe they are avi

I have over 200 touch screen games as well. There are batch AVI to animated GIF converters. The hardware requirements for 12 even small AVI's playing per page wouldn't be the most friendly.

Space Fractal

  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1887
  • Space Fractal
    • Space Fractal
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #29 on: August 01, 2008, 03:46:01 pm »
Just convert jpg to png. There is no loss in quality. Its only the other way the picture quality can been lost a bit. But it could been easy to fix that bug. I gues it only check that file and forget jpg versionen?

I do can't see any problem to add video playback and the test how it going (and then removing the sound on all movie files). But I myself might prefer animatid GIF, even there is some color lost on them. I doubt the high requirement.


[offtypic]
Video playback in MultiFE is not possible, due blitzmax limits and is not portable between Linux and WIndows (but I could mightbeen support animatid gif, since video preview is not required to have any sound).

BTW can anyone start a new thread about touchscreen games (the only one I known is ClickBeat)? There is threads for cabinet frendly games, but not for touchscreen.
Currectly in work: Greedy Mouse || Previous Work: MultiFE Frontend, ArcadeMusicBox Jukebox || Music for various games (Tardis.dk + Greatflash.co.uk).

Lave Laar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
    • Freeware arcade related programs
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #30 on: August 01, 2008, 04:06:45 pm »
So I tried moving graphic files over individually as a test. I replaced the new background.png file with my background.jpg file, and then get an error when starting that the "background.gif" image can't be located.

I had changed the code to look for "background.png" and then "background.gif".  If neither was found then you get the error you got.
I've changed this in the new version so that it will use the first image with the name "background".  E.g "background.gif"  before "background.jpg" etc.
This goes for all other images as well.

In addition there was a bug that caused stfe.exe to use a lot of cpu-power after it launched a program.  This is fixed as well.

New version here : http://home.online.no/~llindga/Programs/STFE098.zip

Space Fractal

  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1887
  • Space Fractal
    • Space Fractal
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #31 on: August 01, 2008, 04:13:57 pm »
- Added an option to hide the poweroff image (It can still be clicked,  but you will have to know the position of the image)

I dosent like that idea. People find that posistion sooner or later. The pincode is that way to go.

The pincode screen could just show numbers (created like a regular snapshot image file) instead of screenshots and then touch in a sequence.
Currectly in work: Greedy Mouse || Previous Work: MultiFE Frontend, ArcadeMusicBox Jukebox || Music for various games (Tardis.dk + Greatflash.co.uk).

Lave Laar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
    • Freeware arcade related programs
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #32 on: August 01, 2008, 04:22:15 pm »
I dosent like that idea. People find that posistion sooner or later. The pincode is that way to go.
The pincode screen could just show numbers (created like a regular snapshot image file) instead of screenshots and then touch in a sequence.

Well. If you use it in combination with the poweroff delay I don't think it should be a problem.

squirrellydw

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1584
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #33 on: August 01, 2008, 04:35:02 pm »
I also like the pin code idea, but it's up to you.
I b**ch. People listen!!

bishmasterb

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 390
  • Pressing the limits of my wife's patience...
    • Bishopzone
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #34 on: August 01, 2008, 10:11:31 pm »
Lars, let me just say that you kick ass!   :applaud:

I installed .98 and it works great.

Here's a couple more things you might want to consider, although neither of them are terribly important:

1) Allow for both active and inactive images associated with each game. The inactive image is normally shown, but when the user presses the image, the active image is displayed.

2) The ability for the user to cycle through each skin without having to run feconfig.exe. This could be accomplished through a [skinimage] tag and skinimage.jpg file that could be displayed on the screen. Pressing the image would simply cycle to the next skin directory. A delay could be used (similar to poweroff) to avoid accidental presses.

Thanks!
« Last Edit: August 02, 2008, 02:30:10 am by bishmasterb »
"We have just enough religion to make us hate, but not enough to make us love one another." -Jonathan Swift

bishmasterb

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 390
  • Pressing the limits of my wife's patience...
    • Bishopzone
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #35 on: August 02, 2008, 03:00:22 am »
Couple more things:

3) If the Windows screen saver is turned on and active, pressing the screen (to return to STFE from the screen saver) gets processed by STFE. STFE should ignore screen clicks that occur when the Windows screen saver is active.

4) It would be cool to have separate SFX and music volume controls in feconfig.
"We have just enough religion to make us hate, but not enough to make us love one another." -Jonathan Swift

Lave Laar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
    • Freeware arcade related programs
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #36 on: August 02, 2008, 06:57:05 pm »
I've released a new version.
New in this version:

* Changed the name to SimpleTouch FE
* Fixed a bug in the loading of the images. It would not clear the image if not found.
* Added support for entering a pincode on poweroff
* Added support for preview of the skins to the config program
* Added separate volume settings for the wav-files and mp3-files
* Added code to prevent STFE to react when the screensaver is active (Test. I couldn't reproduce this problem)
* Moved the sounds for the FX to the folder "<skin>\Sounds"

It would be cool to see some skins released for this program as my graphic skills are, to say the least, below par and then some.
I can create a webpage for the program and host any skins released.

Download: http://home.online.no/~llindga/Programs/STFE099.zip

« Last Edit: August 02, 2008, 06:58:50 pm by Lave Laar »

squirrellydw

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1584
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #37 on: August 02, 2008, 07:16:24 pm »
I am working on a skin for this but it will be a couple days till it is close in being done.  Also I am no longer interested in the video preview but if you want to add I will test it.
I b**ch. People listen!!

bishmasterb

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 390
  • Pressing the limits of my wife's patience...
    • Bishopzone
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #38 on: August 03, 2008, 05:26:53 pm »
Lars,

I've installed .99 but I'm still having the issue of STFE processing screen presses that occur while the screen saver is running. I'm using Win XP Pro SP3 with the built-in "My Pictures Slideshow" screen saver. If one clicks on the screen while the screen saver is running, that click gets passed along to STFE which, if it happens to be on a game image (which is likely), that game launches.

I'll try testing with some of the other built-in screen savers.

Thanks
"We have just enough religion to make us hate, but not enough to make us love one another." -Jonathan Swift

Neilyboy

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 498
  • what day is it...
Re: Simple Touch FE
« Reply #39 on: August 04, 2008, 09:27:27 am »
Lars,

Keep up the great work man.. I spent most of the weekend working on my jukebox (non touch screen) so I didnt get time to play with skinning but will get back to it as soon as i get the juke finished up (wife says I have a problem with starting a project but not finishing haha)..

Neil

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31