Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Howto Fix the missing "R" in SkJukebox 3.0 On-Screen Keyboard  (Read 10162 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

superbigjay

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 666
  • I'll always be a kid...
    • superbigjay website
Hello, I've seen some people that wanted skjukebox 3.0 because they find it more
stable, but couldn't use it because of the missing "R" in the onscreen
keyboard.

So here's how to fix it.

(I don't want to attach the exe file, since I'm not the author...)

the tough part is to find where to do the modification,
then it's only a matter of changing the "E" for an "R"

Here's the steps (it only take a minute if you're familiar with a binary
editor such as UltraEdit-32)

1. backup the original skjukebox.exe (in case you screw something up...)
2. Open the file with a binary editor (ex: UltraEdit-32)
3. Go at address 2EEF0h (hexadecimal byte address) and change the "E"
(code=45) for "R" (code=52)
4. save the file.

That's it.

Give it a try and look at your fixed Onscreen Keyboard.

I've included some snapshot to illustrate the fix...

Jay  :cheers:

superbigjay

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 666
  • I'll always be a kid...
    • superbigjay website
Re: Howto Fix the missing "R" in SkJukebox 3.0 On-Screen Keyboard
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2008, 02:00:08 pm »
Here some link to the full size images...

(Click on the url to see it at full size...)

skjukebox.exe 3.0 binary before:
http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/8353/skjukebox31onscreennormi0.jpg


skjukebox.exe 3.0 binary fixed:
http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/5614/skjukebox31onscreenfixesy9.jpg


Missing R Keyboard:
http://img167.imageshack.us/img167/2992/missing1ronscreenkbhn8.jpg


Fixed Keyboard:
http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/8355/fixed1onscreenkbjg0.jpg



Jay  :cheers:

JMB

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 421
Re: Howto Fix the missing "R" in SkJukebox 3.0 On-Screen Keyboard
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2008, 04:56:00 pm »
Nice job!!   :applaud:  :cheers:

Space Fractal

  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1887
  • Space Fractal
    • Space Fractal
Re: Howto Fix the missing "R" in SkJukebox 3.0 On-Screen Keyboard
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2008, 01:25:08 pm »
Mightbeen I should create a little "unofficiel" patch the exe with the little typo bug? Cant se any problem about it, since the author have (to been sad) leaved the project with few bugs left (here one of them unofficiel fixed).

I have also tried to have the felling with same controls in MultiJuke (Jukebox GUI), since I really like Sk-Jukebox too.
Currectly in work: Greedy Mouse || Previous Work: MultiFE Frontend, ArcadeMusicBox Jukebox || Music for various games (Tardis.dk + Greatflash.co.uk).

gonzo90017

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1033
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Howto Fix the missing "R" in SkJukebox 3.0 On-Screen Keyboard
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2008, 12:54:34 pm »
I notice that when using the "Find" function the bottom boxes are cut off almost making the feature useless. Would be nice if someone can fix that.  :cheers:

superbigjay

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 666
  • I'll always be a kid...
    • superbigjay website
Re: Howto Fix the missing "R" in SkJukebox 3.0 On-Screen Keyboard
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2008, 09:07:30 pm »
Mightbeen I should create a little "unofficiel" patch the exe with the little typo bug? Cant se any problem about it, since the author have (to been sad) leaved the project with few bugs left (here one of them unofficiel fixed).

Do you want me to send you the patched binary or did you patched it on your side?

superbigjay

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 666
  • I'll always be a kid...
    • superbigjay website
Re: Howto Fix the missing "R" in SkJukebox 3.0 On-Screen Keyboard
« Reply #6 on: March 31, 2008, 09:10:23 pm »
I notice that when using the "Find" function the bottom boxes are cut off almost making the feature useless. Would be nice if someone can fix that.  :cheers:

In what resolution are you running at?

SKjukebox doesn't scale the on-screen keyboard / find screen / list screen.
So if you're running at low res like 800x600, some boxes are too big to fit in the screen...

This is too hard to fix without the source code which is unavailable...

Jay  :cheers:

gonzo90017

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1033
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Howto Fix the missing "R" in SkJukebox 3.0 On-Screen Keyboard
« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2008, 12:03:18 pm »
I'm running it at 1024x768 full screen. The find function appears the same way it does in your screenshot. (without the taskbar of course)

superbigjay

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 666
  • I'll always be a kid...
    • superbigjay website
Re: Howto Fix the missing "R" in SkJukebox 3.0 On-Screen Keyboard
« Reply #8 on: April 02, 2008, 08:06:55 am »
I'm running it at 1024x768 full screen. The find function appears the same way it does in your screenshot. (without the taskbar of course)

yep!
it's because skjukebox doesn't scale the on-screen keyboard and menu based on the screen resolution. 

When I tried it on my PC my res was 1280x1024 on which the FIND menu with the on-screen keyboard fit in the screen.  I tried it at 1024x768 and get the same problem as you ... you can't access the bottom boxes...

As I said, without the source code, that one is almost impossible to fix...

Jay  :dizzy:

PS: I'll have the same problem on my cab since I'm running at 800x600 (TVO)  :cry:


hitandrun

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: Howto Fix the missing "R" in SkJukebox 3.0 On-Screen Keyboard
« Reply #9 on: April 12, 2008, 07:08:16 pm »
Think you could find the size for "album screensaver" and make it the size of v4?  BTW,  great work!!!

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31