Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: relay help please, again!  (Read 2230 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

icabjeff

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
  • Last login:May 10, 2009, 09:01:23 pm
relay help please, again!
« on: August 09, 2007, 01:56:54 pm »
I've got one more problem - I don't know what wires go to what pin on the relay.  I can't find a diagram that clearly labels what pin does what.  Can you help direct me?

Thanks, Jeff

Ok it has a coil so the proper location of the diode is shown in circuit diagram in the thread below you will be connecting to 5V to activate not 12 as shown in the diagram but the diode is still placed with cathode (band) to +5v and anode to ground for transient supression.

Link

BobA

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5943
  • Last login:July 11, 2018, 09:52:14 pm
  • What Me Worry?
Re: relay help please, again!
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2007, 05:42:20 pm »
If this is a pic of your relay the info on where to connect is marked on the top of the relay.   If it is not the relay can you provide a pic of it and a part number and manufacturer so the circuit diagram can be located.

NickG

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 586
  • Last login:September 07, 2020, 07:05:49 am
  • Dig.
    • My Projects Page
Re: relay help please, again!
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2007, 05:53:31 pm »

if "2 FORM C" is a standard format, then:
A. coil
B. other end of coil

1. switch A common
4. switch A normally open connection
7. switch A normally closed connection

3. switch B common
6. switch B normally open connection
9. switch B normally closed connection


Edit: here is an example schematic.

(the pi shaped marks are supposed to be the head switches.)  The +5V is switched, of course - I forgot to draw a switch in the picture.  The green X-arcade terminal block image is from http://www.x-arcade.com/service/ServiceFiles/BYO_Advanced_Inst.jpg.  The schematic of the relay is from some other relay .pdf.
You'll may still want to add the diode across the coil like in Boba's link - I forgot to draw it in here.
« Last Edit: August 09, 2007, 06:42:41 pm by NickG »

whammoed

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2296
  • Last login:October 20, 2020, 09:01:40 pm
  • Crack don't smoke itself
    • NiceMite
Re: relay help please, again!
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2007, 06:00:59 pm »
If you want to make it easy on yourself: (shameless plug)
http://www.nicemite.com/PowermiteDD/PowermiteDD.htm

Neilyboy

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 501
  • Last login:February 06, 2020, 08:45:02 am
  • what day is it...
Re: relay help please, again!
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2007, 06:07:59 pm »
I love whammoeds products!! I purchased his Lightmite TB and it works beautifully!! If you have the money to spare and would like a nice product contact him.

/edit haha. I didnt understand what icbajeff was wiring up I thought he was trying to build a 'smart strip' type device from the drawing he had above. but my question is then why are there 3 threads about the same thing..

Neil
« Last Edit: August 09, 2007, 07:08:29 pm by Neilyboy »

BobA

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5943
  • Last login:July 11, 2018, 09:52:14 pm
  • What Me Worry?
Re: relay help please, again!
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2007, 06:21:26 pm »
So what are all the plugs for whammoeds Lightmite doing here?   This is a thread on connecting controls for the disabled.

See original thread http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=69419.0

icabjeff

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
  • Last login:May 10, 2009, 09:01:23 pm
relay help please, again!
« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2007, 06:56:10 pm »
I now understand how to wire the diode, but I'm unsure of which pins go to which wires going to my headswitch and my atari 2600 joystick cable. Ideas?

Thanks,

Jeff

I'm trying to use an electronic relay to be able to switch between up/down and left/right on an X-Arcade modified for disabled use. I want to be able to use a pair of  head switches and a separate switch operating the relay to use the directional controls on the X-Arcade. I'm not totally sure where exactly to solder the diode in the circuit to handle the electrical spike.

Jeff
[quote aof uthor=icabjeff link=topic=69419.msg709073#msg709073 date=1185745836]
I don't think it's electronic. I think it has a coil. Hear are the specs.

Relay - DIP
   ?   Suitable for handling low signals in computer peripherals, telecommunications and security equipment.
   ?   Standard DIP Package.
   ?   Coil arrangement: 2 FORM C (DPDT).
   ?   Capable of Switching Loads up to 2A.

Qty
          Nominal      Coil          
           Coil     Resistance                 
Part No.  Voltage      +20%                                     

  
22RZ5      5           45      
[/quote]
Ok it has a coil so the proper location of the diode is shown in circuit diagram in the thread below you will be connecting to 5V to activate not 12 as shown in the diagram but the diode is still placed with cathode (band) to +5v and anode to ground for transient supression.

Link

whammoed

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2296
  • Last login:October 20, 2020, 09:01:40 pm
  • Crack don't smoke itself
    • NiceMite
Re: relay help please, again!
« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2007, 07:17:00 pm »
So what are all the plugs for whammoeds Lightmite doing here?   This is a thread on connecting controls for the disabled.

See original thread http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=69419.0
If you are questioning my post:
This thread is about properly wiring a relay.  I have a product that is pre-wired so to speak, and think it is a nice alternative for someone who may struggle with such a thing or who may want a neat and tidy solution.
If you are not questioning my post, nevermind.

BobA

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5943
  • Last login:July 11, 2018, 09:52:14 pm
  • What Me Worry?
Re: relay help please, again!
« Reply #8 on: August 10, 2007, 12:08:59 am »
Not directed at you whammoed.   No problem with your post it was the one about the lightmite that seemed  to have no relevence.