Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: My Pacman Cocktail Quasi-Replica  (Read 6541 times)

the720k

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:July 04, 2019, 02:31:47 am
My Pacman Cocktail Quasi-Replica
« on: March 21, 2007, 12:05:44 am »
This is still a work in progress, but thought I'd share what I've been working on.  This is my first attempt at building an arcade cabinet from scratch.  I converted an Asteroids machine to MAME last year, which turned out great in my book, but ever since, oh, when the tax fairy visited my bank account, I've been itching to build a cocktail.  I mostly followed Kyle Lindstrom's plans, but made a few small changes here and there.

I built the cab all from scratch out of 3/4" pre-finished cherry plywood from the bountiful dumpsters at work.  I know that Pacman was never made in cherry, but it's my favorite wood species, and if there's going to be a large wooden object in my living room, why not cherry?

I joined the panels with 1 1/4" dowel pins and Tightbond II wood glue (that stuff is awesome!)  For support, I used angle brackets where I thought they were needed.  Perhaps overkill, but I'd rather build it too strong than too weak.