Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: hiscore diff (with no nag/white box removal)  (Read 316704 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

retrometro

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 456
    • Arcade, mame, retro... and the gp2x.
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #80 on: October 14, 2007, 05:18:10 pm »
First off, thanks to MKChamp for these diffs!! They are much appreciated.

Quick question anyone can probably answer... When I'm done compiling, I have the following files:

mame.exe
chdman.exe
jedutil.exe
ledutil.exe
makemeta.exe
regrep.exe
romcmp.exe
srcclean.exe
src2html.exe

Are they all needed in my Mame folder? Mr. Do's page says to copy to my mame folder, but when I get a pre-compiled (normal) version of mame from the net, it doesn't have most these files from what I remember.

Thanks!  :cheers:

Some of these are tools.  If you don't need it, it won't be noticed.  Just to keep things straight, it doesn't hurt to copy all of your compiled set of executables over.  If you want to match precompiled sets of exe's, then don't worry about the extra files.  no worries.

-------- gp2x and retro... play it forever! ------------------------
http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=0EE573E86D5A86E0
--------------------------------------------------------------------

Lakersfan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 190
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #81 on: October 14, 2007, 05:27:56 pm »
Got it, Thanks!

rooter

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 202
    • ShaunRoot.net
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #82 on: October 16, 2007, 11:37:38 am »
Someone should write an app that sends your high scores to a web page.  Then we could see who is the best Q-Bert in the world!

Local high scores should be saved (obviously).

I know that getting the high scores from the app to the web could be secure.  I don't know how easy it would be to cheat the score from Mame into the app though.

FrizzleFried

  • no one listens to me anyway.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4902
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #83 on: October 20, 2007, 04:25:09 pm »
Is the latest diff compatible with .120?  I ask as I have had my first problem.

I get the error:

'construct_map_mpu486k_map':
'acia6850_1_stat_lsb_r' undeclared (first use in this function)

...and more stuff I ain't going to type out.

Visit my arcade blog at: www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated 05-31-17)

MKChamp

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 502
  • I'm a llama!
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #84 on: October 22, 2007, 01:18:48 am »
I compiled without any issues. Make sure you are doing a clean compile and you have the latest compiling tools from mamedev. Let me know if you are having issues still and I will help any way I can...

FrizzleFried

  • no one listens to me anyway.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4902
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #85 on: October 23, 2007, 09:57:28 am »
Sorry guys...I started from scratch and it worked.  Something must-a mussed up in my last environment.

Visit my arcade blog at: www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated 05-31-17)

MKChamp

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 502
  • I'm a llama!
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #86 on: November 19, 2007, 01:39:07 pm »
Some timer functions changed in MAME 121, so here is the updated hiscore diff to get it to compile and work as expected!

Also, do the admins have the ability to move this post below the other 2 posts at the start of this thread so all the files are at top? I suppose the other option would be to remove all the files that were only good for u releases and just keep the major releases and the *current* u releases. This would cut down on the number of different files....

At any rate...here it is!

Happy gaming!

edit ----
I removed the diff's that were only valid for u releases of old versions. This also helps clear up some confusion on what diff to download for what version....
« Last Edit: November 19, 2007, 04:25:52 pm by MKChamp »

TheDriver

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 208
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #87 on: November 19, 2007, 02:51:11 pm »
Thanks for the updated file MKChamp.  :cheers:

Regards.

MKChamp

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 502
  • I'm a llama!
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #88 on: November 19, 2007, 04:23:15 pm »
You're welcome.
I've changed the thread to basically contain only the major releases hiscore diff with the exception of maintaining the diff for the u releases of the current version.
The way I see it, no one should want to run a u release for an older version. They may, however, be like me and run the u releases if they are the most current version allowed.

TheBrokentoken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 108
  • Being a noob is awesome! (not)
    • Brokentoken.com
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #89 on: November 27, 2007, 07:58:43 pm »
This is a great thread - many thanks for putting all of this in one location.

Out of curiousity, what build was the first to have high-score support pulled?
- Whitney Roberts
http://www.brokentoken.com

MKChamp

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 502
  • I'm a llama!
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #90 on: November 29, 2007, 04:11:10 pm »
This is a great thread - many thanks for putting all of this in one location.

Out of curiousity, what build was the first to have high-score support pulled?

The very first release where high score was pulled was 107u2...which means the first major release to not have it was 108.

TheBrokentoken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 108
  • Being a noob is awesome! (not)
    • Brokentoken.com
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #91 on: November 29, 2007, 05:05:36 pm »
This is a great thread - many thanks for putting all of this in one location.

Out of curiousity, what build was the first to have high-score support pulled?

The very first release where high score was pulled was 107u2...which means the first major release to not have it was 108.

Thank you very much - that's what I was wanting to know.
- Whitney Roberts
http://www.brokentoken.com

Xb0x3r

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 142
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #92 on: December 18, 2007, 07:36:17 am »
I've got a small problem...I've compiled MAME 0.121 with hi_121.diff and when I tested it with pacman, it did not save my score...why?  :dunno

PS I'm using Headkaze's MAME Compiler.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2007, 07:39:31 am by Xb0x3r »

SGT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1133
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #93 on: December 18, 2007, 09:09:02 am »
Do you have hiscore.dat in your mame folder?  You also need a subfolder named hi.

Xb0x3r

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 142
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #94 on: December 18, 2007, 06:56:30 pm »
Ok, so I should make a folder named hi and do what with it? I'll download the hiscore.dat right now.

EDIT: Well the hiscore.dat didn't do anything. I'll try to use the hi folder.

EDIT2: The hi folder is what it needed! Thanks a lot SGT.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2007, 07:06:47 pm by Xb0x3r »

demaximis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #95 on: December 19, 2007, 09:17:31 am »
Will the .121 version work with the newly released 122, or should I wait for a 122-specific diff?  Thank you so much!

MKChamp

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 502
  • I'm a llama!
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #96 on: December 19, 2007, 10:33:49 am »
Will the .121 version work with the newly released 122, or should I wait for a 122-specific diff?  Thank you so much!

It will...I changed the file name from hi_121u2.txt to hi_122.txt to clear up the confusion.

TheManuel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 717
  • On and off hobbyist
Is high score when game is reset?
« Reply #97 on: December 20, 2007, 11:02:14 pm »
Hello folks.

I currently use MAME Plus which includes support for high scores.  On the recent MAME versions, when I hit the reset button during the game, I loose my high score.  However, if I quit the game without resetting, I don't loose it.  Back when MAME had native high score support this did not happen.

Now, I don't know if MAME Plus uses the same method as in these diff files so I would like to know if this happens with MAME compiled with the diff file (i.e. the high score is lost when the game is reset).

While we're at it, I know the diff file removes the nag screens.  I suppose this doesn't improve the loading time of some of the simpler games?  The reason I ask is because with older MAME versions, when I launched a "light weight" game like frogger, it would come up in 2-3 seconds.  However, in newer versions, it stays on that "initializing" screen for at least twice the time.  This is, of course, on the same computer.  What is different in MAME now that it takes so much longer to load anything?

Thanks.
"The Manuel"

DeLuSioNal29

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4487
  • Build the impossible -"There is no Spoon"
    • DeLuSioNaL's YouTube Videos
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #98 on: January 07, 2008, 01:36:14 am »
First off, I'd like to thank Headkaze for contributing so much to the MAME community.  Excellent program you have here!   :applaud:

Here's my question:

Under the "Compile Options" in Mame Compiler:

Anyone know what options would be best to select for an AMD Athlon 64 X2 4000+ CPU?

I have selected:
Optimize for:
Athlon 64 (selected in drop down)
Dual Core (checked)
Clean Compile (checked)

I am looking to remove the disclaimers and white border.  I am using the hi_118_119.diff file for this.  I figured I'd optimize it for my chip while I am at it to speed things up a bit.  Is this the correct file to use? (the readme file says u1, u2, u3 etc)

Thanks for the help!

~ DeLuSioNaL
Stop by my Youtube channel and leave a comment:

PhoneLine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • Keyboard Error. Press F1 to continue.
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #99 on: January 25, 2008, 06:51:02 pm »
Anyone able to apply the hi_122.dif to Mame 122u7?   I get a bunch of entries come up as failed when I do.  Worked fine up till 122u6.


Edit:  Ahhh, I see there is already a hi_122u7 on the first page of the thread.  thank ya MKChamp!

« Last Edit: January 25, 2008, 07:01:14 pm by PhoneLine »

MKChamp

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 502
  • I'm a llama!
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #100 on: January 26, 2008, 07:36:36 pm »
Edit:  Ahhh, I see there is already a hi_122u7 on the first page of the thread.  thank ya MKChamp!

Really...no need to thank me...I mainly do this for myself ;-)

J-Rod

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 94
  • Gaming junkie
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #101 on: February 02, 2008, 04:16:07 pm »
Not sure what is going on here, looking for some help. I have used the mamecompiler tool, to compile mame .121, and used the hiscore.diff for .121 as well. I would guess the compile went well, there were no errors, and the new mame.exe now loads roms without any nag screens and the like. I downloaded the latest hiscore.dat I could find, put it in my mame directory where my mame.exe resides. I also made a new directory called "hi" in the mame directory. It does not look like hi scores are saving though, testing with Pacman, since that is the easiest game to get a high score in quickly that I found. Any suggestions?

MKChamp

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 502
  • I'm a llama!
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #102 on: February 03, 2008, 03:36:50 pm »
Not sure what is going on here, looking for some help. I have used the mamecompiler tool, to compile mame .121, and used the hiscore.diff for .121 as well. I would guess the compile went well, there were no errors, and the new mame.exe now loads roms without any nag screens and the like. I downloaded the latest hiscore.dat I could find, put it in my mame directory where my mame.exe resides. I also made a new directory called "hi" in the mame directory. It does not look like hi scores are saving though, testing with Pacman, since that is the easiest game to get a high score in quickly that I found. Any suggestions?

Hmmm...sounds like if you aren't getting the warning screens or the 'whitebox' stuff...the diff was applied correctly. A sure fire way to tell would be do type mame -cc on the command line and take a look at the mame.ini file created. You should see a line like this:

hiscore_directory         hi

If you don't, then the diff wasn't applied correctly. If you do have that line, just make sure the hiscore.dat is in the SAME folder as your mame.exe (which you said it was) and the hi folder is created under the mame folder...like this: c:\mame\hi.

Also, I don't know how you are running mame...if you are using a frontend, make sure it is running the correct mame.exe. Maybe you are like me and have a mamep4.exe or something.

J-Rod

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 94
  • Gaming junkie
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #103 on: February 03, 2008, 04:25:04 pm »
Thanks for your feedback! I am typing this now without going downstairs to check it out, but I'll let you know. I did indeed have a mamep4.exe, but I renamed it to just mame.exe and deleted the original. I'll have a look see in the mame.ini and see if there's something going on. Everything else seems kosher, and I'm not sure how I could have applied a diff incorrectly since there was just the one.

*edit*

Ok, just checked. Here's what I found. Performed a mame -cc from my working mame directory. It created my mame.ini in the same directory. In that file there is:

#
# CORE FILENAME OPTIONS
#
cheat_file                            cheat.dat
hiscore_directory                 C:\MAME\hiscore.dat

this all looks correct, and that's where my hiscore is residing. The "hi" folder also exists in the \MAME\ directory.

Maybe I need to change that line to what you have?
« Last Edit: February 03, 2008, 04:38:45 pm by J-Rod »

MKChamp

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 502
  • I'm a llama!
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #104 on: February 03, 2008, 04:46:20 pm »
Thanks for your feedback! I am typing this now without going downstairs to check it out, but I'll let you know. I did indeed have a mamep4.exe, but I renamed it to just mame.exe and deleted the original. I'll have a look see in the mame.ini and see if there's something going on. Everything else seems kosher, and I'm not sure how I could have applied a diff incorrectly since there was just the one.

*edit*

Ok, just checked. Here's what I found. Performed a mame -cc from my working mame directory. It created my mame.ini in the same directory. In that file there is:

#
# CORE FILENAME OPTIONS
#
cheat_file                            cheat.dat
hiscore_directory                 C:\MAME\hiscore.dat

this all looks correct, and that's where my hiscore is residing. The "hi" folder also exists in the \MAME\ directory.

Maybe I need to change that line to what you have?

Yes, change that line to read
hiscore_directory                 hi

This is the directory it will create the high scores for the games played. This is NOT where the hiscore.dat file is located.

J-Rod

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 94
  • Gaming junkie
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #105 on: February 03, 2008, 04:58:38 pm »
Changing the line made it work. I was unclear as to how that had to be configured I suppose. Hopefully this blunder will help anyone else out that ends up with the same problem. Thanks a ton, and great work!

t3ckn0b0y

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Ms Pacman problems
« Reply #106 on: February 20, 2008, 05:36:46 am »
    Okay, with the patches mspac man has a few issues..
    At times the maze is blue when its suppose to be pink.. and
    if hitting f3 to reset the hardware & then hitting 5 to put in
    change and then 1 to start the same.. doing this process of
    f3,5,1 a few times the hiscore of mspacman is completely
    wiped out.. at other times its wiped out at the times the
    screen is blue instead of pink...  :badmood:  Im wondering
    if its possibly the hiscore.dat files locations for the hiscore
    placement that could be causing this problem, or the patches
    themselves.. Im going to patch 123u1 and add debug and
    etc and see if i can't find the problem in the hiscore.dat?
    am I the only one with this problem?????   :dunno
    and whats the use of the hiscore.dat or even patching for
    hiscores if the hiscore.dat isnt being kept upto date...
« Last Edit: February 20, 2008, 05:41:46 am by t3ckn0b0y »

MKChamp

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 502
  • I'm a llama!
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #107 on: February 20, 2008, 12:13:46 pm »
I would be surprised if the maze color IS, in fact, caused by the hiscore piece. There is NOTHING in the diff that would cause 'color' of the maze to change. So, more than likely, it is a core mame driver issue you are seeing or something to do with your rig. Don't apply the hiscore.diff and see if you see the same behavior.

As far as losing the hiscores by doing a reset...this is normal. Basically, the hiscore piece injects the high scores at start up...and then saves them at exit. When you 'reset' the hardware in the game, check the high scores...they are getting reset in the game. When you exit the game, the high scores in the game are then saved...which are the defaults.

While it is true the hiscore.dat is not being updated, I would venture to say it is over 95% (if not more) still accurate in applying the high scores...way more reliable than the other option of save states. The vast bulk of the older games that didn't say high scores are dumped accurately and have been added to the hiscore.dat(thanks to Leezer). Alot of the newer games that get added save the high scores via nvram file...so hiscore.dat is not needed for them.

t3ckn0b0y

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #108 on: February 21, 2008, 09:08:02 pm »
Okay.. It appears to be something they did.. It might have to do with removing
the old color table.. in u1 it wasent completely removed yet. but your absolutely
right it doesnt have to do with the hiscore.dat..  still a bit confused on the reset
wiping out the mspacman.hi completely though..  i will see what happens
after i compile 123u2 the old color table is suppose to be completely removed,
might fix the issue...  :cheers:

shock_

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 354
  • In Brisbane, it's GMT+10 all the time.
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #109 on: February 21, 2008, 10:57:13 pm »
from history.dat:
Quote
There's a fairly well-known glitch in the game - if you put a coin in when the Ms. Pac-Man marquee title first appears but before Blinky appears then the first board will be blue instead of pink and will remain blue until you either finish the board or lose a life, after which the board will return to its normal color.

Is that what you're seeing?  That's normal behaviour for the game.

t3ckn0b0y

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #110 on: February 22, 2008, 12:29:58 am »
bingo ... thanx  for all the help guys..   :dizzy: 
this rounds for you  :cheers:  :applaud:  :notworthy:

t3ckn0b0y

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #111 on: February 22, 2008, 11:22:45 pm »
Thanks for this great patch MKChamp.. I'm always looking forward to
updates..  :notworthy:

Pitou

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 97
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #112 on: February 28, 2008, 08:51:43 am »
Hello,

First, thanks MkChamp for the patch, but there is one problem for me applying these modifications.

Since I'm using a fixed 60hz display, I'm using the refreshspeed option for mame to slow down a little bit some games, correcting audio glitches.

I don't want to change the speed option to say 0.98, since it will slow down all games even those that run under 60hz.

It seems that the calculation is done during startup screens (they're now gone!), so the calculation is wrong. For example on a 60hz display, using refreshspeed 1 in mame.ini, dkong should run steady at 98.00%. Now it's random and audio glitches appear.

Here is what I did to patch the problem. But if you find a better way, I'll welcome it with open arms!

Or is there a way you could include this little patch?

-------------------------------------------------------

For mame 0.123:


In mame.ini, set: refreshspeed 60 (instead of 0 or 1, Boolean changed for an Integer)


In ./src/emu/video.c:

Line #291:

   global.refresh_speed = options_get_bool(mame_options(), OPTION_REFRESHSPEED);

Change for:

   global.refresh_speed = options_get_int(mame_options(), OPTION_REFRESHSPEED);


-------------------------------------------------------

Line #752:

   if (global.refresh_speed)

Changed for:

   if (global.refresh_speed != 0)


I might not need to modify this one since "60 == True" in C language

-------------------------------------------------------

Line #754:

      float minrefresh = render_get_max_update_rate();

Changed for:

      float minrefresh = global.refresh_speed;


Basically, what I do, is just set the refresh speed to 60hz statically. I can actually change it to whatever I want, something like 59 if I want to be safe with my display.

I guess the dynamic calculation is more precise depending on the display used.

Any comments?

Thank you.

Pitou!

MKChamp

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 502
  • I'm a llama!
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #113 on: February 28, 2008, 12:07:22 pm »
Nice find Pitou!
I've uploaded a new diff (starting with 123u3 that corrects this refreshspeed bug. I'm not sure adding your 'patch' to the hiscore diff would be the right thing to do, however, because it might not be suitable for the majority of people using it. 2 options available for you to try is:
1) In your mame ini file, set the following lines:
speed              2.0
refreshspeed   1

This is the setting most people seem to have the best success with for the games that run at 60.

2) Create your own little diff for applying your patch. You may already know how, but just in case you are not sure:
a) Patch the mame source with all the u diffs and then the hiscore diff. Copy the src folder and rename the copied folder to "old"
b) Patch the original src folder with your changes. So the directory will have the src folder with all the diffs applied plus your patch...and the old folder with all the diffs applied minus your patch.
c) then run "diff -r -c -N old/ src/ > your_patch_name.diff"

This will create your own diff that you can apply in the future to any version of mame (unless the src changes drastically enough to not be able to apply your patch. Of course, you will need the diff.exe which can easily be obtained on the web.

Let me know how it goes!

Pitou

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 97
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #114 on: February 28, 2008, 03:17:24 pm »
Hey thanks for the fix!!

For sure I could create my own diff, but, I'm gonna test your fix and if it works fine, I'm not going to use my patch anymore :)

2 quick questions:

1- Along with refreshspeed 1, why using a speed of 2.0?

2- I didn't take time to look at differents hi_diff files yet, so, to simplify my life :) can you tell me what you did? Before discovering this thread, I was patching all screens by myself, white box etc... but never found a way to fix the refreshspeed.

Thank you very much!

Pitou!


MKChamp

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 502
  • I'm a llama!
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #115 on: February 28, 2008, 08:40:26 pm »
First off...if anyone downloaded the hi_123u3.txt file, I made a small change and re-uploaded it at 7:30pm central time(02-28-08)...so you *may* want to get it again :-(  I noticed that one of the white boxes were still visible on startup.  The change gets rid of the center white box, however, for a BRIEF millisecond, you may see the giant white box on startup. In reality, it shouldn't even catch your eye...so, if it bothers you or you are on a mission, feel free to figure out a way to get rid of it without having to be extremely invasive to the MAME core. Basically, ( and to answer your second question. Pitou ), in the ui.c module, in the ui_set_startup_text routine I commented out everything and entered the line osd_update(machine, 0);...apparently it needs this to set the refresh speed correctly. I'm sure with enough time you could figure out another way, but if you compile this and test it on your own, I think you will see what I mean by not even catching your eye ;-)
To answer your first question, Pitou, that combo seems to be what works for alot of the people with the issue you were having. Take a look here and you'll see some other interesting things with the 60HZ displays...
http://www.mameworld.info/ubbthreads/showthreaded.php?Cat=&Number=139206&page=&view=&sb=5&o=&fpart=1&vc=1

edit: Just tested it on my cab, and this doesn't work very well. The patch still does all the stuff with the exception of the startup junk...I'll have to take a look deeper at fixing it...so much for my lazy shortcuts ;-)
« Last Edit: February 28, 2008, 09:06:23 pm by MKChamp »

t3ckn0b0y

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #116 on: February 29, 2008, 12:40:28 pm »
   I noticed a small box in the middle of the screen during the loading of a game,
   it wasen't there with 123u2.. does anyone know how to remove it.. I find it
   a bit annoying and it acts funny when loading games like gaplus. TIA

MKChamp

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 502
  • I'm a llama!
Re: hiscore diff (with no nag/white box removal)
« Reply #117 on: February 29, 2008, 01:47:12 pm »
Ok...just re-uploaded the hi_123u3.txt file(12:41 central time 02-29-08). Got it all sorted out and tested. It now correctly applies refreshspeed/speed option and removes ALL the white box/junk on start up. This was a little more MAME core invasive than I liked since that means that if/when MAME changes significantly, there's more 'patching' to keep the hiscore diff up to date...but what cha gonna do.

t3ckn0b0y: Grab the new hi_123u3 file and compile with that. If you could please test it and let me know that it works for you, that would be great.

Pitou: you can search for "hiscore white box" in the diff for what the changes I made to get it to get rid of the white box while retaining the correct refreshspeed.

t3ckn0b0y

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: hiscore diff (with no nag/white box removal)
« Reply #118 on: February 29, 2008, 03:19:46 pm »
t3ckn0b0y: Grab the new hi_123u3 file and compile with that. If you could please test it and let me know that it works for you, that would be great.

It's working great, thanx..
Appears to be running a bit smoother at load up.. No problems..  :applaud:  :cheers:

All clear kid, use the force luke... Intruder Alert..

t3ckn0b0y

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
123u4
« Reply #119 on: March 06, 2008, 12:22:30 pm »
No problems compiling 123u4 with hi_123u3.diff.  ;D

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31