Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: hiscore diff (with no nag/white box removal)  (Read 314504 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

paulstevens

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #40 on: July 31, 2007, 04:55:42 pm »
Not sure if the is appropriate for this thread, so my apologies if not.

Is there a way to patch mame so that it automatically exits after a certain amount of keyboard inactivity?   AdvanceMAME allowed this, but I cannot figure it out for current regular mame.   A patch or a diff would be great.

Without fail my youngest son leaves the cabinet w/o going to the frontend (which I like because of screen saver, mp3 player, etc.)   If mame could be patched to exit automatically after say 45 seconds of no keypresses, that would be awesome (for me anyway.)

For those doing the high score diff and PAUSING the game for a bathroom break, hopefully such a patch won't knock you out of a marathon game due to keyboard inactivity.  Other than that, I think it's a useful idea.

Thanks!

RecklessAbandon

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
    • the rusty joystick
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #41 on: August 04, 2007, 06:15:08 am »
thanks for the patch  :)

ARTIFACT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 754
    • ARTIFACT - my scratch designed & built arcade cabinet
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #42 on: August 12, 2007, 06:17:25 pm »
Playing with this right now

FYI - if you are missing update files (_u1, u2, etc)

Simply open this link in yuour browser:
http://mamedev.org/updates/0117u3_diff.zip

and modify the name of the zip file at the end of the address in your address bar - then reload the page. Each time it will download the update file you asked for (if it is still hosted there).


AMDman13

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 454
  • This Cab is going to be the end of me!!
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #43 on: August 12, 2007, 10:43:39 pm »
I know you say it's a lot of trouble to re=compile, but once it's done it's done. Still might be worth it.

However, if you really don't mind running an older version I would recommend noname mame. This is a custom compiled version of mame that offers some features that ordinary Mame does not. One of which is no nag screens! I ran this on my cab until I bucked up and decided to custom compile my own version. It really does work sweet!

It supports up to version  0.84u1.

It can downloaded at https://sourceforge.net/project/sh 0.84u1owfiles.php?group_id=91067&package_id=95932

It was designed by a byoac'er TheGatesOfBill. Try it I think you will like!  :)
My old user name was marlborroman13, but I kicked the habit many years ago!

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5506
    • Bella's Arcade
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #44 on: August 15, 2007, 09:17:53 pm »
OK, I've got the following:

1.  mame0118s - latest version of mame
2.  hi_117u3.txt - current patch to save hi scores/remove nag screens
3.  0118u1_diff - latest mame update

If I mash all this stuff together can I get something that works like I think it should?  Thanks.

EDIT:

I applied the 0118u1_diff update by editing the batch file and typing patchmame.  Then I did the same thing with the hi_117u3.diff file.  Then I typed makemame at the c prompt.  Now I'm waiting for it to compile.  I think it's working!

EDIT:

OK, it didn't work. Is the hi_117u3.diff file the right file to use for mame 118u1?  Do I have to do any other patches?  Any help would be great.  Thanks!!

EDIT:

I got it!  I had the hiscore.dat file in the hi folder.  Once I moved it into the mame folder with everything else (where the mame.exe, etc. files are) it started working.  All I need now is for my .118u1 romset to arrive and I'll be all set!  Whew!
« Last Edit: August 15, 2007, 11:16:12 pm by javeryh »

SGT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1133
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #45 on: August 15, 2007, 11:16:30 pm »
Did you get a compile error or is high scores not working?  What is the error?

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5506
    • Bella's Arcade
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #46 on: August 16, 2007, 09:10:15 am »
Did you get a compile error or is high scores not working?  What is the error?

The "error" I got was just that high scores weren't being saved.  Everything else seemed to be working.  It turns out I had the "hiscore.dat" file inside the "hi" folder I created instead of just in my mame folder (where the .exe and all the other folders are).  Once I moved the file the high scores started to save properly on the 3 or 4 games I tested.

ARTIFACT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 754
    • ARTIFACT - my scratch designed & built arcade cabinet
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #47 on: August 16, 2007, 11:31:57 pm »
I was able to compile and all the nag screens and warnings are gone (YAY!)

BUT

high scores aren't saving (I testes Ms Pac Man)... I didnt see a hiscore.dat file so I created one manually

Let em know if I missed something

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5506
    • Bella's Arcade
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #48 on: August 17, 2007, 09:38:45 am »
I was able to compile and all the nag screens and warnings are gone (YAY!)

BUT

high scores aren't saving (I testes Ms Pac Man)... I didnt see a hiscore.dat file so I created one manually

Let em know if I missed something

1.  You need to manually create a "hi" folder. 
2.  You need to download hiscore.dat - try here
3.  You need to place the hiscore.dat file in your mame folder - NOT in the "hi" folder you created

Assuming everything is compiled properly, everything should work if you do this.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2007, 03:45:45 pm by javeryh »

SGT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1133
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #49 on: August 17, 2007, 12:53:12 pm »
3.  You need to place the download.dat file in your mame folder - NOT in the "hi" folder you created

You mean hiscore.dat, right?

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5506
    • Bella's Arcade
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #50 on: August 17, 2007, 03:45:23 pm »
3.  You need to place the download.dat file in your mame folder - NOT in the "hi" folder you created

You mean hiscore.dat, right?

oops.  fixed.

ARTIFACT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 754
    • ARTIFACT - my scratch designed & built arcade cabinet
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #51 on: August 17, 2007, 04:45:49 pm »
ok! got it... will try when i get a chance
thanks! :)

ARTIFACT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 754
    • ARTIFACT - my scratch designed & built arcade cabinet
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #52 on: August 24, 2007, 08:22:22 pm »
it all works beautifully!

why is hiscore support not in the official mame?
it rocks...

thanks for the info everyone

ARTIFACT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 754
    • ARTIFACT - my scratch designed & built arcade cabinet
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #53 on: August 26, 2007, 10:31:43 pm »
quick question guys

do you know if this works with compiling advancemame?

SGT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1133
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #54 on: August 26, 2007, 11:48:15 pm »
do you know if this works with compiling advancemame?

According to the docs, it already has high score support:

http://advancemame.sourceforge.net/doc-advmame.html#8.15.4

I may be wrong, but I think that development stopped at .106.   So you'd need to get your roms rolled back.

ARTIFACT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 754
    • ARTIFACT - my scratch designed & built arcade cabinet
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #55 on: August 27, 2007, 11:46:52 am »
yeah hi score is taken care of

but the no-nag-screenis to me a huge thing in this update... is there a command to skip both the ''press ok'' screen and the warnings, etc?

regular mame works ok with my monitor, but i really like how DEEP the video options are... i wish there was a config wizard on regular mame for video output like advcfg.exe ...

thanks guys!

Katana Man

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 224
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #56 on: August 30, 2007, 10:45:39 pm »
OK, we need some basic questions answered for compiling with hiscore.  The "unofficial hiscore.dat" site was not helpful with this either. (why does he call it "unofficial", and his logo is spelled Highscore.dat?)

1. Does hiscore support more games than Mame 118's savestates?

2. Why did the developers drop hiscore in favor of savestates? 

3. Assuming someone is not currently using hiscore, what is the shortest compiling route? Can I start with Mame 118 source and apply hi_117u3.txt?

4. Are all the high score files stored in the /hi directory compatible, regardless of the version of Mame (assuming it's a version of Mame that supported hiscore, or a hiscore compiled version)?

5. Does the hiscore.dat file ever need to be updated?

6. Can you use a combination of auto-savestates and hiscore?  I'm assuming no, because if the savestate is working properly, the game never exits, therefore never writes the high score to the /hi folder.


Personally, high scores are very important to me, and I want them in the latest mame.  I can certainly compile a mame with hiscore support, but I wonder about the future.  Say a year later, if I want a newer Mame, how much work will it be to skip up to the latest version?  Do I need to track down all of these hiscore diff files forever?
« Last Edit: August 30, 2007, 11:04:44 pm by Katana Man »

MKChamp

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 502
  • I'm a llama!
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #57 on: August 31, 2007, 01:10:07 am »
1. I believe so, but the list of games that support save states is getting bigger. The main problem I have with save states is that just because the game supports save states doesn't mean that the savestate in, say, 118 will be good for 119. So, you would lose the highscore if you upgrade in that instance. Plus, I don't want the game to start up where I left off. I like the authenticity of 'booting' the game up...even if I am a hypocrite in the fact that the game may have not been able to save the high score if turned off.

2. Improper reporting of bugs...and not authentic

3. yes

4. I haven't had any issues. A few changed here and there, but I doubt you'll run into any issues.

5. It's got all the popular ones...and a boat load of ones you'll never even play. Alot of the newer games added to MAME would did have save high score feature and utilize nvram.

6. You could do that...the games that support save state would save...but refer back to my answer to question 1.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2007, 01:12:08 am by MKChamp »

ARTIFACT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 754
    • ARTIFACT - my scratch designed & built arcade cabinet
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #58 on: August 31, 2007, 02:39:58 pm »
does the latest version 117u3 work with the latest mame 118?

thanks

Cananas

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 299
  • and the seventh day... PacMan was created
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #59 on: September 03, 2007, 01:09:04 pm »
does the latest version 117u3 work with the latest mame 118?

thanks

Please, read the two post above yours. Point 3.

ARTIFACT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 754
    • ARTIFACT - my scratch designed & built arcade cabinet
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #60 on: September 03, 2007, 08:05:51 pm »
oups

got it... long thread!

ARTIFACT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 754
    • ARTIFACT - my scratch designed & built arcade cabinet
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #61 on: September 09, 2007, 06:27:05 pm »
maybe i missed it, but is there a patch/diff file to disable the loading, and ''initializing'' screens with the white box around?

(v 118)

thanks!

MKChamp

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 502
  • I'm a llama!
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #62 on: September 10, 2007, 02:25:24 pm »
maybe i missed it, but is there a patch/diff file to disable the loading, and ''initializing'' screens with the white box around?

(v 118)

thanks!

All that was discussed here:
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=66512.0

ARTIFACT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 754
    • ARTIFACT - my scratch designed & built arcade cabinet
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #63 on: September 10, 2007, 03:25:09 pm »
thanks - I knew I had seen it before but couldn't find it.

retrometro

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 456
    • Arcade, mame, retro... and the gp2x.
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #64 on: September 15, 2007, 11:17:39 pm »

I've just finished reading Mr. Do's help page and this thread.  Is it a proper conclusion that until a v119 patch is posted here for hiscores that I have to wait before applying to the v119 source?

thanks

-------- gp2x and retro... play it forever! ------------------------
http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=0EE573E86D5A86E0
--------------------------------------------------------------------

retrometro

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 456
    • Arcade, mame, retro... and the gp2x.
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #65 on: September 16, 2007, 01:08:35 am »

I've just finished reading Mr. Do's help page and this thread.  Is it a proper conclusion that until a v119 patch is posted here for hiscores that I have to wait before applying to the v119 source?

thanks

I guess I didn't read carefully enough.  :-o   Also, it turns out my compile errors were b/c i saved the diff file without all the carriage returns / and didn't convert the text file to dos from unix.   

2nd question.... history of mame and hi scores past .106... why did they take support out to begin with?

______________________ edit:___

BTW, it seems now that with the hi score patch 117u3 on v118 source that after I press TAB for the menu, I can't go into any of the options.  Has anyone else seen this problem?
« Last Edit: September 16, 2007, 11:44:25 am by retrometro »
-------- gp2x and retro... play it forever! ------------------------
http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=0EE573E86D5A86E0
--------------------------------------------------------------------

ARTIFACT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 754
    • ARTIFACT - my scratch designed & built arcade cabinet
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #66 on: September 16, 2007, 05:45:31 pm »
it works fine here with 118u5... even added the code changes to remove all decoding/loading msgs... NICE!

beernut

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Converting for linux Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #67 on: September 17, 2007, 11:09:49 am »
For those of you using linux and needing to remove the extra linefeeds quickly try:
sed 'n;d' high_score_diff_file.txt > new_diff_file.txt

Best regards,
Mark

TheDriver

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 208
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #68 on: October 04, 2007, 04:15:39 am »
I could'nt get this to work. I have only been compiling my own builds for the last few month's but after compiling the hiscore diff I still get the nag screen and loading messages with the white box and the hiscore's still don't save. I patched my source with 119u1/2 diff files then the hiscore diff taking out the tab option's (as I have it set the way I want it)

Regards.

MKChamp

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 502
  • I'm a llama!
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #69 on: October 04, 2007, 12:39:29 pm »
Sounds like you may be removing an extra line or something in the hiscore diff. You should remove the section
BEGINNING with
diff -r -c -N old/emu/inptport.c src/emu/inptport.c

All the way to RIGHT ABOVE
diff -r -c -N old/emu/mame.c src/emu/mame.c

Look to see if there are any errors reported in the command window when applying the patch.

If you do not see any issues, then the next thing would be to make sure you have copied the compiled exe into your MAME directory.

TheDriver

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 208
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #70 on: October 05, 2007, 07:53:36 am »
I will have another compile this weekend and post back, I'l compile without removing the line's & compile removing them again just to make sure.

Regards.

ARTIFACT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 754
    • ARTIFACT - my scratch designed & built arcade cabinet
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #71 on: October 05, 2007, 06:06:40 pm »
make sure you read tghe whole thread including details on the hi folder and dat file...

loading screens are not removed with this diff if i remember... that s on a separate thread.

good luck

MKChamp

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 502
  • I'm a llama!
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #72 on: October 05, 2007, 07:58:42 pm »
make sure you read tghe whole thread including details on the hi folder and dat file...

loading screens are not removed with this diff if i remember... that s on a separate thread.

good luck

They have been incorporated starting with hi_119u2....

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5506
    • Bella's Arcade
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #73 on: October 06, 2007, 08:07:42 pm »
Awesome.  I'm having a Super Pac-Man and Mappy problem with .118u1 (won't load - getting errors) so I'm going going to try and compile .119u3 with the hiscore.diff patch... problem is I need to reread everything!  This patch is going to be great if the loading screens are eliminated.  THANKS!!   :cheers:

TheDriver

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 208
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #74 on: October 08, 2007, 01:45:14 pm »
Awesome.  I'm having a Super Pac-Man and Mappy problem with .118u1 (won't load - getting errors) so I'm going going to try and compile .119u3 with the hiscore.diff patch... problem is I need to reread everything!  This patch is going to be great if the loading screens are eliminated.  THANKS!!   :cheers:

More model2 loveliness, yay!!! I am compiling just now, if I get the chance tonight I will post if the hiscore patch work's this time (Just in from work, need food!!!)

Regards.

TheDriver

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 208
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #75 on: October 08, 2007, 03:36:35 pm »
Ok the hiscore diff I will assume has worked, I say this because there is now no longer any loading screen's, warning's or white box screen's of any type. I do not have time tonight to check the hiscore but last time I compiled I still had all the nag screen's so that's why I assume it has now worked. I will check the hi-score's tommorow to be certain.

Regards.

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5506
    • Bella's Arcade
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #76 on: October 08, 2007, 11:15:18 pm »
Cool.  I'm compiling now so I should know if it works pretty soon.

Here's a question: I had .118u2 installed and I downlaoded all the new files and I'm compiling .119u3 - can I just copy the 8 new compiled .119u3 files over the old .118u2 ones?  Or do I have to install .119 and copy over that?  I've never skipped over versions before.  Thanks!   :cheers:

TheDriver

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 208
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #77 on: October 09, 2007, 06:30:30 am »
Just copy the 8 new files into your mame directory. :)

TheDriver

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 208
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #78 on: October 09, 2007, 07:12:43 am »
Hi score's now being saved, no clue as to what happened before, maybe I never ran the hiscore diff after 119u1 & 2 I don't know but it works now, thanks all.

Regards.

Lakersfan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 190
Re: hiscore diff (all versions-1 location)
« Reply #79 on: October 14, 2007, 02:38:24 am »
First off, thanks to MKChamp for these diffs!! They are much appreciated.

Quick question anyone can probably answer... When I'm done compiling, I have the following files:

mame.exe
chdman.exe
jedutil.exe
ledutil.exe
makemeta.exe
regrep.exe
romcmp.exe
srcclean.exe
src2html.exe

Are they all needed in my Mame folder? Mr. Do's page says to copy to my mame folder, but when I get a pre-compiled (normal) version of mame from the net, it doesn't have most these files from what I remember.

Thanks!  :cheers:

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31