Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Best Win-based OS for MAME?  (Read 1093 times)

ArcadeFX

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:November 10, 2004, 11:16:56 pm
  • All the Dude ever wanted was his rug back!
    • ArcadeFX
Best Win-based OS for MAME?
« on: April 07, 2003, 10:30:25 pm »
I have been using win98 for the past 2 years and i am sick to death of it.  Has MAME gotten any better running on XP or 2000? Running straight DOS is out of the question since I use the same box as file system and jukebox.

Cheers,

Sasquatch!

• Offline Offline
  • Last login:March 01, 2010, 04:11:47 pm
  • Toot-Toot!
    • Arcade Paradise
Re:Best Win-based OS for MAME?
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2003, 11:53:24 pm »
I'm running MAME32, and I find it to run perfect on 2000 and on XP.

ArcadeFX

• Offline Offline
  • Last login:November 10, 2004, 11:16:56 pm
  • All the Dude ever wanted was his rug back!
    • ArcadeFX
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2003, 12:19:40 am »
I know it will run perfectly on each win platform but there is a big difference in performance when it comes to some of the newer games.  That is what i am looking for.

Lilwolf

• Trade Count: (+1)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:July 31, 2022, 10:26:34 pm
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2003, 11:51:31 am »
XP is about the same as 98.  Maybe a little faster for 98, but not enought to make a difference.