Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games  (Read 44243 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

livingonwheels

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games
« Reply #80 on: October 18, 2017, 09:28:50 pm »
I've been having an issue with my Konami machine (the one with vga). In the lower left corner of the vga screen I see some wavy lines or interference of some sort. I'd say about a couple inches or so. I hooked the machine's board up to another monitor and didn't have this issue. I also ran different power supplies to the machine's board to see if there was any difference, and there was not. Lastly I connected a Dreamcast to the machines monitor to see if the monitor itself was the issue, but the Dreamcast's image was perfect, no wavy line interference at all. It just seems the machine's board and monitor are not working well together anymore for some reason.

ice2921

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games
« Reply #81 on: October 20, 2017, 10:35:07 pm »
Interestingly enough, hooked up an old Commodore 64 monitor I had laying around and it works. I'll see if I can get it mounted for giggles. The funny thing is that the monitor is worth more than the cade fully restored.  ;D

jbserra

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games
« Reply #82 on: October 23, 2017, 11:00:59 am »
Here are some pics of the playstation conversion

Viewsonix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games
« Reply #83 on: October 24, 2017, 11:03:00 am »
I've been messing around with one of these for a while, and after raising the base up 6 inches on a riser box, it feels a lot better to play.

What I wanted to do was do some other cheap mods to it, like replace the 12 inch TV, and maybe put a lighted marquee on it.

The problem is the CPU box apparently puts out a super weak signal, so that most TVs won't recognize it.

I've tried adapter cables to get it to display to LCDs thru VGA but no dice (that was one suggestion I received).

Does ANYONE have the model numbers of TVs that they have used that work? 

I've tried posting around a few places but had little luck.

I know the old RetroBlast website had a page talking about modifying this thing, but that site is long gone and archive.org doesn't have that article saved.

jbserra

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games
« Reply #84 on: October 24, 2017, 02:18:51 pm »
PM me your email address.  I can share from Dropbox the contents of the old RetroBlast website for this machine.

I'm using a 20" Sony Trinitron CRT TV.  Works great.  Might be a little big for the graphic capabilities, but fits the cabinet and works properly.  I submitted some pictures previously to this thread.
« Last Edit: October 24, 2017, 02:24:18 pm by jbserra »

scheky25

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games
« Reply #85 on: December 08, 2017, 09:41:40 am »
Does anyone have the tabletop version of this arcade game? The tabletop has RCA jacks as an input for plug and play games or an additional console to be viewed through the monitor. Is there a way to disassemble a PS controller and attach it to the control buttons on the system?

Viewsonix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games
« Reply #86 on: January 05, 2018, 09:31:07 pm »
Thanks for sharing JBSierra, that is good info.

As far as I know, the standup version also has those rca jacks in the interface box on the inside for plug and play games.

Were you trying to replace the original joysticks and buttons with a PS controller?

jbserra

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games
« Reply #87 on: January 06, 2018, 10:09:53 am »
Does anyone have the tabletop version of this arcade game? The tabletop has RCA jacks as an input for plug and play games or an additional console to be viewed through the monitor. Is there a way to disassemble a PS controller and attach it to the control buttons on the system?

Yes, you can use an old PS controller and the pinout on this thread to allow the use of the control panel with a Playstation.  Pictures were in Reply #82 above.

Rada Rada

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • I want to upgrade my arcade cabinet!
Re: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games
« Reply #88 on: January 11, 2018, 01:11:07 am »
Would someone be able to help me out by sending over the archived webpage for this cabinet? Yes I too fell into the trap and looking to change the monitor and add more sound.

MdPhoenix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games
« Reply #89 on: January 21, 2018, 09:14:48 pm »
It is both hilarious and interesting to me that this thread is still going.  When I first found it, and saw it started in 2007, I had no hope.  But seeing that it keeps getting revived, I've gotta laugh, and join in.

I have attempted the same as Ice2921.  I cannot get it to work properly on an LCD.  I have a Dell LCD 4:3 monitor with a composite input.  Sometimes I get a B/W display with strange lines, although the games are perfectly visible.  Sometimes I get what looks like a weak signal along with an off-color band going down the left side of the monitor about 1/5 of the way in from the side.  It looks good on the CRT the unit came with, but as we know, the colors are a bit off and it's quite small.  My idea was to convert this into a tabletop as the base was trashed on mine.

I have no serious love for this thing, but 4 dear friends of mine spent way too much on it for me and I want to resurrect it to make them feel better.  I know they paid at least 200 bucks for it.  I didn't have the heart to tell them it was crap.  Only that the base was water damaged and it needed to be rebuilt.

I saw up above that Viewsonix stated the box might just not put out enough juice for another monitor.  Has anyone tried a video amp?  I'd much rather use an LCD, but I do have a source of old flat screen CRTs at work.  I'm going to bring one home to see if the display is better on one of those.  But LCD is definitely desired.

jbserra

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games
« Reply #90 on: February 02, 2018, 11:41:37 am »
Would someone be able to help me out by sending over the archived webpage for this cabinet? Yes I too fell into the trap and looking to change the monitor and add more sound.

PM your email address and I'll add you to the share on dropbox.  Thanks

jbserra

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games
« Reply #91 on: February 02, 2018, 11:44:46 am »
It is both hilarious and interesting to me that this thread is still going.  When I first found it, and saw it started in 2007, I had no hope.  But seeing that it keeps getting revived, I've gotta laugh, and join in.

I have attempted the same as Ice2921.  I cannot get it to work properly on an LCD.  I have a Dell LCD 4:3 monitor with a composite input.  Sometimes I get a B/W display with strange lines, although the games are perfectly visible.  Sometimes I get what looks like a weak signal along with an off-color band going down the left side of the monitor about 1/5 of the way in from the side.  It looks good on the CRT the unit came with, but as we know, the colors are a bit off and it's quite small.  My idea was to convert this into a tabletop as the base was trashed on mine.

I have no serious love for this thing, but 4 dear friends of mine spent way too much on it for me and I want to resurrect it to make them feel better.  I know they paid at least 200 bucks for it.  I didn't have the heart to tell them it was crap.  Only that the base was water damaged and it needed to be rebuilt.

I saw up above that Viewsonix stated the box might just not put out enough juice for another monitor.  Has anyone tried a video amp?  I'd much rather use an LCD, but I do have a source of old flat screen CRTs at work.  I'm going to bring one home to see if the display is better on one of those.  But LCD is definitely desired.

The only place on the internet to talk about it! :-)  Welcome to the party!

MdPhoenix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games
« Reply #92 on: February 05, 2018, 05:55:32 pm »
Hey, thanks! 

I got it working on an old Commodore CRT, and a tiny 7" LCD screen from a vehicle entertainment system.  But no go on a 20" LCD.  My buddy brought over a VHS enhancer (one of those old tweaking boxes for getting past Macrovision), and it didn't help much at all.  I think I might try buying a straight video AMP from Amazon and give it a shot.  I REALLY want it working with this Dell 20" LCD.


BigJer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games
« Reply #93 on: February 08, 2018, 12:27:38 pm »
Greetings all!  What a wonderful thread.  I am here to help keep it going with some questions.  Keep in mind this is my first foray into Arcades as a hobby.(Not to mention from reading reviews around the web and this thread it appears people do not consider this device a "true" arcade system, but meh!)

I picked one of these up a week back or so for what I felt was relatively cheap.  It fired up and I could play "some" of the games.  The problem was that not all of the controls worked.  Upon removing the controller platform I discovered why.  It appears, what I will call the pass-through controller pcb, that the wire connections have been soldered and re-soldered countless times.  I found numerous wire breaks.  (Image 1)With this knowledge and the wiring pin out found in this thread, (Thanks for that btw!) I will be attempting to remove all wires this weekend and cleaning up the board as best as possible and then re-tinning all the wires and soldering them back into the board.

My question is directed to jbserra.  Where did you find the board you were using to mod that controller?  (jbserra's image from post above or Image 2 attached)  My thought was, if my cleanup and re-solder was not successful this weekend, could I not get two of those boards and and hook one up for Player 1 controls and one up for Player 2 controls and figure a way out to mount them inside?  Was that a specific board for your mod or is it just a pass-through for the connections much like the original board in the system?

Anyway, thanks again for keeping this thread alive and the information provided here.  It has helped me feel much more comfortable about taking on what I am going to do.  I do not plan on doing any mods "yet"  I would like to get it up and running first and let the kids and grandkids play it first.  Not to mention, I spent many an allowance and mowed many a lawn just to feed my Joust addiction.

jbserra

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games
« Reply #94 on: February 16, 2018, 04:01:04 pm »
That is the original board that plugs into the back of the cartridge, but you have to remove it from the sleeve.  I disconnect the board from the back of the cartridge and hook my ribbon cable to it to take the CP inputs and pass it along to my hacked PS2 controller which is plugged into the PS2 :-)

BigJer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games
« Reply #95 on: February 23, 2018, 12:23:06 pm »
Yeah, I guess it is.  The one I had was pretty beat up from constant re-solders.  I managed to clean it up, re-tin all the wires and re-solder everything cleanly.  Only issue was the reset solder pad was missing.  I can jump that one later to an unused pad if needed.  Probably good that I do not have it anyway so that the grand kids can't constantly hit the reset button.

Thanks for the input!

MdPhoenix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games
« Reply #96 on: March 06, 2018, 11:45:41 pm »
No luck with either the video amp or the Composite to HDMI conversion.  I still get terrible video with strange lines going down the screen.  What could possibly cause this thing to work very well with other CRTs, but not play nice with LCD  (except for that little 7 inch guy)?


Nckeyman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games
« Reply #97 on: July 22, 2018, 10:08:11 pm »
The year is 2018 and I'm needing a monitor for my big midway that this forum is about.. so I'll run my issue by yall. Its plugged up and I cut the switch on and within 5 seconds u see the monitor attempt to turn on some colors appear then it shuts off with a white dot about 3 inches across.. with 1/4 of the top of the screen also lit and then goes black. No sounds either. I seen a pic of the machine working when it was posted for sale,  I got it for free when I went to get it and it was doing this. I'll try to post 2 pics... i so wanna show my kid defender and joust and rampage.

livingonwheels

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games
« Reply #98 on: August 27, 2018, 09:19:17 pm »
The year is 2018 and I'm needing a monitor for my big midway that this forum is about.. so I'll run my issue by yall. Its plugged up and I cut the switch on and within 5 seconds u see the monitor attempt to turn on some colors appear then it shuts off with a white dot about 3 inches across.. with 1/4 of the top of the screen also lit and then goes black. No sounds either. I seen a pic of the machine working when it was posted for sale,  I got it for free when I went to get it and it was doing this. I'll try to post 2 pics... i so wanna show my kid defender and joust and rampage.

It might be a little too late to help you out, but have you tried flipping the switch under the unit? I had a similar issue and my switch was "in the middle" when it should have been either to the left or right.

evil jerry

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • I got more straps than Matt's assless chaps
Re: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games
« Reply #99 on: September 13, 2018, 03:27:43 pm »
I just picked up one of these machines and it appears it was working except the control panel.  I didn't care about the internals however so I gutted it  and i'm in the process of building a vertical machine with an LCD, light up marquee, and new control panel.   If anyone needs a control panel, buttons, 12 in 1 game board, Non light up wood marquee, or bezel just let me know.  I will give you want ever you want for free as I rather you have a working machine than my trash can eating arcade parts. As for the TV, I've already trashed that piece.   

alphaNate

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games
« Reply #100 on: September 24, 2018, 10:46:45 pm »
I would like the game board. Where are you located?

alphaNate

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games
« Reply #101 on: September 24, 2018, 10:54:28 pm »
Also. I have a question about the original TCL TV. I have a harmony remote. I tried programming it with the TCL brand and model number into it. The TV doesn't respond. Has some one figured out what brand remote has worked for it. If any have worked. I know someone before got a universal remote to work. But I don't have that type. The harmony ones are programmed with info.

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6846
  • Technician
Re: Midway Arcade Cabinet by Big Electronic Games
« Reply #102 on: October 04, 2018, 10:13:43 pm »
Here is some repair information about the monitor in these machines (including a link to the monitor schematic):

https://forums.arcade-museum.com/showthread.php?t=437315
« Last Edit: October 05, 2018, 01:01:22 pm by Ken Layton »

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31