Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Question about "bending" wood  (Read 7289 times)

Boz

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:March 10, 2021, 09:24:11 am
    • Battle Chasers Upright Cabinet
Question about "bending" wood
« on: June 28, 2006, 03:13:31 pm »
I have limited experience working with wood, but am eager for the challege. The 4-player cardboard control panel I've been modeling has rather large symetric curves in the 3 and 4 player positions. When working with rather thick corrugated cardboard, making the curves was easy as pie. BUT, I'm positive that doing this with 10-ply oak plywood will take some special wood-working methods that I'm not aware of.

Can someone steer me in the right direction to accomplish what I'm after.

Thanks

My project link

shardian

• Saint is the evil mastermind
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:August 21, 2015, 03:11:31 pm
  • Friends don't let friends build frankenpanels...
Re: Question about "bending" wood
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2006, 03:47:14 pm »
I'm not woodworking vet, but I don't think you'll be bending 10 ply plywood any time soon. Your best bet would be to build up the side walls with several cuts of 3/4" ply in the curve of your choice. Glue and stack several layers of ply and there you go! Sand and putty the final side to get it smooth.

Boz

• Offline Offline
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2006, 04:32:12 pm »