Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Wood-burning on CP?  (Read 5125 times)

NanoMonkey

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:January 19, 2006, 09:47:21 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Wood-burning on CP?
« on: March 03, 2005, 10:33:42 pm »
This is my first time posting altough I've been lurking for several weeks.

I'm in the process of building a MAMETM cabinet and am debating what to do for the control panel. It is an AP3 cab and I'm planning to have a fairly standard contorl panel layout (2 8-way sticks, 6 buttons per player, 1 trackball, 1 spinner).
My debate is what to do for control panel graphics: wood burning or vinyl CPO?
The cabinet will be stained and varnished wood and part of me believes it will look better if I burn a few classic characters (pac-man, space invaders, et cetera) into the control panel and apply a nice glossy topcoat than if I simply stick on a layer of vinyl. Since this decision is holding up everything at this point I'd like to get some opinions as to what I should do (yes, the cabinet is already constructed and I've been fighting with this for a week trying to decide what to do before I start drilling and finishing it).

Has anyone wood burned their control panel? Do you like it? Do the grooves detract from it? What did you use for a topcoat? (I tried searching but couldn't come up with anything)