Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: routing question  (Read 7134 times)

big daddy

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:May 01, 2019, 12:16:13 pm
  • I'm a llama!
routing question
« on: October 02, 2004, 09:05:48 pm »
Again, sorry with the woodworking 101 question, but I'm new to routers.

I need to route out 2 things
1) I have 3/4 inch control panel and want to route an area for my happs supers to recess into the bottom to give me more joystick.
2) I possibly need to route out the trackball faceplate once I mount it to get it flush with my cp.

I borrowed my father-in-laws router and he had a smallish bit that seems like it will do the job of routing out an area.  I set the depth correctly and on a practice piece of wood was able to route out a chunk of area at the right depth.

My issue is...I couldn't see what I was cutting!  So I was routing out an area but I couldn't tell exactly what I was routing out.  I see on some of the sites people have this perfect square routed and I can't figure out how you do that because if the router is face down I can't see where the bit is to know to stop at a certain point or to follow that rectangle pattern!  What type of bit are you using to route out these areas?  How can you follow what you're actually cutting?  Thanks in advance for the help.

nostrebor

• Not enough wit to effectively use this space...
  • Wiki Contributor