Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)  (Read 11366 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Apollo

  • Yes You Can Have A Custom Title
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
    • Eight Bells
Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« on: July 16, 2004, 11:01:24 pm »
Well I'm finally finished, I was going to wait till my website was done to announce but hey I couldn't wait I'm sure you all understand, lol.
I started out over a year ago and had already decided that I wanted to make a cab that was different in some way from what I had already seen.
As a lot of you know I am no fan of big cluttered control panels and I wanted a really authentic arcade feel to the game play. When playing this cab you don't even realise that there are control panels on each side it just feels very arcade.
This is a fully rotatable 26" arcade monitor and rather than rotating from a horizontal to vertical position it rotates 360 degrees to a Street Fighter panel using 2XHapps comps and 7 buttons, a Defender/Stargate panel, a panel with Happs 3" trackball and Vortex spinner from Oscar and a panel with 2XHapp 4 way MsPac/Galag sticks with 2 buttons each.
The coin up, start buttons and monitor power button rotate with the monitor.
Inside is a 1.6GHz Duron processor with 256MB Ram, 40 GB HD, Arcade VGA, IPAC-2, Opti-Pac. I am running XP home with windows command line MAME and Mamewah as frontend. Sound is through a Happ kiosk amp and 2X10W shielded arcade speakers. Panels are powder coated 2mm mild steel.
I realise that a lot of you would have chosen different layouts for the control panels but for the games that me and my friends and family play this is perfect.
Thanks to everyone on the BYOAC forum for all the help and advice, special thanks to ROM for the awesome artwork.
It's been great putting this beast together now on to the next project, lol.

Apollo

  • Yes You Can Have A Custom Title
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
    • Eight Bells
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2004, 11:10:23 pm »
Another pic ( sorry about the quality, disposable camera ).

Apollo

  • Yes You Can Have A Custom Title
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
    • Eight Bells
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2004, 11:12:24 pm »
Last one!

SaiNRuB

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 325
  • Pluck your magic twanger, Froggy!
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2004, 12:03:09 am »
Apollo, that is a very interesting design you have. I think you did a great job and you will have lots of fun playing your Arcade 360 for a long time. I like your choice in layouts for each control panel and there all so roomy! I think gaming on that machine would be a very pleasant and satisfying experience knowing you dont have to sweat switching to another control panel when you ca just rotate the display to your control panel of choice.

Good job man!

walls83

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1147
  • beer is good
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2004, 12:26:30 am »
that is crazy as hell...  Looks good though.  Nice work
"A true warrior enters the arena with all his powers at the ready." ~ Gouki

RetroJames

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2267
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2004, 02:11:25 am »
 :o


wow...that is pretty dang cool.  I never would have thought of that.  Really cool stuff.  Powder coated panels!  What are the 4 layouts?

again... :o....wow

MiKman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 360
  • Blah
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2004, 02:12:40 am »
So only the top rotates then?  Wow I definately would like to see some construction pictures on that baby!  Where you gonna put it?  I would think it can only be in the center of the room :-)  Interesting design, nice Job.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2004, 02:13:27 am by MiKman »

Apollo

  • Yes You Can Have A Custom Title
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
    • Eight Bells
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2004, 02:20:46 am »
Believe it or not it takes up pretty much the same space a standard cocktail cabinet. It was designed basically straight out of my head so I designed as I built. 2X2" pine frame for the base with 16mm ply for the panels. It sits on 4 swivelling and locking 50Kg castors. The control panels are supported on 4 interlocking 5X1" pine planks. The monitor unit sits on a ply circle with 4 castors attached to the bottom and held centered by 4 L brackets.

whammoed

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2281
  • Crack don't smoke itself
    • NiceMite
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #8 on: July 17, 2004, 02:21:18 am »
Hey, that puts a whole different "spin" on things...sorry, couldn't resist.  Great job.

NIVO

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1235
  • danny_galaga is my mail man.
    • N.A.M.E. - arcade cabinet project
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #9 on: July 17, 2004, 02:31:28 am »
very nice work apollo, as usual the new innovative designs keep this hobby rolling forward. Well Done.

Apollo

  • Yes You Can Have A Custom Title
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
    • Eight Bells
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #10 on: July 17, 2004, 09:30:11 pm »
Thanks for all the great feedback folks, sorry about the rubbish pic quality. I'll get some better ones for the website when it's up and running.

crashwg

  • Trade Count: (+8)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3070
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #11 on: July 18, 2004, 10:34:13 am »
I'm not sure as to how you've got the controls all connected, but the first thing that comes to mind for me would be somone playing with the sticks/buttons on the other CPs and screwing you up.  But... I've thought of a sollution (if you haven't already that is), you could have the ground wire automatically disconnect from the not-in-use panels when they are not in use.

I can't say I'm quite sure how to implement this, but I'm sure you can come up with something.  ;)
If there's bees in the trap I'm catching em
By the thorax and abdomen
And sanding the stingers down to a rough quill
Then I dip em in ink, and I scribble a bit
But if it they wriggle then I tickle em until they hold still
Lemme say it again
In my land of pretend
I use bees as a motherf_kin' pen

Apollo

  • Yes You Can Have A Custom Title
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
    • Eight Bells
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #12 on: July 18, 2004, 04:50:36 pm »
The way I do it is to say "hey anyone who messes with the controls is gonna get ****ed up!" that usually does the trick, lol.
Good idea though.

quarterstringer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 280
  • Rampart
    • Rampart
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #13 on: July 18, 2004, 07:02:01 pm »
That is the craziest :o but most original cab I've seen here. Are you going to get 4 coin doors too?

Apollo

  • Yes You Can Have A Custom Title
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
    • Eight Bells
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #14 on: July 18, 2004, 07:23:15 pm »
Nah I have 1 but Im going to give it a miss. It's a bit too much of an over hang for a coin door and 4 would be kinda crazy, lol. Thanks for your comments.

Nannuu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 984
  • Anytime now, I'll start my cabinet
    • Will and Liliana's Projects and Family Photos
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #15 on: July 18, 2004, 09:49:21 pm »
Yeah baby!  This is why I love the board so much!  Different, cool and very functional!  Well done.

Did you think of making the panels rotate instead of the monitor so you don't have to walk all the way over to the next panel  :P.  "Well I'd love to play a different game but I don't want to walk all the way over there." LOL
Next I'll be on fries, and that's when the big money starts rolling in.

Witchboard

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2004
    • Oklahoma Coin-Operated Collectors
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #16 on: July 18, 2004, 11:07:46 pm »
I guess you'll have to put that cab in the middle of the room instead of pushing it up against the wall.  I can't say that I personally care for the design, but it is something original and different and that's always good.  Breaks the monotony.  Great work on the construction.  

Apollo

  • Yes You Can Have A Custom Title
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
    • Eight Bells
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #17 on: July 18, 2004, 11:51:16 pm »
It doesn't have to go in the middle of the room. I pretty much keep the Defender/Stargate right up against the wall so you have access to the other 3 and for playing Defender/Stargate I just either spin the whole game around on it's castors or pull it out from the wall. Works really well and as I say it takes up about the same space as a cocktail.


PedroSilva

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 373
  • Grettings !
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #18 on: July 19, 2004, 05:47:59 am »
Fantastic ...

BobbyG66

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 588
  • Current project: Dodgeball
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #19 on: July 19, 2004, 07:11:26 am »
Yep, I think that's the first one of those!

Great job!  I remember some people discussing this type of design a while back, but you actually did it!

Congratulations!
Half of the people you meet are below average.

Apollo

  • Yes You Can Have A Custom Title
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
    • Eight Bells
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #20 on: July 19, 2004, 09:30:13 pm »
Thanks for the great comments folks. I played it last night with the house lights off. It rocks!

GGKoul

  • Cheesecake Apprentice
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4722
  • I was once a big man!! -4700 posts later...
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #21 on: July 19, 2004, 10:59:06 pm »
WoW!!!

If you build a Driving cab that rotates like the one that been done in the past.. You'll have a full arcade in 2 machines!


cdbrown

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1243
  • Bowowow
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #22 on: July 20, 2004, 03:30:42 am »
That's an excellent an original design.  It is very cool and looks nice and neat.  Is the top section easy to move - does it wobble around at all during a vigorous game?

Again - sweet idea and job well done
-cdbrown

Rom

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 83
    • Cabinet Photo Album
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #23 on: July 20, 2004, 05:02:14 am »
Wow, awesome job. I'm still getting my head around your turning cabinet. An ingenious way of doing things.

Apollo

  • Yes You Can Have A Custom Title
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
    • Eight Bells
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #24 on: July 20, 2004, 05:38:51 am »
No wobble and all in all, very solid. The bottom castors lock and the top unit is heavy enough that it pretty much just sits there even during a full on 2 player Street Fighter session. I appreciate everyones positive comments. Thankyou all and ROM thanks again for the excellent artwork.
Cheers all.

Matt, GoC

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 247
  • Must... stop... itching!!!
    • GameOn!
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #25 on: July 24, 2004, 04:20:59 am »
Holy (explitive deleted) Hand Grenades!  That is the coolest (explitive deleted) thing I have ever (explitive deleted) seen!  (explitive deleted) (explitive deleted) with (explitive deleted) and (explitive deleted) with a little bit of (explitive deleted) for good measure!
That's the (explitive deleted)!!!

Heh heh, always wanted to (explitive deleted) do that... :P .  Excuse my potty mouth but that's pretty cool man!

Yander

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 160
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #26 on: July 26, 2004, 12:48:38 pm »
Wow that is crazy, seems to take up a lot of space. That idea wouldn't "fly" in my house.

Generic Eric

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4517
  • Restore! Don't maim for MAME, build from scratch!
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,143226.0.html
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #27 on: July 27, 2004, 02:36:20 am »
Thats funky
good show

atog

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 236
  • I'm a llama!
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #28 on: July 27, 2004, 07:09:18 pm »
"EXTERMINATE    EXTERMINATE    EXTERMINATE"

Apollo

  • Yes You Can Have A Custom Title
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
    • Eight Bells
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #29 on: July 27, 2004, 08:31:41 pm »
Yeah I never noticed the Dalek thing before, lmao.

Apollo

  • Yes You Can Have A Custom Title
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
    • Eight Bells
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #30 on: August 02, 2004, 03:24:06 am »
Man that is one awesome and excellent piece of arcade machine!

Oooops is that mine?

ras2a

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 480
  • I drink, therefore I am!
    • Nolij
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #31 on: August 02, 2004, 09:32:05 am »
Yeah I never noticed the Dalek thing before, lmao.

Yeah this design is well ace, we could use it in the new Doctor Who series...oh blast that's right, No Daleks in the new series - It's all the 'Nation' estate's fault...B******s!

Craig

Apollo

  • Yes You Can Have A Custom Title
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
    • Eight Bells
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #32 on: August 06, 2004, 08:19:19 am »
Thanks dude, yeah shame about the Daleks.

Minwah

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7657
    • MAMEWAH
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #33 on: August 15, 2004, 07:03:20 pm »
Mad!!!  :o

Cool idea, it's amazing how people keep coming up with such original stuff :)

PintinhoDJ

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #34 on: August 16, 2004, 07:18:38 am »
Thats Insane!  :o

Very good job...

saint

  • turned to the Dark Side
  • Supreme Chancellor
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5900
  • I only work in cyberspace...
    • Build Your Own Arcade Controls
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #35 on: August 17, 2004, 11:53:36 pm »
The new series will have the Daleks... http://slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=04/08/04/2218216&tid=214&tid=1

By the way Apollo - holy cow, wow! Heck of a cabinet - kudos!

--- saint


Yeah I never noticed the Dalek thing before, lmao.

Yeah this design is well ace, we could use it in the new Doctor Who series...oh blast that's right, No Daleks in the new series - It's all the 'Nation' estate's fault...B******s!

Craig
--- John St.Clair
     Build Your Own Arcade Controls FAQ
     http://www.arcadecontrols.com/
     Project Arcade 2!
     http://www.projectarcade.com/
     saint@arcadecontrols.com

Grasshopper

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2238
  • life, don't talk to me about life
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #36 on: August 18, 2004, 06:55:31 pm »
As you seem to be into Dr Who, perhaps you should have done a single octagonal shaped control panel instead of 4 separate panels. The cab would then end up looking a bit like the Tardis' central console.

You could then have 8 different playing positions, that would be the ultimate frankenpanel!

I've just done a google search of Tardis and console, and guess what, it appears there are a whole bunch of people out there who have built replicas!

http://my.ohio.voyager.net/~abartmes/console.htm

And I thought us BYOAC people were nuts!!
"Patriotism is the last refuge of the scoundrel." - Samuel Johnson

Tilzs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 332
  • Neat
    • Cocktail Arcade
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #37 on: August 18, 2004, 07:42:12 pm »
You know what would be cooler and maybe a bit more space saveing, if the control panels on this thing folded down like the leafs on a leaf table.

Witchboard

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2004
    • Oklahoma Coin-Operated Collectors
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #38 on: August 18, 2004, 09:56:32 pm »
Somebody else is working on something similar to that.  Can't remember who though.

Apollo

  • Yes You Can Have A Custom Title
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
    • Eight Bells
Re:Arcade 360 finished! (world first?)
« Reply #39 on: August 21, 2004, 03:47:12 am »
Yeah the folding down thing did cross my mind but the space it would save vs the technical problems of doing it wasn't worth the hassle. It actually doesn't take up much room believe it or not. Like I said about the same ( or less ) as a cocktail.
Been playing it for about 6 weeks now and had some mates round last night playing Street Fighter, Simpsons, TMNT and Bomberman and it rocked!

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31