Main > Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Forum

Pinny Juke - beta testers wanted.

(1/2) > >>

Rebel Oz 69:
Well, I've been tinkering away on this project for a few months, and I think it's nearly ready for an early beta release, to get a bit of feedback on how this project is tracking along, and to see if there are any important features needing inclusion prior to giving the general public a taste! :)

Some of the key points about this project:

* Video. Yes, it plays music videos (mp4, flv, vob, mpg, mkv, m4v, avi), as well as audio-only formats (m4a, mp3, wav).
* Dual monitor support. Full screen video on the secondary monitor (you pick which is the primary, where the track selection is displayed), or you can choose to use it with a single screen (with a smaller video display in the 'coming up' window).
* Touch screen support. You can 'drive' this baby using touch screen, mouse, joystick, or keyboard. Or all of the above. :)
* Preliminary support for (some) DW Jukebox skins / features. Not everything is flawless here, but the main elements of a lot of DW Jukebox skins are working already, with more coming soon.
* Windows only. Tested on versions of Windows from 7 to 11. No work is currently planned for a Linux version.
* Customisable. Choose from the included skins, import from DWJuke, or design your own using your favourite text editor (the skin file format pretty much obeys the standard DWJuke 'rules').
Also, please be aware that when we release it, this will be a licensed product, with a demo version freely available (which will be fully functional, with a media limit of 25 items).
Beta testers will receive an unrestricted license.

Some of the current limitations to consider:

* Screen orientation. Currently, only supports desktop display resolution (ie, no rotation or resolution switching), however, 19*6 works just as well as 16*9 or 4*3, so if your desktop is set to 'portait' natively, that works.