Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Vertical cab monitor issue  (Read 259 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mikehaggar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
  • Last login:September 23, 2022, 04:16:24 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Vertical cab monitor issue
« on: September 20, 2022, 04:20:42 pm »
Hi all, got a vertical cab the other day but the guy must have put the monitor in upside down as when I set mame to vertical in the ini file its upside down. What setting do I change in the uni to flip it the right way round? Thanks.

abispac

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1373
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:34:38 am
Re: Vertical cab monitor issue
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2022, 06:24:55 pm »
Hi all, got a vertical cab the other day but the guy must have put the monitor in upside down as when I set mame to vertical in the ini file its upside down. What setting do I change in the uni to flip it the right way round? Thanks.
on mame.ini its either

rotate left   1

or

rotate right  1


buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1472
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:17:11 pm
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Vertical cab monitor issue
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2022, 08:27:19 pm »
[T]he guy must have put the monitor in upside down...

There kinda isn't such a thing as upside down when it comes to arcade tubes. You flip them to hide screen burn, and then flip the yoke connectors on the PCB or use the dip switches there.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7303
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:10:56 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: Vertical cab monitor issue
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2022, 06:00:37 am »
Depending on what side the CRT is mounted, either -autoror or -autorol in mame.ini will do the trick.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead of pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

mikehaggar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
  • Last login:September 23, 2022, 04:16:24 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Vertical cab monitor issue
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2022, 03:31:13 pm »
Thanks for help guys. Putting a - before the autorols didnt do anything and adding a left or right to rotate 1 didnt do anything either. Any other suggestions?

makya

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • Last login:September 21, 2022, 04:27:23 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Vertical cab monitor issue
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2022, 03:49:48 pm »
Hi you should trying replacing one of those 0 with a 1.

rotate                   0
ror                       0
rol                       0
autoror                0
autorol                0

good luck !

mikehaggar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
  • Last login:September 23, 2022, 04:16:24 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Vertical cab monitor issue
« Reply #6 on: September 22, 2022, 06:03:31 pm »
Yeah tried changing all the rotate options there and nothing happened.

Zebidee

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2742
  • Last login:Today at 01:18:21 am
Re: Vertical cab monitor issue
« Reply #7 on: September 22, 2022, 06:29:00 pm »
cut-and-paste. Modify as you wish:

#
# CORE ROTATION OPTIONS
#
rotate                    1
ror                       1
rol                       0
autoror                   0
autorol                   0
flipx                     0
flipy                     0

Check out my completed projects!


mikehaggar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
  • Last login:September 23, 2022, 04:16:24 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Vertical cab monitor issue
« Reply #8 on: September 22, 2022, 07:42:02 pm »
Yea Ive tried rotate 1 and the ones below with various 1s but nothing happens. Stays just upside down vertical

Zebidee

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2742
  • Last login:Today at 01:18:21 am
Re: Vertical cab monitor issue
« Reply #9 on: September 22, 2022, 08:52:03 pm »
Three ifs:

If you are changing those settings but nothing happening, then maybe you are editing the wrong mame.ini

If all else fails: start GM into the default GUI. you can navigate to "Configure Options/Advanced Options" and change rotation there. Don't forget to "Save Configuration" before exiting out.

If curious, you can then check your mame.ini "CORE ROTATION OPTIONS" and see what was changed.
Check out my completed projects!


buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1472
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:17:11 pm
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Vertical cab monitor issue
« Reply #10 on: September 22, 2022, 10:07:08 pm »
If curious, you can then check your mame.ini "CORE ROTATION OPTIONS" and see what was changed.

Ah yes, that's a good one to check. In the same dir as the mame executable, first i would rename the ini folder so nothing is interfering, then make the changes to the mame.ini. Then try them,  and if they fail, see if the changes are still saved, or have reverted.

Zebidee

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2742
  • Last login:Today at 01:18:21 am
Re: Vertical cab monitor issue
« Reply #11 on: September 23, 2022, 02:14:33 am »
Butters raises a good point. If there are any other .ini files being loaded, like a "vertical.ini" in your INI folder, they will override the mame.ini settings.
Check out my completed projects!


mikehaggar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
  • Last login:September 23, 2022, 04:16:24 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Vertical cab monitor issue
« Reply #12 on: September 23, 2022, 07:34:44 am »
Yea it was the vertical written in the core options for orientation, it needed to be rotate_l then it worked. Thanks for your help all!

# CORE SWITCHRES OPTIONS
#
modeline_generation       1
monitor                   generic_15
orientation               rotate_l