Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Crisis Zone PCSX2 with Aimtrak  (Read 1029 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 908
  • Last login:August 07, 2022, 08:20:56 am
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Crisis Zone PCSX2 with Aimtrak
« on: May 23, 2022, 11:21:29 am »
So, I found this old BYOAC topic here about getting the Aimtrak working in PCSX2.

I followed it to try and get my gun working with Crisis Zone on PCSX2 using the Nuvee plugin. Cannot get it working at all for the life of me. Followed the topic to the letter (although it seems like some of the PCSX2 config options are a tad different in the latest version). Got my left, right and middle buttons set to Trigger, B and A in the plugin screen. I think I've got the right game selected in the plugin config menu (there was a 480i and 480p version - I've tried both). I get in game, I don't get any prompts to calibrate the gun - it's almost like it's acting like I haven't got anything plugged into the USB slot, even though I've set the USB port 1 to act as a GunCon2. If I use the keyboard to navigate the menus and properly start a game, the only button that does anything is the button on the right side of the gun which pauses the game. There's an in-game cursor on screen that doesn't move or do anything as if the game's configured for a pad. If I navigate to the gun calibration screen there's a gunshot noise if I pull the trigger, but that's it nothing happens. I can see my actual mouse cursor moving on screen when I do this BTW, so I know the Aimtrak's working. Any suggestions as to what might be going wrong please? I'll attach pictures of my USB and Pad configs.
« Last Edit: May 23, 2022, 06:30:58 pm by MrThunderwing »

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 908
  • Last login:August 07, 2022, 08:20:56 am
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: Crisis Zone PCSX2 with Aimtrak
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2022, 12:51:57 pm »
NVM, got it working now. Tried a couple of different things, so not actually sure what got it working in the end...

lllll44

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 158
  • Last login:July 25, 2022, 10:46:17 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Crisis Zone PCSX2 with Aimtrak
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2022, 02:37:18 pm »
imo. just use the pcsx2 mouse patch + no flash hack (with replacing textures) = best way to play it.

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 908
  • Last login:August 07, 2022, 08:20:56 am
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: Crisis Zone PCSX2 with Aimtrak
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2022, 03:41:34 pm »
Interesting, I'll have to look into this. I'd previously played the game using my PC mouse acting like a Joypad, which I'd hoped I could just do with the Aimtrak, but for some reason although my mouse still worked fine, I couldn't move the cursor with the Aimtrak, hence why I then tried the Nuvee plugin option. I'd forgotten though, back in my actual PS2 GunCon 2 owning days, about the fog that the lightgun needed to work.
« Last Edit: June 08, 2022, 05:23:53 am by MrThunderwing »

POPO69

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Last login:June 09, 2022, 06:54:04 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Crisis Zone PCSX2 with Aimtrak
« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2022, 06:13:03 pm »
What is the solution to play with alien gun? Like pad

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 908
  • Last login:August 07, 2022, 08:20:56 am
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: Crisis Zone PCSX2 with Aimtrak
« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2022, 11:34:25 am »
Alien 👽 gun? I don't know what you mean.

MotownC

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 55
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:04:05 pm
  • Reliving my youth, one lap at a time
Re: Crisis Zone PCSX2 with Aimtrak
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2022, 12:32:07 pm »
I think he's referring to Alien 3: The Gun

It requires an AD STICK remap, hit Tab in game to change controls within game:
AD Stick X Analog - move gun to the left or right
AD Stick Y Analog - move gun up or down


MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 908
  • Last login:August 07, 2022, 08:20:56 am
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: Crisis Zone PCSX2 with Aimtrak
« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2022, 05:23:00 am »
Yep, what he said ^
I just configured my Aimtrak in MAME for Alien 3 The Gun by just moving it up/down left/right in the configuration screen to match the analog controls. Off the top of my head, I think there was an option I needed to change in the MAME ini file first, to get it to register mouse inputs.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2022, 06:18:36 am by MrThunderwing »