Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: [Resolved] Makvision / Wei-Ya M3129DF Tri-sync only happy with 31khz  (Read 1730 times)

rogerxyz

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:September 04, 2023, 05:09:30 pm
  • Building my very first cabinet!
Hi all,

I recently was fortunate enough to get my first arcade monitor, a Makvision / Wei-Ya M3129DF. Unfortunately this means I am pretty new to arcade monitors though not CRTs in general. This should be tri-sync on 15/25/31khz but I have only had success with 31khz so far. I'm testing it with GroovyArcade linux + GroovyMame. When running a 480p signal to it via HD15, on turning on power it will degauss, click once and display the image beautifully, no issues.

When I try to feed it 15khz via groovymame or a number of other esoteric options, on powerup, after degaussing, one of two things happens:
  • We get one click (promising!) but no signal, black screen.
  • We get a rapid clicking (~10-20hz?). The frequency of clicks is steady, but different video sources seem to produce different frequencies of clicking. To be clear, by frequency I mean how often it happens, not the tone.